We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfecto!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Coco Rio Playa del Carmen
Ranked #107 of 211 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Perfecto!!”
Reviewed 17 June 2013 via mobile

I travelled to playa del carmen with my girlfriend just for one night and decided to stay in Coco Rio because it is in the heart of playa's entertainment district and it is a five minute walk from playa mamitas. We arrived at 2 am only to find that all of the surrounding hotels were closed. The staff at Coco Rio greeted us with open arms and after a night of partying, the security guards even offered to go to the convenience store down the street to buy us water. The staff were very accommodating to all of our needs, and the price was very reasonable considering the prime location and cozy atmosphere.

Other reviews about this hotel are harsh judging by the fact that this is not a five star all inclusive resort. The website doesn't overstate the hotel, and you definitely get your moneys worth. This hotel is great for young people or couples just as a place to sleep after enjoying the lively atmosphere of playa del carmen.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kedmagitai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

300 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    129
    118
    29
    15
    9
See reviews for
33
156
28
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2013

This hotel is beautiful, small, and fairly secluded in mid may. It's also in the heart of Playa Del Carmen and 5th avenue. As mentioned in an earlier review the hotel isn't cookie cutter and the rooms have all the regular amenities of a regular hotel, fridge, ac, wifi, TV with cable. The staff and front desk guys were great, especially Angel. On multiple occasions he went out of his way to help us out when he didn't have to and it reflects greatly on the hotel. It also confirmed my repeat business the next time we stay in the Yucatan. As a side note, I noticed a lot of people were complaining about the construction and music next door. I was in the top room closest to the construction and didn't notice a thing and the music is actually really nice at night. Not to mention It's only on Tuesdays and Thursdays from 9 -11:00PM. On top of all this the price is just right for the location.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tHatGuRl
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2013 via mobile

I always stay here on my way in and out of the yucatan. Staff are nice and accomodating. Rooms are clean and sufficient for an overnight stay. They often have specials. They always let me park in front which is the maun reason i choose this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tHatGuRl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bogota, Colombia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2013

Since we arrived, Juan Carlos in the front desk was very polite and helpful. Our room was not fancy but it was very spacious, clean and there was barely any noise. We slept like babies! The location is perfect, very close to 5th avenue, close to mamitas beach and to a variety of shops and restaurants.

Would definitely stay in this hotel again!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cpd85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BC, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2013

This is a very small hotel, great for people who aren't into cookie cutter rooms, and impersonal contact. There's no room service, gym, pool, or luxury, but the rooms are big and comfortable and include a fridge, the staff and cat are friendly, and it's in a great neighbourhood. I think the occassional live music next door should be at a much lower the volume - and the maids could keep it down in the morning - but regardless, I've enjoyed my stays there and will go back.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AnnetteF471
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Drexel Hill, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2013

My experience at the Coco Rio was wonderful. Even while I was still in the process of making reservations, Juan Carlos was prompt, polite and very accommodating (I had to change check-in/check-out dates a few times). The hotel itself is beautiful - the swooping curves reminiscent of Gaudi and the feel is tropical, yet European. It is private and very clean, with lots of little places to sit outside and relax. And Blanca, the resident cat is the friendliest! I recommend the Coco Rio to anyone who is looking for a low key, European style home away from home.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carol B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guadalajara, Jalisco, Mexico
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2013

from all of my stays in playa, this one definitely was not the best, first of all, we were never advised that the lot next door was under construction so we had this terrible noise all day long, our room didnt have shades, so it was really uncomfortable waking up early because of the sunshine, although the staff was nice and eager to help, but nothing they could do to change the room, so not a nice experience after all...

Room Tip: choose the opposite side of the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marco B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fabio306, Propietario at Coco Rio Playa del Carmen, responded to this review, 19 March 2013
Thank’s to Trip Advisor that allow us to replay this comment We are working very hard trying to keep our guests happy in a pleasant place to stay for their holydays.
As we are in a tourist area, builders only are permitted to work from 9 am to 6 pm., at this time they assuming that people are at the beach, we cannot do anything about the noise because they have permission. All our hotel rooms have blackout curtains, so we are sorry if it was not enough for this guest, as it is the first time we have complains about shade. We could not do anything to change room because at that time the hotel was full.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.0 mi away
El Patio Hotel & Suites
El Patio Hotel & Suites
#145 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
36 reviews
0.1 mi away
Unic Design Hotel
Unic Design Hotel
#129 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
112 reviews
0.0 mi away
Luna Blue Hotel
Luna Blue Hotel
#94 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
944 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Casa La Galeria by Bunik
Casa La Galeria by Bunik
#93 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
211 reviews
0.0 mi away
BRIC Hotel & Spa
BRIC Hotel & Spa
#39 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
498 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Boutique Posada Mariposa
Hotel Boutique Posada Mariposa
#119 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coco Rio Playa del Carmen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coco Rio Playa del Carmen

Property: Coco Rio Playa del Carmen
Address: Calle 26 no 125 | Entre 5ta y 10a Avenida, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #107 of 211 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Coco Rio Playa del Carmen 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Coco Rio Playa del Carmen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coco Rio Playa Del Carmen Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Playa Del Carmen Coco Rio
Coco Rio Playa Del Carmen Mexico/Riviera Maya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing