We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Really enjoyed our QUIET stay in this 18 room hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Coco Rio Playa del Carmen
Ranked #107 of 213 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Christina Lake, Canada
Level Contributor
108 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Really enjoyed our QUIET stay in this 18 room hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2014

This small quiet hotel is right off 5th Ave on 26th Street! Clean, close to 5th; 4 walking blocks to main beach so go left to 28th and then down and there's the beach! Angel was delightful and helpful at the main desk. His English is very good so for those of us who don't have great Spanish, he's a real bonus. He has been doing this job for 6 years and knows how to connect with his guests. We had a standard room which was great for the 2 of us. The curtains needed some cleaning so asked if they could be washed and it was done before we came back from the beach. We had a place outside of our room to sit and visit with the canopy of trees to protect us from the sun. There is a small court yard with lots of plants and a small water fall. Very lovely.
They use environmentally friendly shampoo, soap and lotion.
We had a fridge and a plate and some cutlery to aid us in making the best of getting fresh fruit and making snacks if we wanted.
Like some others said, there is some entertainment the odd night with the place next door and they stop early enough in the evening that it was not bothersome at all.
It's a good walk to Walmart and the cost of a taxi back is 50 pesos.
The Italian coffee shop right next door makes the best coffee!!
We prefer staying in smaller venues like this one and really loved this place.

Room Tip: We had room #20 which faces the court yard on the second floor. It was great. Not sure if there is a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lehookedontravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

281 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    120
    111
    28
    13
    9
See reviews for
32
142
28
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2014

Stayed in this small but clean hotel. from March 11-18 2014. Good location and good maid service. here are the pros and cons.
Pros
Good location and easy to find.
Excellent maid service. Room was cleaned daily and 2 towels are provided. Even though maids didn't speak English they were very helpful always called the front the desk to translate my requests.
My room was large enough, had an electric stove and fridge with a king size bed. The fridge and stove helped me save a lot of money in breakfast and some dinners. I simply went to Wal-Mart and bought eggs, bread, milk etc. The average breakfast at 5th avenue will cost around $20-30.
Location us in the middle of PDC. You could easily walk to most of your destinations then again it only costs $5 to go anywhere by cab.
Cons
No elevator so if your room is on the 3rd floor you are going to loose some weight.
Internet doesn't exist in 3rd floor.
the benches they have in front are not comfortable at all.
It could be noisier in the nights when they have live music at the next door hotel.

Room Tip: Choose the first floor rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Clement M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmington, Delaware
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2014

Liked the location of the hotel but it turned out the hotel next door Luna Blue has live music, and to is pretty close to the bars on 5th ave. The room was spacious with king size bed and dressers and closet. It also had a nice TV. The room had a balcony with a big tree in front of it. No view. It faced the very noisy street. The bathrooms were nice enough. Wifi was spotty at best. The best spot was outside our room where all the smokers were. We were met by Juan Carlos the front desk person at the time. Never smiled once and acted as if we were a big inconvenience. He eventually warmed up by the end of our stay and was helpful when my husband needed help printing our boarding passes. He never explained any policies. Later to find out it was $2 a day for safe deposit box and deposit on towels. This hotel was average at best and would not stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask where your room is located. Had to carry our luggage up 3 flights.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rusnak51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fabio306, Propietario at Coco Rio Playa del Carmen, responded to this review, 3 April 2014
Thank’s to Trip Advisor that allow us to replay this comment. We are working very hard trying to keep our guests happy in a pleasant place to stay for their holydays; next to us there is a hotel that every Tuesday and Friday entertain his guest with live music from 8:00pm to 11:00pm, and most of the people like it.

We are located 20 meters from the 5th avenue, in the area where all tourists are pleased to have dinner in a such funny and happy atmosfire.

Fortunately Hotel Coco rio is located is in a Lateral street ( calle 26th ) and not direct on the 5a Avenida with no discos around. The discos are on the 12th street ( 7 block far away )

For people who have problems staying in the “noisy “ down town, we suggest to stay in an all-inclusive hotel in the forest; there are many of these kind and maybe they will not hear noise from music or cars.



About wi-fi, we checked several times, that is depending on the equipment type that the guest has. There is wifi on the entire hotel besides an extra computer available only for hotel’s gusts at the hall.

There is no charge for the use of safety box and beach towels (only a guaranty deposit is asked for, that we return at the check-out time when we got the key and the beach towel back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal
Level Contributor
58 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014

We booked this hotel last minute as we decided to extend our stay in Playa by a night and needed something cheap enough. We were pleasantly surprised with how nice this place actually is once you get in. The courtyard area and layout is very cute, with plants and flowers and a water fountain. There are a few seating areas around the hotel which were good for wifi as it was spotty in the rooms.
Front desk guy was alight, not overly friendly but we were only in and out for a day and only needed to be there for check in and out.
Our room was huge. Somehow we ended up with 2 queen beds. Enjoyed the extra space. The floor was a cool painted cement. Like clouds. The beds were a little firm but fine by us. Have had much worse in much more expensive hotels! The bathroom was nice and big with a tiled shower and rainfall shower head. Everything was very clean and well taken care of.
Would stay here again for sure. Great price and great location too.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mtl_habs_fan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montréal
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2014 via mobile

Beautiful site. Well located. Quiet except when there are concerts at the hotel next door (not very often and they don't last long). Light smell of mould in the closet. Hot water takes a lot of time to arrive but it's there. Helpful staff. Recommended.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank filionceau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2014

Was in room #31. It had a fridge and kitchen wich was really great (make sure to plug on your fridge as soon as you arrive!). The bed was simply "OK", I could feel the metal springs in the matress on my back, but got a good night sleep still. The hot water takes about 10 minutes to arrive (it does not get very hot), one time it simply never got hot at all. The air conditionning is "OK", but make sure to keep the bathrom door as the bathroom window does not close.

Don't expect Wi-Fi to work in the rooms because it simply doesn't. It does not always work in the lobby either. Ended up getting a Mexican SIM card, it worked inside my room.

The room was CLEAN, the other hotel I've been to in Playa Del Carmen was no where as close as clean as this one.

Would I go back to this hotel, YES I would, because the price and location is great.

Room Tip: Rooms in the inside are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eric R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2014

We enjoyed our stay at this hotel over new year 13/14 very much! We got a good price for a last minute junior suite and we were very satisfied with the hotel. Its located in the "Italian quarter" in a side street to the famous 5th Ave. We would definitely choose this hotel again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dario F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Boutique Posada Mariposa
Hotel Boutique Posada Mariposa
#114 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 489 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sunrise 42 Suites Hotel
Sunrise 42 Suites Hotel
#63 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
0.2 mi away
Koox Caribbean Paradise Hotel
Koox Caribbean Paradise Hotel
#119 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Unic Design Hotel
Unic Design Hotel
#128 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
0.0 mi away
Luna Blue Hotel
Luna Blue Hotel
#87 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 939 reviews
0.0 mi away
El Patio Hotel & Suites
El Patio Hotel & Suites
#152 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coco Rio Playa del Carmen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coco Rio Playa del Carmen

Property: Coco Rio Playa del Carmen
Address: Calle 26 no 125 | Entre 5ta y 10a Avenida, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #107 of 213 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Coco Rio Playa del Carmen 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Coco Rio Playa del Carmen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coco Rio Playa Del Carmen Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Playa Del Carmen Coco Rio
Coco Rio Playa Del Carmen Mexico/Riviera Maya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing