We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We stayed at three different hotels, and Luna Blue isn't "all that"...” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Luna Blue Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Luna Blue Hotel
Ranked #84 of 212 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Sacramento
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“We stayed at three different hotels, and Luna Blue isn't "all that"...”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2006

My wife and I traveled to Playa Del Carmen for the second time in 2 years. We love this beach community. Prior to staying at Luna Blue, we stayed at one of the Tucan Group Hotels, and found it pretty good for $55/night (low season).

A couple days later, we decided to stay a bit north of the Ave. 5 strip, and get away from the hustle and bustle of cheesy souvenir shops and aggressive restaurant hosts. We found Luna Blue at the northern end of the strip. We got one of their standard rooms for $50/night, and it was a slightly nicer than the other hotel. It only lacked cable TV (we weren’t concerned about that since we didn’t have any children with us). We booked the room for two days starting on the morning of June 29th, and by the end of the day, we decided that we wanted to stay in the area two additional days.

I promptly notified the staff that we would like to extend our stay to include July 1 and 2 as well. They told me I could pay the next morning if I wanted to. So the next morning, I paid for the additional nights. We enjoy the day, went to bed, and on the morning of July 1st, there’s a note requesting my attention at the front desk.

Apparently, the owners, Tony and Cheri have set a “high season” date starting on July 1, and that they undercharged us for the room that we had already paid for. They requested that we pay the difference if we intend to stay over the weekend. Well, I just didn’t feel that it was right to change the rate on us during a 4 night stay. In fact, I found it petty, so we decided to look elsewhere, and ended up finding another wonderful hotel just around the corner. It was called Fiesta Banana (yeah, I know...dumb name). The room was smaller than Luna Blue’s but there was better lighting and a large shared patio for socializing. In addition, our room included a private balcony and continental breakfast for $50/night.

90% of hotels in the area during the month of June and July have vacancies, so I don’t see why July 1st would be considered “high season” for Luna Blue. I’ve never stayed at a hotel that raised their rates in the middle of my stay. Luna Blue’s policies posed unacceptable inconvenience to us, and we will not stay there again. It’s not a bad hotel, but it's not awesome either (there was a cockroach in our room (#4)! Other reviewers seem to rave about this hotel, but I find their reviews suspiciously similar?!?!? We stayed at two other hotels and they were equally decent. I just found their policies to be more appropriate for large hoteliers than a mom-n-pop operation. We wished that we left Luna Blue with more fond memories. Unfortunately, that wasn’t the case.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
25 Thank wlittleman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owners at Luna Blue Hotel, responded to this review, 9 July 2006
We are very sorry you had a bad experience at the Luna Blue, even though your overall stay seems to have been to your liking. Your primary complaint is about the high season charge of an additional $10 for the room. We understand your concern and would like to explain why that happened.

You rented a standard room for two nights ($45 per night in low season). We assume you enjoyed your time with us, because you asked our receptionist for an additional two nights in what was now high season. He mistakenly charged you the low season rate that you had previously paid. He later realized his mistake and, using his own initiative, requested you pay high season rates of $10 more per night for the additional two nights. You decided you did not want to pay the extra sum and left the hotel. Your money was fully refunded.

We did not understand the circumstance until we read this review and talked to our employee about it. Had our receptionist checked with us first, we would have told him to waive the extra $10. Frankly, $10 isn’t worth an unhappy guest.

Again, we are sorry if this wasn’t adequately explained to you. Now, we would like to respond to some of the other issues raised.

What concerns us the most is the claim that our reviews are “suspiciously similar,” which insinuates that we have written or posted these reviews ourselves. This is simply not true. We have never posted a review of our hotel on tripadvisor, and we have never asked anyone to post anything other than their true opinions of our hotel. Every one of our reviews has been written by an actual guest. Even an anonymous review can easily be verified by tracing it back to the guest who wrote it. You liked our rooms well enough at $45 but not at $55. That is your choice. However, that choice does not invalidate the other honest reviews listed on tripadvisor. We are a “mom and pop” operation. We like it that way. We moved to Mexico to leave behind the rat race and the corporate life. However, we did not leave behind our integrity. If someone wants to criticize our hotel for service or appearance, they should feel free to do so. But no one should accuse us of dishonesty, because it isn’t so.

With regard to seasons, our determination of what is high and low season is not arbitrary. Before setting our rates, we reviewed most of the hotels in Playa del Carmen and talked to local business owners and the Tourist Board. June is considered a low season month. July and August are high season months because Playa has a large number of people from Europe and Mexico visiting the coast at that time. Seasons are not set or ignored simply because there are “vacancies” at various hotels at any given moment. We do not lower our rates because there are fewer people in town or artificially inflate them when the opposite is true. We set our rates in advance and stick by them. Our website makes clear what our seasonal rate changes are. When a guest reserves a room that spans two seasons, he is charged the appropriate rate for the nights in each season.

As for the cockroach in your room, this is the first we have heard about it. No comment was made during your stay. Our rooms are cleaned by an exceptional staff every day. And when they have a day off, we clean them ourselves. That cleaning includes spraying for insects. In addition, we have a professional service which regularly sprays the entire hotel. Every hotel in Playa, regardless of size or location, conducts a similar procedure. This is the tropics, and Playa del Carmen is carved out of a jungle. Occasionally there are insects. This does not reflect on the cleanliness of our rooms. We assume you agree, since the room was clean enough for you to request to extend your stay.

Once more, we understand your concern: you rented a $45 per night room and then, when you asked for a new stay in high season, a member of our staff asked you to pay high season rates. It is certainly your right to vacate the premises over that $10 and your right to complain on tripadvisor about it. We are sorry that your experience at the Luna Blue was not a good one. However, it does sound as if you enjoyed yourself in our beautiful Playa del Carmen. And that’s what’s really important.

Hasta luego,
Tony & Cheri
Luna Blue Hotel & Garden



Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

936 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    619
    243
    40
    23
    11
See reviews for
78
537
73
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2006

My husband and I just returned from a six night stay at the Luna Blue Hotel and Garden.
Toni and Cheri make you feel totally welcome. Luna Blue is not a five star hotel, so if you're looking for a soft bed, fluffy towels and room service, please look elsewhere.
What you will find is a unique, boutique hotel that is perfect for folks who want to experience more of the local flavor and feel. We loved the rooftop lounging area. The room was quietly away from a lot of traffic but close enough to everything else. We had trails of small black ants in the bathroom, but nothing drastic. Everyone at Luna Blue were friendly and accomodating. They arranged transportation for us from/to the Cancun airport through a private company. I would recommend the Luna Blue for a unique
vacation experience.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
14 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Sunshine State
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2006

We just returned from an eight-day, seven-night stay at by far the BEST hotel we have stayed at in Mexico. We have travelled to several areas in the Yucatan Peninsula (Isla Mujeres, Majahual, Tulum, Cancun) and found Luna Blue to be both an incredible oasis and an excellent value! As mentioned, what makes this hotel so wonderful are owners, Tony and Cheri. Within minutes you feel like you've known these two great people your entire life and are drawn in by their great stories, helpful tips, and caring nature. They (and their staff) are truly interested in making sure you have everything you need to make your time at their hotel special.

We reserved a Superior Bedroom during low season ($55/night). The room was on the third floor (with a balcony) and had a Queen bed, AC and fan, small fridge, 5 liter water cooler, and in-room safe. Free passes to Mamitas Beach Club and fresh towels were provided any time we wanted. By booking through a popular Playa message board website, we also received a PDC card which provided substantial discounts to several area bars, restaurants, shops, and sporting activities.

The gardens are peaceful and beautiful. We did notice some bugs while we spent time on our relaxing terrace. As we realize from living in Florida, the bugs you CAN see are just part of the problem (they don't call 'em "no-see-ums" for nothing), so definitely bring bug spray. This is also true if you venture to the ruins, the cenotes, or even out for the evening in town. Stepping outside the gates, you'll find several great restaurants, shops, and conveniences (laundry, food stores, etc.). The area is VERY safe and the hotel is locked up tight each night to provide guests with an additional feeling of security. Don't worry if you're staying out late...you'll receive a key for all-hour access! On-street parking can usually be found within a few yards of the entrance and cabs can be hailed around the corner (though walking down 5th Avenue and the local neighborhoods is a wonderful experience).

We HIGHLY recommend Luna Blue to anyone who's considering staying at a boutique hotel and is looking for safe, friendly, clean accomodations (and at a GREAT value). Plans are in place for a small bar and the jacuzzi should be ready in the next couple of months. Though hard to believe, enhancements continue to make the place better and better.

Thanks Tony and Cheri (plus staff) for such a wonderful time!

Lee (AdGuy) & Jennifer
Jacksonville, Florida

  • Stayed June 2006
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
22 Thank FloridaAdGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VA
Level Contributor
29 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2006

Luna Blue is perfect for first timers in Playa del Carmen.

The heart and soul of this hotel is truly Toni and Cheri. They have wonderful advice for first timers. The others at the frontdesk were also helpful but Toni and Cheri know Americans best. From affordable gourmet, tasty drinks, cheapo transpo, lagoons, ruins, etc etc

We had to take a later flight and frontdesk Genaro promptly got us shuttle service to Luna Blue. Avoid the airport booths (timeshare sales).

We stayed in a standard room. The paint was fresh. Tiles look recently remodeled. Bed was firm. Great value. Not having a TV was a plus. Water pressure acceptable. Clean. Our door was a sliding door. It was strange having to use keys on both sides of the lock. I would prefer to use keys on the outside and a lever on the inside.

Luna is located midblock so sound is filtered by other buildings.The standard had a door connecting to another standard room that needs more sound insulation unless you are with the people next door. We thought about moving up to get a better view but the hotel was full at the time.

The rooftop terrace had nice views of the town and an awesome hammock for napping. Landscaping was jungle style. Lots of trees and birds singing.

Full Service Laundry across from Luna cost about $4 for a load perfectly folded and bagged. Convenience store was also across from Luna..

Overall, great value. We will be back.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
16 Thank jercha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2006

We just returned from a 10 day stay at Luna Blue, and we had a really great vacation. This hotel has so many things going for it. It is at the quieter end of the Quinta Avenida strip, which we appreciated every time we ambled closer to the action towards town. Too many people, too noisy, a completely different feel to the shops and restaurants. At the northern end, the shops, restaurants, the merchants, the locals, are all so much more relaxed. We enjoyed being so close to dining and shopping. The hotel is 1/2 a block from Quinta Avenida.

We had a room with a kitchenette, which worked our nicely. Our two teenagers, my wife and I all had comfortable beds, too (One queen, one single, one roll-out trundle bed). The room was impeccably clean, with fine tile floors. A spacious fridge, well stocked kitchen, and small stove was all we needed. The bathroom was comfortable, clean, and had a spacious etagere for storage. We enjoyed our own personal patio, and only saw 2 mosquitos in all the time we were there.

The staff was very responsive, very helpful, and honestly, they are all high-quality people. The owners were everything we were led to believe, having read these reviews before we booked. Tony and Cheri were like our personal tour guides, as well as friends. We eliminated lots of trial and error with the renting of a car, with restaurant choices, with choices for recreation. Our gracious hosts helped us every step of the way.

We don't really care for the All-Inclusives, as our experience has been that the food is usually mediocre at best, and choosing restaurants to try helps us feel more acclimated and adventurous. With Mamita's Beach so close, we feel we had the very best of everything. We will definitely return to Playa and to the Luna Blue

Stayed June 2006
Helpful?
19 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2006

Tony and Sherri and the LB Hotel Team rock! Our stay at the Luna Blue was wonderful. Close to Mamitas Beach Club and all key attractions, yet, off the main drag so that you can get a good night's rest. The rooms were very comfortable, safe and clean. Toni and Sherri made us feel at home from the moment we arrived. The property is very quaint and has a very nice feel to it. I will be back as soon as I have the opprotunity. I have traveled extensively over the last 30 years and can say that this hidden find is so worth it's value.
- Mark

  • Stayed May 2006, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
15 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2006

We stayed at the Luna Blue in June of '06, after having some booking difficulties with a larger hotel on the beach (long story)
The Luna Blue was a whole different experience; the owners, Tony and Cheri were extremely personable, and got back to me within a couple of hours throughout the whole booking process.
The hotel itself is very nice, clean and spacious (we stayed in one of the kitchenette rooms). I hear that there are plans to add in a jacuzzi and bar as well! So, it should get even better in the months to come.
It's true that the hotel is a couple blocks from the beach, but I'd even recommend staying here over a place on the beach, as you get free passes to a very nice beach club (in my opinion, better than having to pay a lot of money and search around for chairs)
One of the greatest advantages to this place is Tony and Cheri themselves. They were an invaluable source of info about local restaurants, activities, etc. They are friendly and enthusiastic about giving advice to travelers...don't miss the butcher shop steak restaurant!

All in all, this hotel is a fantastic find, and made our stay in PDC a much more enjoyable experience. It really shows that Tony and Cheri are the owners of this place, as they personally care very much about the well-being of their guests.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
19 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.4 mi away
Sunrise 42 Suites Hotel
Sunrise 42 Suites Hotel
#63 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 262 reviews
0.3 mi away
Casa La Galeria by Bunik
Casa La Galeria by Bunik
#85 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
0.6 mi away
Barrio Latino Hotel
Barrio Latino Hotel
#67 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 645 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Casa Ticul
Hotel Casa Ticul
#55 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 822 reviews
0.0 mi away
BRIC Hotel & Spa
BRIC Hotel & Spa
#49 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 468 reviews
0.0 mi away
Soho Playa Hotel
Soho Playa Hotel
#33 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Luna Blue Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luna Blue Hotel

Property: Luna Blue Hotel
Address: Calle 26 Norte, between 5th & 10th Ave, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 Best Value Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#15 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#46 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#59 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Luna Blue Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luna Blue Hotel is located in Playa del Carmen's popular north end, three short blocks from the beach and half a block from the restaurants, shops and nightlife of 5th Avenue. This boutique hotel features palapa-covered balconies, a sunken tropical garden swimming pool, a lush garden, and one of the most popular bars in town. The hotel offers free use of four beach clubs and various local discounts. American owners and their bilingual staff offer you personal attention during your stay in paradise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Luna Blue Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luna Blue Hotel Garden
Luna Blue Playa Del Carmen
Luna Blue Hotel Mexico/Riviera Maya - Playa Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing