We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect spot in middle of Playa del Carmen”
Review of Luna Blue Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Luna Blue Hotel
Ranked #94 of 211 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Plano, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
96 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Perfect spot in middle of Playa del Carmen”
Reviewed 9 December 2013

Very nice quiet oasis in the middle of the busy 5th Ave area. Nice green garden area with small pool surrounded by the hotel units. All the units seemed to have a patio. Wife and I had a great 3rd floor unit with a huge patio. Room was large with a good amount of storage. Big bed, safe, AC, fan, fridge, and large bottle that could be used for in room drinking or filling you own bottles with.

Bathroom was very nice with good shower, great soap (both chocolate shower bar and facial bar). Had some nice towel art each time we returned to the room.

Nice bar attached to hotel with good margaritas.

Staff was all very friendly. House cat also very friendly (and very large!).

No restaurant on site but plenty near by.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KarlFS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

945 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    623
    246
    42
    23
    11
See reviews for
80
540
74
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Salmon Arm, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2013 via mobile

This pleasant little boutique hotel is right on the edge of the main shopping/restaurant drag of 5th Ave, which makes it easy to access.... no walks down dark streets!
When you walk into Luna Blue, it really is like walking into a quiet, shady oasis - a respite from the noise and commercialism of 5th. Lots of trees and greenery surround the small pool, which in turn is surrounded by the rooms, all seemingly privately located from each other.
We were in #36 - a top floor room up two flights of solid steps (not ideal if you have bad legs, so be aware). Assuming all rooms are fairly similar, I can only describe our room:
Queen bed which was unpleasantly hard (we actually travel with a Thermorest as we have found many Mexican beds to be like solid wood! and my middle-aged hips and back just can't take it anymore!!)
The room itself was very clean and bright with lots of windows.
The bathroom was basic, but the shower pressure was little more than a trickle which took ages to warm up.
A real bonus in the room was a bar fridge and bottled water dispenser. I hate using plastic bottles (enviro no-no) and loved being able to fill my own, cool it in the fridge and it was ready to go!
The room had a (huge) ceiling fan - very windy; and an a/c unit which worked too well. We couldn't find a balance where we weren't freezing cold or being blown away! They were over-kill for a small room.
We like to relax playing cards or board games, but there was no suitable table in the whole place. And no place other than the bar or pool to meet other guests.
The HUGE downside to the hotel for us was the bar. It was open every night until 11pm, with live music on Tuesday & Thursday. So the hotel was loud with people talking and laughing most nights, with ridiculously LOUD live music Tues/Thurs till 11pm. As we are quiet people, this hotel appealed to us when we read the TripAdvisor reviews, but if we could choose again, we'd go somewhere without a bar!! But that's just us - it might suit more sociable people!
Reception staff were very helpful, but a suggestion to the hotel would be to have a small map showing the layout of downtown... It took us 2 days to feel familiar, after walking up & down again & again; and we were only there for 3 days, so I feel we probably missed a lot of what the area had to offer.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank bevgosling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2013

We just stayed at the Luna Blue for 3 nights and had a fabulous time. The location cannot be beat...right off 5th avenue (but no night noise) and walking distance from everything you will need. Restaurants, bars, beach all just a few steps.
No children allowed to stay here also which was really nice. A bar complete with swings and some nights they had live music.
All the staff were amazing and helpful....you could get beach club passes and towels (just for deposit). They couldn't have made it easier
The hotel itself feels so tropical. It's hidden off the road and feels like you are totally away from everything even though you are really close.
Our room was the highest one up two flights of wooded steps with a big private patio. The room itself was clean and simple but with everything you would need...AC, fridge, water barrel to drink from, nice big shower.
The star of the hotel is Frankie the hotel cat. What a sweet little (well not little at all) cat. He would greet us every morning and was never too far from the lobby.
Great place that I highly recommend.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Britgirl_dallas_72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 December 2013

We recently took a family trip down to Playa del Carmen (one of our favorite places, you can't keep us away!). It was our 2nd time down here, and while only getting to drink at the Luna Blue's bar last time, this time we were fortunately able to stay there as well. The Luna Blue is awesome, it's right off the main strip of 5th Ave, close to everything, but is just slightly removed so you don't feel any of the bustle (and constant street hawking). Feels like you're in a rainforest!
The staff was great, and very helpful with any recommendations, places to go, insider tips, you name it. The bartender made some amazing drinks..and swings at the bar, never gets old! The rooms were spacious, and had filtered water, a/c..very cute and perfect for a couple. One of my favorite parts was the amazing animals the housekeepers made every day with the fresh towels! Elephants, swans, dinosaurs..incredible! There's also a solar-heated pool which is fun to splash around in, or just lay out by. Perfect place to just sit back, take a deep breath, and really soak in the atmosphere.

All in all, wonderful trip, and fantastic 'hotel'. I use 'hotel' because while it has all the amenities of a hotel, it's so much more quaint than what the word hotel conjures up. Would definitely recommend to any couple, for a great romantic getaway.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelin_ram78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westcliffe, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2013

We made a last minute trip to Playa del Carmen for our 26th anniversary and what a great choice we made with The Luna Blue Hotel. This quaint little hotel and bar are set just off 5th Avenue and within a couple blocks of the beautiful beaches of Playa. We walked every where we wanted to go, the market, ferry, beach, restaurants, shopping, etc... We stayed in Treetop room #36 which was charming and private. Our room was clean and the staff was friendly and helpful. We had the pleasure of meeting Tony who was very helpful. When we return to Playa, we will definitely be staying at the Luna Blue Hotel.

Room Tip: We loved and would recommend the treetop terrace room #36!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hookedontraveling22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iowa
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2013

Haven't been to Playa in over a year and half, but I can say one thing is for sure...The Luna Blue still rocks my world!

It's not easy for a place to improve it's location in a destination, but the Luna Blue is right where you want to be in Playa. The north half of 5th Avenue is more my kinda vibe and the Luna Blue is perfectly located to enjoy that side of town.

The beds were outstanding! The AC worked great, the water was hot, and most of all the room was clean. The garden inside this hotel is amazing and something to behold. It's charm and ambiance are not something easily described or forgotten.

We had a great time at the bar and enjoyed the live music (which only lasted till 11). No doubt we will visit again.

For the price, location, and quality, I can't recommend the Luna Blue enough. Enjoy it.

PS-I took advantage of the Evolve Gym discount (1 block south of the Luna Blue)-outstanding gym with everything you need including a CrossFit section!

Room Tip: They are all solid. Kitchenettes have dishes and utensils if you want to use those items.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bufante03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2013

I love the Luna Blue! It's a great boutique hotel right off to the side of all the action of 5th Ave, and the owners and staff are fantastic. The rooms were perfect and pristine (thanks Gloria!) with a filtered water supply and great A/C. The common areas are beautiful, like walking through a rainforest, with a cute solar-powered pool. The bar is a great meeting place with swings as chairs and delicious cocktails (I suggest the pina colada), which hosts live music once a week which helps to draw people in off the street. If you're looking for an all-inclusive - go somewhere else because you won't enjoy the freedom and quaintness of this gorgeous little hotel. No kids allowed either!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cat108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.0 mi away
BRIC Hotel & Spa
BRIC Hotel & Spa
#47 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
499 reviews
0.3 mi away
Casa La Galeria by Bunik
Casa La Galeria by Bunik
#93 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
213 reviews
0.7 mi away
Barrio Latino Hotel
Barrio Latino Hotel
#68 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
679 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Los Itzaes Hotel
Los Itzaes Hotel
#82 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
148 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Casa Ticul
Hotel Casa Ticul
#80 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
846 reviews
0.0 mi away
Coco Rio Playa del Carmen
Coco Rio Playa del Carmen
#108 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Luna Blue Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luna Blue Hotel

Property: Luna Blue Hotel
Address: Calle 26 Norte, between 5th & 10th Ave, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#15 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#46 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#63 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Luna Blue Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luna Blue Hotel is located in Playa del Carmen's popular north end, three short blocks from the beach and half a block from the restaurants, shops and nightlife of 5th Avenue. This boutique hotel features palapa-covered balconies, a sunken tropical garden swimming pool, a lush garden, and one of the most popular bars in town. The hotel offers free use of four beach clubs and various local discounts. American owners and their bilingual staff offer you personal attention during your stay in paradise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Luna Blue Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luna Blue Hotel Garden
Luna Blue Playa Del Carmen
Luna Blue Hotel Mexico/Riviera Maya - Playa Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing