We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A place to sleep.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Coco Rio Playa del Carmen
Ranked #107 of 209 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Springfield, OH
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A place to sleep.”
Reviewed 19 February 2013

We travel to Playa Del Carmen every year and in the past have stayed at Hotel Cielo, we decided to make a change. Coco Rio had positive reviews on Tripadvisor.com so we decided to give it a try. The location was good, lots of restaurants to choose from and endless shopping. We still ventured to our usual beach spot near Calle 4 so I can’t comment on the beach area at the end of Calle 26, where Coco Rio is located.

Our room was simple, which is fine especially for the cost but wasn’t as nice at the pictures on the web site; it also had a mildew smell. The room had a ceiling fan and air-condition. When you are visiting the beach a simple room will do. The room could have been a bit cleaner, please see the posted pictures. We had shower problems from day one; we were there 10 days. At one point the pipe with the head came completely out of the wall, they fixed that, then from that point on the water flow was very minimal. We woke up during the night towards the middle of our stay and we had no water at all, not even coming out of the faucet at the sink. Water was back on in the morning but still very poor flow from the shower. At the present time there is construction located at the rear of the hotel and was noisy in the morning so no sleeping in. The music mentioned in another comment is loud a few nights a week but usually stopped by 10:30PM, not a big deal at all.

The safe that is offered on the web site as an amenity is not free; the fee is 2.00 per day, we did not pay for the safe due to the shower issues. The web site also offered a 10% discount for stays longer than 2 nights. That was not given when the reservation was made so I e-mailed the hotel and mentioned the discount. The discount was given at check in; we also paid cash up front before going to the room, wouldn’t do that in the future.

I also feel that a few positives need to be mentioned. The staff was always friendly and we always had clean towels in our room, if you want clean towel put your dirty ones on the floor. There is a refrigerator in the room and a very nice little grocery at the corner of Calle 26 and 10th, less than a block from the hotel. The garden atrium in the center of the hotel is beautiful and a nice spot to read or have an evening cocktail. We had dinner at an Italian restaurant at the corner of Calle 26 and 5th,Il Baretto, literally steps from the hotel, YUM! There is an Italian coffee shop next door called Tiramisu, Simona is the girl at the counter and she was full of sunshine every morning, the coffee and pantries are awesome! (A few locals told us that this area of Playa is called Little Italy, wonderful food) Mexican food you can get everywhere (one of the reasons we visit), hands down El Fogon on 30th at Calle 14, you will not be disappointed. Hotel Cielo on Calle 4 between 5th and 10th has a restaurant, Carboncitos, great for breakfast, lunch or dinner. Playa is a beautiful city with beautiful beaches and the folks are warm and friendly.

In all honesty there are lots of places to stay and we won’t be staying at Coco Rio again.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank kw4811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fabio306, Propietario at Coco Rio Playa del Carmen, responded to this review, 17 March 2013
Thank’s to Trip Advisor that allow us to replay this comment. We are working very hard trying to keep our guests happy in a pleasant place to stay for their holydays, and we are really sorry the guest was not happy staying with us.
About the safe mentioned, It’s clarify in our web page that this is an amenity with an extra charge of 2 usd por night. We apologies about the missing water, but that night the pipe stop working and immediately next morning we fixed it quickly as possible. We advise all guests and been the hotel full, all guests understand the problem and that can happen. About water pressure not enough, she advised us only the day before her departure , so we fixed it and asked her why we were not warned before. Also the cleaning ladies does their job every day . Niebuhr are playing music couple hours until 10.30 pm twice a week…but is not a big deal….and many gusts like it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    124
    116
    29
    14
    9
See reviews for
32
149
28
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mahahual, Mexico
Level Contributor
110 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2013

Found a last minute deal on the internet and booked for same day stay. Hotel staff was very friendly. I arrived way before check in time so they held onto my luggage for me while I went to get my hair cut and a pedicure. Room was clean. It was right by the reception area so it was not as quiet as I had hoped, but not bad. Very convenient location to great restaurants on 5th. I would stay there again.

Room Tip: Request a room further from lobby. Weak WiFi connection in the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CostaMayaPaddler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2013

Overall this was a good cheap place to stay. We got the most inexpensive room - it had one double bed, small table, TV, cabinet, fridge (inside bathroom! - we never used it), coffee maker, and bathroom. The room was clean and met our basic needs. The bathroom was nice and spacious - it had a toilet and separate European style bidet. We don't spend a lot of time in our hotel room on vacations, so basic is just what we need. We did not have any problem with hot water. It took less than a minute for the water to heat up after you turn it on. Shower was low pressure, rainfall type - it was adequate. Toilet was low flow, adequate. We didn't see any bugs in the room. There was AC and a ceiling fan. Our room was cleaned every day - the housekeeping staff is friendly. You don't get new towels every day but if you put the towels on the floor, they will replace them with new ones.

Outside on every floor there is a hammock and sitting area and two lounge chairs. We really loved that, it was nice to sit (or swing) outside every night! There's also free Wifi (which worked for us the whole time we were there) and a desktop computer in the lobby for everyone to use. To use the safe, it costs an extra $2/night which was one of the only cons. There is no elevator, so be prepared to climb stairs. Not really a problem for us. Blanca, the hotel cat was a cute addition to our stay.

This place is a less than 10 minute walk to the beach and literally steps away from 5th avenue. its located on 5th avenue and calle 26. A lot of restaurants and shops surrounding the hotel. A couple of nights there was live music playing at the restaurant next door which was really loud, but they only play for a short time. Right next door to the hotel there is a great little Italian pastry/coffee shop with amazing italian pastries.

The two front desk guys (Angel and the day shift guy) were nice and friendly.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AshE3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2012

I stayed at the hotel Coco Rio which is about two block to the Mamitas beach and a few steps to the popular 5th avenue. I really liked that the hotel is also walking distance to the bus terminal for my trip to the Mayan Ruins in Tulum and to the pier where I took the ferry to Cozumel, so the location is perfect for anyone that wants to get around. I like that I was also within walking distance to the Mega Supermarket to get groceries. I had the junior suite and I found it to be very comfortable and clean. I found the staff and owner to be very helpful, friendly and professional. I had difficulty connecting to the hotel WiFi from the higher floor however front desk staff were helpful in making sure that I obtain internet connection as needed. There are many shops and great restaurants along 5th Avenue and I ate at several, including 100 Natural which I liked. The continental breakfast is small;however, there is a menu with many options at a reasonable cost.

Room Tip: If you have trouble climbing stairs ask for a room on a lower floor as there is no elevator. The roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Silma S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Québec
Level Contributor
50 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2012

We went the first of July at the hotel Coco Rio. We enjoyed, not noisy and just next to 5th Avenue. Many restaurants nearby, the beach a few steps from the hotel. For the beach, I decided that a little further (down Calle 38) a little less noisy than the Mamitas beach club. We ate at El Fogon, El Nativo and drinking a few beers and the Club of Cerveza.
The hotel is clean and the staff is friendly, so I've already booked again for March 2013!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank C0lie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2012

We used Trip Advisor to find a hotel in Playa del Carmen. Our 1st choice was Luna Blue, but on arrival the only room available was a ground floor room in a dark corner with no sunlight. We went next door to Coco Rio and got a great room on the 2nd floor. The room was clean, we had clean towels every day, we didn't have a problem with the hot water, the TV was new & had a great selection of channels. The air con & ceiling fan were a welcome relief in the heat. The staff were always friendly & helpful. You can't beat the location and there's a little resturant across the street owned by a Spanish guy that has a great 3 course meal for 80 peso. Coco Rio is great value for money!! I was surprised at some reports complaining about no carpet, who wants carpet in that climate? Coco Rio is the best!!!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Shazallo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
73 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2012

We stayed there just for 1 night but we absolutely liked the place. The hotel is located just 1 block away from the famous fifth avenue and 2 blocks from Mamita's beach club. The rooms are quite small but nice and clean and they are facing a wonderful garden.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rivieramaya12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.1 mi away
Unic Design Hotel
Unic Design Hotel
#130 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
108 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sunrise 42 Suites Hotel
Sunrise 42 Suites Hotel
#68 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
297 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Boutique Posada Mariposa
Hotel Boutique Posada Mariposa
#118 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Luna Blue Hotel
Luna Blue Hotel
#91 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
940 reviews
0.0 mi away
El Patio Hotel & Suites
El Patio Hotel & Suites
#146 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
32 reviews
0.2 mi away
Koox Caribbean Paradise Hotel
Koox Caribbean Paradise Hotel
#123 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coco Rio Playa del Carmen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coco Rio Playa del Carmen

Property: Coco Rio Playa del Carmen
Address: Calle 26 no 125 | Entre 5ta y 10a Avenida, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #107 of 209 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Coco Rio Playa del Carmen 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Coco Rio Playa del Carmen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coco Rio Playa Del Carmen Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Playa Del Carmen Coco Rio
Coco Rio Playa Del Carmen Mexico/Riviera Maya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing