We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Missing our slice of Paradise!”
Review of Luna Blue Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Luna Blue Hotel
Ranked #108 of 215 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 March 2014

My daughter and I just returned to the snowy-cold after spending 7 days at the Luna Blue Hotel. We are missing it! I found the hotel on Tripadvisor and it was exactly what most visitors shared. If you want to stay in the heart of Playa so that you can walk around and enjoy the town, this is a perfect location. However, its not the Ritz.. If you are used to staying at a 4-star hotel where you enjoy all the amenities (spa, gym, turn down service, roomservice, etc) this is probably not for you. However, if you are laid back and can deal with "just the basics", The Luna Blue is for you and you will not be disappointed. We stayed in Room 6. The room was spacious. It had a dbl bed, a single bed and a trundle bed. We had a kitchen table, stove, small fridge, water cooler, a/c, fan and a small bathroom, a balcony with chairs and a hammock! How perfect. The room was very clean and the maid staff was terrific. They made sure we had clean towels each day, made our beds, kept the room clean. The entire staff at the hotel was pleasant and very helpful. We took advantage and went to two of the beach clubs affiliated with the hotel and had great visits. We loved the live music at the bar on Tuesday and Thursday night and met tons of people there that told us they come back every year! Each morning we enjoyed the wonderful sweetbreads and coffee in the courtyard and each evening we enjoyed a visit from the hotel's cats. The courtyard/garden is delightful... We loved sitting out and just relaxing. The pool area is small but nice. We met Tony and Sherri the last day - they are very nice and wanted to ensure that we had a good stay. Its obvious that they make a point with everyone they hire that customer service is key as we truly were treated fantastic. We will be back for sure!

Room Tip: If you want to be able to cook or reheat leftovers, Room 6 comes with a stove, dishes, pots and pans...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mainesilver1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (951)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

147 - 153 of 951 reviews

Reviewed 5 March 2014

Great place to stay in Playa, more relaxed and only a few blocks from the beach. Lots of nice seating area in front of our room as well as at the pool and in the common area. Didn't expect Playa to be as expensive as it was, but seems to be the trend in more touristy areas. 1 thing to note, the bar at the hotel has live music 2 nights a week which was good and brings in a mostly older gringo crowd. The other nights a loop of Jimmy Buffett satellite radio is playing. In both instances, the music stops at 11 or so.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LM_PO_1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2014

We felt like we found an oasis. Beautiful garden setting, clean rooms, efficient and helpful staff, and walking distance to beaches and restaurants of every kind. There is an outdoor bar with live entertainment and a neighborhood feel. Best of all, Tony and Sherri went above and beyond to help us avoid flying home into a snow storm. We will be back next winter. Thank you Tony and Sherri.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank healthyhearing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2014

We spent eight days in mid-February staying in room 7 at the Luna Blue Hotel and had a great time! The location was terrific as we could walk a half -block to 5th Avenue and enjoy the shops, bars and restaurants that are the heart of Playa del Carmen. Glad we did not choose an all-inclusive resort as we would have missed out on the best of the downtown. The hotel seemed like a bargain. The room was not fancy, but spacious. It included a kitchenette, twin bed and a trundle bed. The hotel raps around a small pool, grove of trees and plants and an outside bar. It is landscaped nicely in local stone. The folks coming to the small bar each night were an interesting mix of young and old northerners escaping the cold and looking to have a good time. Most people we talked to that were staying at the hotel had been back multiple times. By the time we left we understood why as we felt very much at home with the staff and surroundings. The clincher for was the great live music at the hotel bar on Tuesday and Thursday nights. The hotel was a four block walk from the Kool Beach Club but this was not a problem. This KBC has some of the best beach and recreational services in town, and a good lunch menu! We used there services to para-sail and take a catamaran ride out to snorkel on a reef. The hotel helped us arrange an enjoyable day trip to the Tulum and Coba ruins.

In summary, my wife and I, and our two travel companions, all had a great time. We found the hotel cozy, intimate and in a great location. Left our stay wishing we had booked two full weeks. Will definitely go back.

Room Tip: The rooms with kitchenette are the best value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank rrhmkr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014

Just got back from our stay at Luna Blue Hotel. It was exactly what it says it is, a tropical garden in paradise! We were right in the middle of any direction you want to walk for food, shopping. Beach was a 5 min. walk(not bad at all). We would come back in a heartbeat. The live music every Tuesday and Thursday night is awesome! Bar is great, bartenders make really good drinks. The coffee and sweet breads in the morning are fantastic. Thanks for the fun time!!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Craig B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014

been there 2 nights during January 2014 service was poor, location is bed (not in the centre )in total this hotel is over charged! bar is nice, and also the housekeeping lady. definitely not a bargain!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank didi d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LunaBlue, Owner at Luna Blue Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2014

We are of course very concerned that this reviewer was so unhappy. No hotel likes to receive this negative of a review, particular when it is the reviewer’s first and only posting on TripAdvisor. No guest during this time had expressed such dissatisfaction with their stay, so based on the information in this review, we investigated to see who it might have been. After going through all of our reservations, we have been unable to find a guest who matches the description of this reviewer. In the month of January, we had not a single guest from Spain, where this reviewer says he/she resides. The reviewer also states that he or she stayed with us for two nights. Our minimum stay is 3 nights, however we will on occasion make exceptions. In January of 2014, we made two such exceptions allowing shorter stays, but neither of them was for anyone from Spain.

And the one specific that was offered by this review, that we are not centrally located, is simply untrue. Our hotel has the convenience of being at almost the exact center of the resort/hotel zone in Playa del Carmen. Even if someone were writing a review and had not actually stayed at our hotel, they could have ascertained our location by looking at a map.

In short, we don’t know which hotel this person may have been reviewing, but we don’t believe it’s the Luna Blue, as we have no evidence they stayed with us.

Tony & Cheri
Luna Blue Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2014

We stayed in room 32 at Luna Blue from January 31, 2014 to February 9, 2014. This was our 7th vacation to Playa, and absolutely love every moment we are there.
I don't have one negative thing to say about Luna Blue. Tony and Cheri were amazing; and you could tell the relationship between all the staff members was something special. Rubio, Jorge, Carlos, Juan, Gloria and the girls - gracias por todo!!
When you walk through the front gates at Luna Blue, it's like walking into a jungle oasis. The temperature was always cooler inside the gates, the birds were singing, the waterfall was flowing, the tropical gardens were sparkling under the filtered sun, music was playing softly from the tropical swing bar, and Frankie (the cat) was lounging about. The rooms were comfortable and clean. Lovely amenities were restocked daily along with daily towel art displays. The beds were comfortable. Fresh coffee, tea, and freshly baked sweet breads were supplied each morning. Really, what else could you ask for.
For us, this place is magic.
Mi casa es su casa :)

Room Tip: We never had an issue with noise in the evenings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank purpleorchidCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0 mi away
BRIC Hotel & Spa
BRIC Hotel & Spa
#61 of 215 in Playa del Carmen
525 reviews
0.7 mi away
Barrio Latino Hotel
Barrio Latino Hotel
#72 of 215 in Playa del Carmen
705 reviews
0.5 mi away
Los Itzaes Hotel
Los Itzaes Hotel
#96 of 215 in Playa del Carmen
162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Fiesta Inn Playa Del Carmen
Fiesta Inn Playa Del Carmen
#48 of 215 in Playa del Carmen
381 reviews
1 mi away
Angelo's Hotel
Angelo's Hotel
#117 of 215 in Playa del Carmen
121 reviews
0.4 mi away
Kinbe Hotel
Kinbe Hotel
#104 of 215 in Playa del Carmen
648 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Luna Blue Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luna Blue Hotel

Address: Calle 26 Norte, between 5th & 10th Ave, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#76 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range: £59 - £97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Luna Blue Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luna Blue Hotel & Bar. We are a small Hotel and have turned it into one of the most popular boutique hotels around. Our small hotel is lush, intimate with comfortable 18 beach rooms adult-only, designed for travelers and a perfect to stay for more than a few days to explore the wonders and beauty of this magical area. Experience the real Mexico. Only at the Luna Blue Hotel, you will feel like home. All rooms at the Luna Blue Hotel have a garden view, covered outdoor balcony or seating area, air conditioning, a safe and free bottled water. Organic toiletries are provided in the bathrooms. Free Wi-Fi is available in all rooms and public areas. The Luna Blue Bar offers live music and exotic drinks under a palm-thatched roof. There are a coffee station, tea and homemade pastries, daily from 7:30 am - 10:30 am. Guests of the Luna Blue enjoy local area discounts and free privileges at certain beach clubs. The hotel’s multilingual staff provide a perspective planning tours and activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Luna Blue Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luna Blue Hotel Garden
Luna Blue Playa Del Carmen
Luna Blue Hotel Mexico/Riviera Maya - Playa Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing