We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hostel, awesome atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hostel Playa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hostel Playa
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great hostel, awesome atmosphere”
Reviewed 8 December 2013

One of the best hostels I have stayed in in Mexico. Loved it. Really great people, comfy beds, clean, showers are so hot! Can drink till 12.30, and cook own food if you want to. All the amenities you need and a great chill out area.

Highly recommend

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sam C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    103
    48
    19
    8
    10
See reviews for
2
29
64
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 December 2013 via mobile

I have stayed in this hostel about 5 times in 2010 and 2013 and never failed to have an awesome time. Great social atmosphere, uber clean and lots of comfortable places to just sit and chill. Having backpacked nearly all of latin america this place has given me some of my fondest travelling memories. Muchas gracias to Mario and all the wonderful and helpful staff. Looking forward to returning shortly!

Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Kevin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
93 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2013

This is the cheapest hostel in Playa del Carmen. It's also one of the best. It's very clean and well-kept and is full of friendly travellers, young and old. The only thing you need here is ear plugs, as the nighttime noise can make it hard to sleep. I like the location. It's a few blocks from the beach but not too far. If you want a fun place to stay that will not break the bank, this is the place for you. I've been here twice and will not hesitate to return.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bknn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jerusalem, Yerushalayim, Israel
2 reviews
Reviewed 9 November 2013

I stayed here a week. enjoyed every minute!
great kitchen, great equipment, nice bed, clean bathroom
and the most important- great atmospheric. meet people from all over the world. playing together, great conversations, going out together.
the staff is very friendly and helpful.
and is was not expensive at all staying there.
i strongly recommend to stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eli2022013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal
1 review
Reviewed 14 October 2013

I travel a bit in hostels for the last 24 years and it's the kind of places i Will recomended as much for people of 20 as people of 60 yr old. When You travel it's important to have place You feel it safe and clean. And now it's my 5 times here since 2010 and it's allways perfect. Staff are friendly but not invasive , You want to talk, they are there .You dont, they dont bother You. If you have any kind of problèm Before sending You away somewhere else they Will do there best to fix it themselves. Safety and honesty it others words i relate to This hostel, i cant remember how many Times i drops money in my bed whitout knowing and find it under my pillow when i go back to bed !

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eddy102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Playa del Carmen
2 reviews
Reviewed 7 October 2013

I stayed at this hostel for 3 weeks from the beginning of September and loved it. The staff are really friendly, the place has a lot of character and the owner is very nice and an entertaining man. He even took time out of his day to drive me to see a doctor when I had a problem. I have stayed at quite a few hostels in my time and this hostel is by far my favourite. The common room is a great place to hang out and very large. I've seen a few other hostels in Playa del Carmen but none match up to the quality of this one. Enjoy your stay guys, I know I did.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jose t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona
Level Contributor
43 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2013 via mobile

I have stayed at hostel Playa for the first time back in 2009 and it has then and there become my favourite place out of all the hostels that I have ever stayed at (and I travel a lot!) I then went back and pretty much lived there for a month in 2011 and was still loving it as much as I did first time round.
The kitchen is well organised and equipped, the living room is just perfect to meet new people, with it's long tables and hammocks. The whole place is really spacious and there is a roof terrace too. I liked the separate section for women and the large safety lockers, (you could even fit your whole backpack) . Well maintained, clean, cosy and staff is really friendly.
As I love Mexico I will be going back at some point ,and yes, hostel Playa will be definitely my choice again! There is no other place like that !

Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Atitlana7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.3 mi away
Illusion Boutique Hotel by Xperience Hotels
Illusion Boutique Hotel by Xperi...
#42 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
1,369 reviews
0.3 mi away
Playa Maya
Playa Maya
#99 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
652 reviews
0.3 mi away
Xtudio Comfort Hotel by Xperience Hotels
Xtudio Comfort Hotel by Xperienc...
#77 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Palm at Playa
The Palm at Playa
#24 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
1,298 reviews
0.9 mi away
Mahekal Beach Resort
Mahekal Beach Resort
#27 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
2,533 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Royal Playa del Carmen
The Royal Playa del Carmen
#12 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
15,331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel Playa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Playa

Property: Hostel Playa
Address: Calle 8 Norte 876 | Centro, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 199 Speciality Lodging in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hostel Playa 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hostel Playa, is a nice youth hostel in Playa del Carmen, near Cancun and Tulum. The best low budget accomodation in the Riviera Maya. Its located in the heart of Playa del Carmen near the beach and the stores of the 5th Avenue. Located just in front of the main plaza and close of everything (bus station, food market, etc). This gives the Best Value rooms with the best ambience because of the people from all over the world staying here. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hostel Playa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostel Playa Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Hostel Playa Mexico/Riviera Maya - Playa Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing