We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Once Again, A Great Stay at the Luna Blue”
Review of Luna Blue Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Luna Blue Hotel
Ranked #95 of 211 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 January 2012

My wife and I returned to the Luna Blue for the sixth straight year. Our three-week stay was superb, just as we have learned to expect. The beautiful new pool is a wonderful addition. Thanks again to Tony & Cheri and their hardworking crew for providing us with another great stay.

Room Tip: Read the very accurate description of rooms on the Luna Blue website. That will help you choose the...
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Travelingman36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (946)
There are newer reviews for Luna Blue Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

309 - 315 of 946 reviews

Reviewed 2 January 2012

We stayed here for a week, have been to Playa many times. Have stayed in a number of boutique hotels, 20 rooms or less. The service at Luna Blue was exceptional, the employess were very friendly and knowledge. We loved the beach passes and the gym passes were great. We will definately return here next year, oh the free margarita were good too. A must visit.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank endlesssummer06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2012

We stayed at the the Luna Blue from Christmas to New Years, and cannot find enough good things to say about our experience.

The staff and owners are warm and friendly - willing to share information and tips (a good restaurant, where to catch a cab, the best beach club to go to) or just some good conversation over your morning coffee. Jorge the bartender makes a great margarita, and tells an even better joke. The environment is laid back and casual, yet the service and hospitality rivals anything you would receive at a high end all inclusive (except perhaps, at the Luna Blue they'll remember your name - an added bonus of the intimate nature of this hotel).

The rooms are clean and safe, and housekeeping does an amazing job every day. (We were hugely impressed on the next to last day, when they created an elephant out of towel art.) We used the safe but really didn't feel we needed to - the only one sneaking into your room will be one of the friendly resort cats, to take a nap on the bed.

The location of the Luna Blue itself is fantastic - just off La Quinta, but at the quieter and cheaper end (if there is such a thing as the "cheaper" end of La Quinta). We found it easy to explore from the hotel, but always enjoyed coming "home" at the end of the day. Alex and Jaime at the front were extremely helpful in assisting us with finding information and booking any type of tours or excursions.

In the end, we enjoyed our time so much we canceled a holiday in Canada we had planned for February, and decided to come back to the Luna Blue that week instead. We're already counting down the days!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Yaena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2012

Such a better stay than at the big all inclusive hotels.
Great time staying at Luna Blue, all the other info about it being a good location is right. Your just a short walk to 5th Ave and to the beach.
Everyone on the staff was great too, super helpful, rooms were cleaned everyday to perfection. Bartender is a creative guy.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank KiloBravo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2011

Finally after 15 visits to Playa we chose to spend 5 days at Luna Blue. I have stayed in many small Hotels in Playa.......but this is our favorite to date. Great Service and Great Prices. The owners are very involved and have a profound interest in your stay at the Hotel. It is in the part of Playa we love the most. The Beach passes to Mamitas is nice. Unlimited water. Super drinks at the bar. Live (good) music. I can not say enough good things about this place.

Room Tip: The Standard rooms are great....
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Steve E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2011

Had the pleasure of staying at Luna last month and actually stayed for a 3 weeks. The room was always clean and very comforable. Never needed A/C the whole stay. The canopy of trees makes it hard to tell the time... but then who cares? Now with the addition of the new pool, I had everything I wanted.
You forget thet you are a block from busy 5th Ave., cause it is sooo quite.
Thanks again to Tony and Cheri and Staff for letting me have a great working... uh hum! Playing Vacation! CHEERS! TB aka Barefoot Skinny

Room Tip: Check out the private balcony rooms with kitchen.
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank BarefootSkinny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2011

well located. clean. kitchen was adequate.
staff was friendly,}bar tender makes nices margarita

Room Tip: room 21 in the back was quiet
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank renorichdiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.0 mi away
BRIC Hotel & Spa
BRIC Hotel & Spa
#47 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
505 reviews
0.3 mi away
Casa La Galeria by Bunik
Casa La Galeria by Bunik
#94 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
214 reviews
0.5 mi away
Los Itzaes Hotel
Los Itzaes Hotel
#85 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Casa Ticul
Hotel Casa Ticul
#87 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
847 reviews
0.7 mi away
Barrio Latino Hotel
Barrio Latino Hotel
#68 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
689 reviews
0.0 mi away
Soho Playa Hotel
Soho Playa Hotel
#32 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Luna Blue Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luna Blue Hotel

Address: Calle 26 Norte, between 5th & 10th Ave, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#15 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#20 Best Value Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#46 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#64 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range: £40 - £124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Luna Blue Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luna Blue Hotel is located in Playa del Carmen's popular north end, three short blocks from the beach and half a block from the restaurants, shops and nightlife of 5th Avenue. This boutique hotel features palapa-covered balconies, a sunken tropical garden swimming pool, a lush garden, and one of the most popular bars in town. The hotel offers free use of four beach clubs and various local discounts. American owners and their bilingual staff offer you personal attention during your stay in paradise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Luna Blue Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luna Blue Hotel Garden
Luna Blue Playa Del Carmen
Luna Blue Hotel Mexico/Riviera Maya - Playa Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing