We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What A Find!”
Review of Luna Blue Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Luna Blue Hotel
Ranked #91 of 214 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
“What A Find!”
Reviewed 16 June 2006

Tony and Sherri and the LB Hotel Team rock! Our stay at the Luna Blue was wonderful. Close to Mamitas Beach Club and all key attractions, yet, off the main drag so that you can get a good night's rest. The rooms were very comfortable, safe and clean. Toni and Sherri made us feel at home from the moment we arrived. The property is very quaint and has a very nice feel to it. I will be back as soon as I have the opprotunity. I have traveled extensively over the last 30 years and can say that this hidden find is so worth it's value.
- Mark

  • Stayed May 2006, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
15 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

940 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    621
    244
    41
    23
    11
See reviews for
79
539
73
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 15 June 2006

We stayed at the Luna Blue in June of '06, after having some booking difficulties with a larger hotel on the beach (long story)
The Luna Blue was a whole different experience; the owners, Tony and Cheri were extremely personable, and got back to me within a couple of hours throughout the whole booking process.
The hotel itself is very nice, clean and spacious (we stayed in one of the kitchenette rooms). I hear that there are plans to add in a jacuzzi and bar as well! So, it should get even better in the months to come.
It's true that the hotel is a couple blocks from the beach, but I'd even recommend staying here over a place on the beach, as you get free passes to a very nice beach club (in my opinion, better than having to pay a lot of money and search around for chairs)
One of the greatest advantages to this place is Tony and Cheri themselves. They were an invaluable source of info about local restaurants, activities, etc. They are friendly and enthusiastic about giving advice to travelers...don't miss the butcher shop steak restaurant!

All in all, this hotel is a fantastic find, and made our stay in PDC a much more enjoyable experience. It really shows that Tony and Cheri are the owners of this place, as they personally care very much about the well-being of their guests.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
19 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2006

Luna Blue is a lush little oasis of a hotel in the heart of beautiful Playa Del Carmen. Tony and Cheri are wonderful people who welcome you like old friends. Their staff is attentive and kind. My fiancé, my friend, and myself were given excellent advice upon arrival for places to eat and have fun. Luna Blue, although not right on the beach, has an affiliation with a beach resort down the block, which makes it easy to get a good lounge on the beach. That is just one example of a great host. They really want you to enjoy their town as they do.

I stayed in one of the smaller rooms, which was simple yet cozy. The hotel is quiet and clean and so close to the fun of Playa del Carmen you'll be amazed how peaceful it is.

I would love to try the Tree Top rooms because I hear they're great. Next time I'm there I will reserve Luna Blue in advance. It's worth it.

Thanks again Tony & Cheri for a wonderful time.

-Chris P

  • Stayed June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank Chris P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, OH
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2006

My husband and I just got back from a week in Playa Del Carmen and the Luna Blue. I have stayed in the biggy all inclusive resorts before and this is the first time I stayed in a hotel. Let's just say I will never do the resort thing again. The Luna Blue has wonderful rooms overlooking a beautiful garden. Tony and Cheri (the owners) are awesome. They actually made the hotel feel like a home away from home. They had wonderful suggestions ranging from where to eat to things to do that most tourists wouldnt even know about. The Luna Blue is clean, beautiful, close to one of the nicest beaches in the area and you get all the excitement of 5th ave. without being on top of it. I would highly recommend this to anyone and everyone. We are already planning are next trip there.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
18 Thank lulu17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 11 June 2006

I visited Playa del Carmen for the first time a couple weeks ago and stayed at the Luna Blue Hotel. Not only is this hotel very quaint and charming, but the friendly (and helpful) owners Tony and Cheri are icing on the cake. They made our trip so warm and memorable. Luna Blue is just a couple blocks from the beach and walking distance to all the action. It's a perfect location -- situated in a more quiet area which made for good sleep and relaxation after a fun night of dinner and dancing (just blocks away). It's a GREAT deal and I highly recommend it! I plan on going back to Playa in a couple months and will most certainly return to this little gem of a hotel! Thanks Tony & Cheri!

  • Stayed May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orange County, California
Level Contributor
77 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 251 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2006

There are plenty of excellent reviews here already about the Luna Blue, and just wanted to add my thanks to Toni and Cheri for being wonderful hosts. I stayed here with 3 of my buddies the last week of May 2006, and we had a good time. We stayed in a kitchen suite, which was roomy and clean. The free passes to Mamitas beach were a great bonus.
The hotel is nice and clean, the owners are super great; the location is good. You just can't beat this hotel if you're on a budget and don't want to stay in a big impersonal all-inclusive hotel!

  • Stayed May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank blossom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
austin, texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2006

WE LOVED LUNA BLUE and would recommend it to anyone....perfect location, lovely balconies, bottled water, fantastic deal, wonderful hosts, quiet, unique, clean- its truly a little paradise. we can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank victoriaaustin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.3 mi away
Casa La Galeria by Bunik
Casa La Galeria by Bunik
#87 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sunrise 42 Suites Hotel
Sunrise 42 Suites Hotel
#65 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 289 reviews
0.7 mi away
Barrio Latino Hotel
Barrio Latino Hotel
#71 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 661 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
BRIC Hotel & Spa
BRIC Hotel & Spa
#53 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 478 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Casa Ticul
Hotel Casa Ticul
#60 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 831 reviews
0.3 mi away
Soho Playa Hotel
Soho Playa Hotel
#34 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Luna Blue Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luna Blue Hotel

Property: Luna Blue Hotel
Address: Calle 26 Norte, between 5th & 10th Ave, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#15 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#46 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#62 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Luna Blue Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luna Blue Hotel is located in Playa del Carmen's popular north end, three short blocks from the beach and half a block from the restaurants, shops and nightlife of 5th Avenue. This boutique hotel features palapa-covered balconies, a sunken tropical garden swimming pool, a lush garden, and one of the most popular bars in town. The hotel offers free use of four beach clubs and various local discounts. American owners and their bilingual staff offer you personal attention during your stay in paradise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Luna Blue Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luna Blue Hotel Garden
Luna Blue Playa Del Carmen
Luna Blue Hotel Mexico/Riviera Maya - Playa Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing