We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Got three hours of sleep and lung cancer”
Review of Hostel Playa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hostel Playa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 January 2014

The hostel plays reeeealllly, really loud techno music until 2am and smoking is allowed everywhere. The dorms have no doors (just a thin sheet hanging over part of the door frame) so there's not much security and the smoke and light comes right in. The amount of smoke was ridiculous! Like completely ridiculous!!! Like worse than a restaurant in mainland China! The shared bathrooms were full of puke too because of everyone partying in the hostel. Also, in our dorm there was only a single electrical outlet which was behind someone's bed and was being used so that sucked too. AHH!! I hated this place!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
5  Thank expat_mbk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (189)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

62 - 68 of 189 reviews

Reviewed 14 December 2013

About a 5 minutes walk to the beach and to the bars in the area + lots of socializing and fun times makes this hostel a great option. Besides the main area on the ground floor, there are also places to sit and chill upstairs and on the roof outside. The kitchen is very well stocked and you get free coffee, water and tea!
Great place to meet fellow travelers! Recommended.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 27Emma_Joy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2013

One of the best hostels I have stayed in in Mexico. Loved it. Really great people, comfy beds, clean, showers are so hot! Can drink till 12.30, and cook own food if you want to. All the amenities you need and a great chill out area.

Highly recommend

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sam C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2013 via mobile

I have stayed in this hostel about 5 times in 2010 and 2013 and never failed to have an awesome time. Great social atmosphere, uber clean and lots of comfortable places to just sit and chill. Having backpacked nearly all of latin america this place has given me some of my fondest travelling memories. Muchas gracias to Mario and all the wonderful and helpful staff. Looking forward to returning shortly!

Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
Thank Kevin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2013

This is the cheapest hostel in Playa del Carmen. It's also one of the best. It's very clean and well-kept and is full of friendly travellers, young and old. The only thing you need here is ear plugs, as the nighttime noise can make it hard to sleep. I like the location. It's a few blocks from the beach but not too far. If you want a fun place to stay that will not break the bank, this is the place for you. I've been here twice and will not hesitate to return.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bknn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2013

I stayed here a week. enjoyed every minute!
great kitchen, great equipment, nice bed, clean bathroom
and the most important- great atmospheric. meet people from all over the world. playing together, great conversations, going out together.
the staff is very friendly and helpful.
and is was not expensive at all staying there.
i strongly recommend to stay.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eli2022013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

I travel a bit in hostels for the last 24 years and it's the kind of places i Will recomended as much for people of 20 as people of 60 yr old. When You travel it's important to have place You feel it safe and clean. And now it's my 5 times here since 2010 and it's allways perfect. Staff are friendly but not invasive , You want to talk, they are there .You dont, they dont bother You. If you have any kind of problèm Before sending You away somewhere else they Will do there best to fix it themselves. Safety and honesty it others words i relate to This hostel, i cant remember how many Times i drops money in my bed whitout knowing and find it under my pillow when i go back to bed !

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eddy102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.2 mi away
The Yak
The Yak
#6 of 221 in Playa del Carmen
569 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hostel Che
Hostel Che
#14 of 221 in Playa del Carmen
327 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hostel 3B Chic & Cheap
Hostel 3B Chic & Cheap
#3 of 221 in Playa del Carmen
546 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hostal MX Playa del Carmen
Hostal MX Playa del Carmen
#26 of 221 in Playa del Carmen
83 reviews
0.7 mi away
Lobo de Mar Hostel
Lobo de Mar Hostel
#11 of 221 in Playa del Carmen
85 reviews
0.2 mi away
Enjoy Playa Hostel
Enjoy Playa Hostel
#10 of 221 in Playa del Carmen
78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel Playa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Playa

Address: 25th Avenue with 8th Street | Centro, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 221 Speciality Lodging in Playa del Carmen
Price Range: £8 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hostel Playa 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hostel Playa is a nice youth hostel in Playa del Carmen, near Cancun and Tulum. The best low budget accommodation in the Riviera Maya. It's located in the heart of Playa del Carmen near the beach and the stores of 5th Avenue. Located just in front of the main plaza and close to everything (bus station, food market, etc). This gives the best value rooms with the best ambience because of the people from all over the world staying here. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Hostel Playa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostel Playa Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Hostel Playa Mexico/Riviera Maya - Playa Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing