We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awsomee”
Review of Hostel Playa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hostel Playa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 February 2014

Perfect place, clean, good vibe, hammock everywhere:)! Good service; staff is super helpfull! 5min from the beach, in front of the walmaart and close to many smalls restorants!
I just love it!
Bring earlpugs, music @the bar next door can be loud

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vanessa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (188)
There are newer reviews for Hostel Playa
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

58 - 64 of 188 reviews

Reviewed 27 January 2014

Stayed here over Christmas, there was a communal Xmas eve dinner organised where everyone cooked something, it was really fun! The bathrooms and showers were very clean when we were there, and couldn't have done without the individual fans although they seemed to annoy some ppl in the dorm. Across the road from Walmart so that's very handy, and the beach is not far either- I think I would've preferred to stay here anyway beachfront Playa del Carmen is very commercialised.

Probably the downside is that they do allow smoking inside, and play loud music until after midnight. Because some of the dorms don't have floor to ceiling walls (?!?? Assume to allow air flow) it can get VERY loud. But I loved staying here!!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fleetfoxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2014

NICE HOSTEL, i LIKED IT. 5 minutes walk to the beach and to the bars in the area + lots of socializing and fun times makes this hostel a great option.

Besides the main area on the ground floor, there are also places to sit and chill upstairs and on the roof outside. The kitchen is very well stocked and you get free coffee

wAY TO GO !!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ligia m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2014

The hostel plays reeeealllly, really loud techno music until 2am and smoking is allowed everywhere. The dorms have no doors (just a thin sheet hanging over part of the door frame) so there's not much security and the smoke and light comes right in. The amount of smoke was ridiculous! Like completely ridiculous!!! Like worse than a restaurant in mainland China! The shared bathrooms were full of puke too because of everyone partying in the hostel. Also, in our dorm there was only a single electrical outlet which was behind someone's bed and was being used so that sucked too. AHH!! I hated this place!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
5  Thank expat_mbk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2013

About a 5 minutes walk to the beach and to the bars in the area + lots of socializing and fun times makes this hostel a great option. Besides the main area on the ground floor, there are also places to sit and chill upstairs and on the roof outside. The kitchen is very well stocked and you get free coffee, water and tea!
Great place to meet fellow travelers! Recommended.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 27Emma_Joy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2013

One of the best hostels I have stayed in in Mexico. Loved it. Really great people, comfy beds, clean, showers are so hot! Can drink till 12.30, and cook own food if you want to. All the amenities you need and a great chill out area.

Highly recommend

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sam C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2013 via mobile

I have stayed in this hostel about 5 times in 2010 and 2013 and never failed to have an awesome time. Great social atmosphere, uber clean and lots of comfortable places to just sit and chill. Having backpacked nearly all of latin america this place has given me some of my fondest travelling memories. Muchas gracias to Mario and all the wonderful and helpful staff. Looking forward to returning shortly!

Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
Thank Kevin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Playa del Karma
Hotel Playa del Karma
#129 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
562 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Yak
The Yak
#6 of 215 in Playa del Carmen
567 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hostel Che
Hostel Che
#14 of 215 in Playa del Carmen
317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hostel 3B Chic & Cheap
Hostel 3B Chic & Cheap
#4 of 215 in Playa del Carmen
540 reviews
0.7 mi away
Lobo de Mar Hostel
Lobo de Mar Hostel
#12 of 215 in Playa del Carmen
85 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hostal MX Playa del Carmen
Hostal MX Playa del Carmen
#25 of 215 in Playa del Carmen
81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel Playa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Playa

Address: 25th Avenue with 8th Street | Centro, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 215 Speciality Lodging in Playa del Carmen
Price Range: £26 - £38 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hostel Playa 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hostel Playa is a nice youth hostel in Playa del Carmen, near Cancun and Tulum. The best low budget accommodation in the Riviera Maya. It's located in the heart of Playa del Carmen near the beach and the stores of 5th Avenue. Located just in front of the main plaza and close to everything (bus station, food market, etc). This gives the best value rooms with the best ambience because of the people from all over the world staying here. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Hostel Playa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostel Playa Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Hostel Playa Mexico/Riviera Maya - Playa Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing