We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing employees”
Review of Luna Blue Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Luna Blue Hotel
Ranked #89 of 214 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
80 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Amazing employees”
Reviewed 4 September 2012

We booked here based on location and the reviews of tripadvisor.
Location was fantastic because it is right off 5th ave and close to the best beach ever, Mamitas!
The staff is what makes this experience wonderful!
Jorges and Alex were super, made it all worth while !!
The hotel itself is lovely. Lots of tropical greens around.
It isn't modern. Very typical Mexican feel to it.
I would recommend this boutique hotel to anyone who doesn't want a resort and who doesn't need a tv !!!

Room Tip: Tip the maids every day, they are amazing. And you can trust that your belongings will never go miss...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SerenityPromise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

940 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    621
    244
    41
    23
    11
See reviews for
79
539
73
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vermont
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2012

Loved the location, the bar, the pool and landscaping. Loved the staff super friendly and great information about local things to do. Including stuff off the beaten path. My only issue was with the room, it was clean for the most part, clean sheets and floor and bathroom clean but could have used a deep cleaning such as the sills and back of the lamps. The bathroom was cute with how the shower is placed but the area inside is painted and the wall inside the shower has shown some aging with cracks in the paint and mildew was noted. It would do better with tiling for sanitation reasons. The atmosphere of the place however is great, if you are an outgoing person it is easy to have pleasant interactions with fellow lodgers and staff.

Room Tip: The size and quality of the rooms appear similar however if you are interested in a private terrace...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank emerson33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mahahual, Mexico
Level Contributor
111 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2012

Did have a reservation and it was a Friday night in Playa. I found this hotel which had a perfect location just off of 5th Avenue. The staff was very friendly and the room was extremely clean. Basic room, but the property was really well landscaped with a cute bar. I did not eat or drink there, but it looked like a fun place to hang out for a few days. I was only on town for the one night.

Room Tip: My room was closest to the street and it was quiet - I did have my A/C running, however.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CostaMayaPaddler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NOTL, Ontario
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2012

I stayed at the Luna Blue from Aug 16-20. Usually, our family do the AIs(we have 6 and 9 yo boys), but this was a solo trip for me and I wanted to stay in Playa to try it. I hadn't been to Playa in 9 years and the main reason for my trip to the area was to swim with the whale sharks. I also did 'spa day' at Playa Animal Rescue to help wash all the dogs there, and I'm pretty sure I walked 5th Ave about 20 times! The Luna Blue was suggested to me by a friend who is a travel agent and what a perfect place it was!! It's a real gem, steps from 5th Ave! Upon arrival, I was so happy to see that as soon as you step off the street and through the gates of the LB, it was paradise…beautiful jungly atmosphere, perfect little pool to cool off in, beautiful, clean rooms…it was awesome! I had room 34, which is a 'tropical hideaway' room, on the second floor. It had everything I needed including a safe, bottled water, mini fridge and wonderful balcony. You actually get 2 keys, one for your room and then one for the night entry, which you use after 11pm when everything else is locked. Rooms were kept very clean, with lovely towel art everyday. Air conditioning was controlled by a remote and very quickly cooled down the room…I would turn it off after the room was cool and it would stay comfortable for hours. The bar is an awesome spot and open from 3-11 Mon-Sat…not noisy at all if you're staying there and I enjoyed the music in the aft/evenings while I sat on my balcony and read. I was reluctant to go down to the bar as I was on my own and I'm kicking myself now! (oh well…have to go back next year and do it all again!!) Each morning at 7am, they put out coffee, tea and breads down by the reception area…this was fantastic!! Since I'm an early riser, I was down there just after 7 each morning…the coconut bread was to die for, but they were all really good, usually chocolate, choc chip and then one other. It stays out until 10:30-11…a perfect way to start the day! All the people that work there are so friendly and very helpful if you have any questions about the area, directions, etc…I really felt as though I had stayed there many times before! The pool is very enjoyable to have and since it was very hot for the 5 days I was there, I went in quite a bit to cool off…a really nice spot with a waterfalls right beside it and chairs and loungers…awesome! This was an amazing(but short!) trip and I would highly recommend the Luna Blue. Thank-you LB, for a great trip…see you next August!!!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DDBcrazy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merida, Mexico
Level Contributor
40 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2012

Found this hotel on trip advisor. Was wonderful, exactly as described on the hotel web site. Can't say enough good things about the owners and employees. Everyone went out of their way to help with any questions about Playa. The front desk recommended great restaurants outside the tourist area. My wife and I prefer local food to the food at the hotels and around 5th Ave. we loved the food at the recommended places. They also steered is to a great dive shop- Blue Dream. Can't wait to go back and snorkel and dive with them.

Wonderful place to spend my 65th birthday!

We also liked that there are no televisions in the rooms. Who wants to go ro Playa to sit in our room and watch tv! Also all the rooms are nonsmoking which we love. The rooms were simple, but roomy enough. Ours had a refrigerator which was very convenient. The rooms were also very clean. Internet was spotty, especially after it rained. But, they tell you that on their website. We had no problems, except wife's computer worked much better connecting to the Internet than my iPad.

Owner and his wife were very friendly and took the time to tell us about the town and surrounding areas. They were very knowledgable and shared that knowledge with us anda answered all the questions about Playa.

The tropical garden and pool were tranquil and a good place to unwind after strenuous days sightseeing and snorkling.

We loved the hotel, loved the dive shop, snorkling and diving (took lesson). Will be going back to Playa in September and will definitely stay at Luna Blue again. Another plus is the hotel is close ro everything including the beach.

Highest recommendation. We have stayed in hotels all over the world, primarily small, reasonable hotels and Luna Blue Is one of the best hotels that we have stayed at on our trips.

Room Tip: All the rooms are good. Wifi seems marginally better on the first floor, especially In rooms near th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank morrislegal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2012

We stayed here for 15 nights and loved every minute of it. The owners are super nice people and the staff as well in addition to being very helpful. They offer beach passes to the beach clubs. Mamitas is the closest and worked great for us. We'd spend the morning to mid afternoon at the beach and come back and enjoy the quaint pool to cool from the afternoon soon. After that a nice nap to avoid the heat of the day and then back out to have dinner. After dinner we'd come back and have some drinks at the hotel bar. Some various locals like to have some drinks here as well so you know it must be fun. The hotel was always clean and we felt safe there the entire time. Thanks Luna Blue for a great time!!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mrbungle25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2012

My wife and I went to Playa del Carmen for our two year wedding anniversary and stayed at Luna Blue Hotel for five nights, we had a wonderful time! We stayed at one of two rooftop rooms and it was extremely clean and very bright. The balcony had a hammock which we found very relaxing.
Even before we arrived, the staff was extremely friendly when helping us with our room reservations and round trip transportation to/from the airport. The receptionists, Jaime and Alex were so nice and informative about the surrounding beach clubs. We would definitely go back there again!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HappyTraveler88888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.3 mi away
Casa La Galeria by Bunik
Casa La Galeria by Bunik
#87 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sunrise 42 Suites Hotel
Sunrise 42 Suites Hotel
#65 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
0.7 mi away
Barrio Latino Hotel
Barrio Latino Hotel
#72 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 660 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
BRIC Hotel & Spa
BRIC Hotel & Spa
#48 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 476 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Casa Ticul
Hotel Casa Ticul
#58 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 831 reviews
0.3 mi away
Soho Playa Hotel
Soho Playa Hotel
#34 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Luna Blue Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luna Blue Hotel

Property: Luna Blue Hotel
Address: Calle 26 Norte, between 5th & 10th Ave, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#15 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#19 Best Value Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#46 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#61 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Luna Blue Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luna Blue Hotel is located in Playa del Carmen's popular north end, three short blocks from the beach and half a block from the restaurants, shops and nightlife of 5th Avenue. This boutique hotel features palapa-covered balconies, a sunken tropical garden swimming pool, a lush garden, and one of the most popular bars in town. The hotel offers free use of four beach clubs and various local discounts. American owners and their bilingual staff offer you personal attention during your stay in paradise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Luna Blue Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luna Blue Hotel Garden
Luna Blue Playa Del Carmen
Luna Blue Hotel Mexico/Riviera Maya - Playa Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing