We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Place - Great Value”
Review of Luna Blue Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Luna Blue Hotel
Ranked #95 of 209 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Fantastic Place - Great Value”
Reviewed 23 March 2009

My wife and I were here for a week in August, '08. We based our decision to stay at the Luna Blue on previous reviews and we were not at all disappointed. We found the grounds of the hotel beautiful and well kept -- a tropical jungle with a bar. Our room was clean and more minimalist in its decoration -- white and blue with Spanish arches. We had an endless supply of water, as promised. We opted for a room with a small refrigerator; we filled it up a couple of times by walking fifteen minutes away from the touristy part of Playa through more authentically Mexican neighborhoods to -- ironically -- the Wallmart. The hotel staff was friendly and courteous in every possible way; they changed our bathroom towels each day (even twisting them up to look like swans, if you're into that kind of thing) and gave us beach towels whenever we needed them; they kept our room immaculate. We had one bump in our trip -- I got sick -- and the hotel staff immediately directed me to a doctor a few blocks away. (He saw me almost immediately and I was better by the evening). They followed up to see how I was doing as well. The hotel is in a quieter stretch of Playa, a bit removed from most of the bars, so we never had too much noise and had no problems sleeping at any point. This is important if you go during high season and want to find a stretch of beach that is not overcrowded -- Luna Blue gives you free passes to Mamita's Beach Resort -- a beautiful beach with turquoise water -- but you have to get there early for a spot (with the palapa covering to protect you from the sun, which can get brutal). This means, at least for us, getting to bed not too late, to be up and at the beach by 8. Maybe this isn't the case at other times of the year -- not sure. One small detail -- the VIP discount card the hotel gave us was not honored at all Playa restaurants, contrary to what the card itself says. This is not the hotel's fault, just an example of bad business on the part of some establishments.

Luna Blue is great value and a fantastic place. We could not have asked for more.

  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Mushiquino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

941 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    622
    244
    41
    23
    11
See reviews for
80
539
73
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Arizona
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2009

We had a wonderful stay at Hotel Luna Blue. The Hotel is relaxing, comfortable, fun, and beautiful and we felt very lucky to have found it! We really loved the St. Patrick's Day party at the Bar, and the evenings in the garden grotto were fantastic. Our room was clean, comfortable, and private. The only small issue we had was the wireless internet access did not reach up to our little nest so we had to go down a couple flights of stairs to use it, but hey, we were on vacation, what the heck did we need a computer for anyway!

The location of Luna Blue is really perfect too, close to everything but away from the major hustle and noise that would keep you up at night.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank tabutne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Langford, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2009

This little gem of a hotel has a well earned reputation here on Trip Advisor. It is a charming picturesque little place with excellent staff, a beautiful garden, and an ideal location. I travel for a living so spend much of my life in hotels all across Canada and the U.S. northwest and I have to say that the Luna Blue has ambiance and staff second to none. It is close to all the action and amenities that you could possibly want, yet was surprisingly isolated from the busy-ness of the surrounding area. Very little street noise made it to our room, in fact the only noise issue we had was from a very drunk tourist with a shrill piercing laugh who seemed to want to spend each evening drinking at the Tiki Bar near the main entrance. After speaking to the owners about this, the problem was immediately and effectively corrected and no further issues arose.
Our room, listed as a Tropical Hideaway, was bright, fresh, clean and tastefully decorated. The bathroom was clean and had a large shower with plenty of hot water and good water pressure. The A/C was a newer unit and was quiet and effective. Our balcony was huge and there was a small second balcony off the side of the bedroom. The housekeepers were friendly, discreet and somehow managed to quickly figure out our routine well enough that we only saw them going into our room once, yet it was meticulously cleaned and replenished every day.

There is no doubt that we will be returning to the Luna Blue again, and until then we will simply have to continue reliving the blissful stay we had there. Our thanks to Tony and Cheri for making this all happen for us and on a very reasonable budget too.

The only thing that I can think of that would make for an improvement is a very minor item... it would be nice to have a coffee maker in the room.

I have no hesitation in recommending this hotel to anybody that wants to get away from the "all inclusive" resort theme and experience something much more intimate and personal.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank oom-papa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saskatchewan, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2009

I meant to post this right after we got back from our holiday... must still be basking in the glow of how great it was! LOL

We stayed at the Luna Blue from February 7th to February 21st, 2009 - and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. This quaint 18 room hotel is situated on Calle 26 Norte between 5th and 10th Avenues. It's in a great location as it is close to the ever-popular 5th Avenue, but just enough off the beaten path to count as a quiet getaway. Although small in size, it has a fantastic range of room types to suit most travellers - everything from the basic right up to their treetop terrace rooms with large deck. We stayed in room 23, which was located on the 3rd floor of the hotel (see pictures for what it looked like). The staff was extremely friendly... and I must personally thank Genero (front desk mgr.) and Jorge (bartender) for making our stay extra special. Genero would help us with all the little daily things... and Jorge took care of making all of our fantastic drinks - including those great shots of tequila he'd pour up. Here's some of the things we really enjoyed about this hotel: 1) swing bar... perfect little getaway to meet people from all over the world in a relaxed setting - and with the best bartender around; 2) use of beach chairs and a palapa at Mamita's Beach Club - which was located only a couple of blocks away; 3) each room had a small fridge to store whatever food and beverages you'd have on hand, along with a water cooler so you'd always have water whenever you needed it. Although there was no restaurant at this hotel, there were many located within a short walking distance - so you didn't have to worry about going hungry.

All in all... a great little hotel at a great price.

Many thanks to Tony and Cheri for having one heck of a hotel!

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Scooter1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Crosse
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2009

We stayed a week at Luna Blue with family and friends. So we had 4 rooms all different types. Everyone was very happy with the value, clean rooms, location and staff. My husband and I had stayed the previous week in two different all inclusive's including one that was very high end. We enjoyed our stay at Luna Blue far more than either of the other stays. We had the kitchen room and it was so nice to have the ability to make a few meals. The staff was wonderful and both beaches were fun. We will return.

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank oldnorht2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overland Park, KS
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2009

We found this little gem through a friend's recommendation. The setting is gorgeous, the rooms were sparkling clean, it's located 1/2 block off of 5th Avenue, and the staff were friendly and extra accomodating. Our first 5 nights, we stayed in a large room that included a kitchenette. It was very private and we had our own hammock outside our room. We loved that room. The last 2 nights, we moved to another room that was smaller and cheaper but still nice. My only caution would be to ask how close your room is to the bar. The bar itself is outside, and so much fun, BUT, if you're trying to turn in early, it doesn't close until 11 pm and can be very noisy. Also, they have live music in the bar every Tuesday night which was so enjoyable....but just keep it in mind

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank MarissaT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2009

We really enjoyed our stay at Luna Blue and intend to return again next year. Check in was quick and easy, the room was clean and comfortable, the location the best! We love the bar which was a great addition. Also, the maid service was so great. They were in and out while we were out for breakfast, and did a really nice job. The only thing that could have improved our stay would be a coffee maker in the room. Great vacation---great hotel!

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank leftlanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.0 mi away
BRIC Hotel & Spa
BRIC Hotel & Spa
#46 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
496 reviews
0.7 mi away
Barrio Latino Hotel
Barrio Latino Hotel
#67 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
674 reviews
0.0 mi away
Coco Rio Playa del Carmen
Coco Rio Playa del Carmen
#109 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Los Itzaes Hotel
Los Itzaes Hotel
#83 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
142 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sunrise 42 Suites Hotel
Sunrise 42 Suites Hotel
#64 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
305 reviews
0.3 mi away
Casa La Galeria by Bunik
Casa La Galeria by Bunik
#91 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Luna Blue Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luna Blue Hotel

Property: Luna Blue Hotel
Address: Calle 26 Norte, between 5th & 10th Ave, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#15 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#19 Best Value Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#46 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#64 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Luna Blue Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luna Blue Hotel is located in Playa del Carmen's popular north end, three short blocks from the beach and half a block from the restaurants, shops and nightlife of 5th Avenue. This boutique hotel features palapa-covered balconies, a sunken tropical garden swimming pool, a lush garden, and one of the most popular bars in town. The hotel offers free use of four beach clubs and various local discounts. American owners and their bilingual staff offer you personal attention during your stay in paradise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Priceline, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Luna Blue Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luna Blue Hotel Garden
Luna Blue Playa Del Carmen
Luna Blue Hotel Mexico/Riviera Maya - Playa Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing