We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tropical Sanctuary.”
Review of Luna Blue Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Luna Blue Hotel
Ranked #89 of 214 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Portland, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Tropical Sanctuary.”
Reviewed 2 August 2009

Luna Blue was a fabulous place to stay. The rooms were spotless, the staff and service was great. The air conditioning was beautiful. The garden setting was an oasis of calm within a bustling city. This is the only place to stay in Playa!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank OregonBecky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

940 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    621
    244
    41
    23
    11
See reviews for
79
539
73
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pebble Beach, CA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2009

This is the second time we've stayed at this hotel, and we love it. It is a fabulous value. The hotel is not aimed at extravagance, so what you get is an immaculate room set in a quiet garden courtyard, and a staff that is ready to assist you with whatever you need. The hotel provides passes to go to a wonderful beach club. It's a short stroll down to the club where a giant thatched umbrella and lounger chairs make a day relaxing, playing, and snoozing on the beach so nice. The beach club also has great food, and we recommend the chicken nachos. The hotel is a just around the corner from 5 avenue, the main street for shopping and restaurants - very convenient.

Tony and Cheri are very gracious hosts and a wealth of honest info on places to go and things to do. We recommend this hotel to anyone that is looking for a charming and romantic getaway away from the resorts that herd you around like cattle and coop you up in order to keep you and your money on their properties.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Funktastic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, OR
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2009

We had not realized what big and busy city Playa Del Carmen was. While the beaches were beautiful enough to find the peace we were in search of, we couldn't have been happier with our stay at Luna Blue. It offered a quite and beautiful space, and was still right in the middle of everything.

We stayed in the Treetop Terrace, which was perfectly clean and comfortable, and had a large covered patio over-looking the garden. It included AC, a mini-fridge and fresh drinking water. The staff were all very friendly and helpful. We also loved the swinging chairs and live music at the margarita bar in the hotel.

If we return, we wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

ps: the housekeeping does some awesome towel art!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank yesnoplease
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
36 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2009

Playa del Carmen itself was wonderful, but our stay was made better by our stay in this wonderful hotel. There were only a few other guests when we were there so they upgraded our room which was brilliant. We had a lovely light, clean room, and the maids make different shapes out of the towels every day!

The owners and the staff are great too - Jorge made us the best margarita at the Luna Blue Bar! Go to the Blucacao beach club they have passes for - it is DEFINITELY worth the 100 pesos taxi trip there! We were almost the only people there and it was beautiful...

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lucystravels87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lunabluehotel
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2009

We will definitely be back to spend our vacation with Tony & Cheri! Just left the Margarita Party at the bar!!!! Fantanstic and loads of fun! Cheri even join the bikini contest with the other young ladies. Toni & Cheri are a wonderful couple that make you feel like you are part of the family rather than guests! The staff is absolutely the best. They go out of their way to answer any questions you may have, give you adivce on activities and places to eat. The staff is the same way. Gorge is the bartender and it is obvious that he loves his job! When we asked him about different restaurants, he gave us an honest opinion which we greatly appreciated with this being our first time. Don't get pulled into the time Share promotions for reduced tickets for the activities that are available throughout the area. Everyone here has how best interest at heart! A very homey and quaint place to be. Gorge even saw us on our way to the beach and recognized us! If you want to stay at a place where everyone knows your name, STAY HERE!!! I am a Jimmy Buffet fan and loved the decor. The Luna Blue drink is wonderful!!! They also support 2 orgainizations for the safety and well being of animals. They have several cats that run the place when the staff is busy. Just ring the bell! Frankie is relaxing somewhere around in a shady spot!

Stayed July 2009
Helpful?
2 Thank voneal2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2009

We stayed here for just one night in May. Usually, LB requires 3 night minimum. We checked availability the week before, and they were able to accommodate us for just one night. They even upgraded us to a nicer room. We were actually vacationing at a different Cancun resort for 7 nights, had to get there a day early using FF miles for the airline tix. Occupancy was low all over Playa due to the flu scare - didn't stop us from enjoying our stay. Rooms were clean, service was friendly, and the price is right. The bar specialty drinks were fabulous - even offered us a free tequilla shot. Yum. I will definitely be back.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank flyerfan22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yardley, PA
Level Contributor
33 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2009

We stayed at the Luna Blue hotel during a weeklong Mexico vacation in 2008 and came away very pleased at our time there. An American couple ran this boutique hotel while we were there (hopefully they still do), and they were very attentive and caring for our needs. They made great suggestions about activities and where to eat (our favorite restaurant in Playa del Carmen was Yaxche), and the hotel is less than five minutes' walk from the excellent beach, and just around the corner from the main shopping area of Avenue Quinta. Our hotel room was on the first floor, clean and cozy with a nice saying/quote painted on the wall (I forget whose quote it was in our room - rm. 2), as well as a water cooler in the room that dispensed free water with which we could refill our water bottles prior to departing for our daytrips (ie. to Tulum and Xcaret). We took advantage of a roof deck for sunning and reading purposes, and enjoyed that feature of this hotel. For its room price, this hotel was great value (at least it was in early 2008 when we were there). We will stay at the Luna Blue again when we go back to Playa del Carmen in the future.

  • Stayed February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Admiral_Zheng_He
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.3 mi away
Casa La Galeria by Bunik
Casa La Galeria by Bunik
#87 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sunrise 42 Suites Hotel
Sunrise 42 Suites Hotel
#65 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
0.7 mi away
Barrio Latino Hotel
Barrio Latino Hotel
#72 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 660 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
BRIC Hotel & Spa
BRIC Hotel & Spa
#48 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 476 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Casa Ticul
Hotel Casa Ticul
#58 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 831 reviews
0.3 mi away
Soho Playa Hotel
Soho Playa Hotel
#34 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Luna Blue Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luna Blue Hotel

Property: Luna Blue Hotel
Address: Calle 26 Norte, between 5th & 10th Ave, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#15 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#19 Best Value Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#46 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#61 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Luna Blue Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luna Blue Hotel is located in Playa del Carmen's popular north end, three short blocks from the beach and half a block from the restaurants, shops and nightlife of 5th Avenue. This boutique hotel features palapa-covered balconies, a sunken tropical garden swimming pool, a lush garden, and one of the most popular bars in town. The hotel offers free use of four beach clubs and various local discounts. American owners and their bilingual staff offer you personal attention during your stay in paradise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Luna Blue Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luna Blue Hotel Garden
Luna Blue Playa Del Carmen
Luna Blue Hotel Mexico/Riviera Maya - Playa Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing