We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Woo Hoo Luna Blue (Times Two!)”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Luna Blue Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Luna Blue Hotel
Ranked #87 of 213 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Black Hills
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Woo Hoo Luna Blue (Times Two!)”
Reviewed 27 December 2006

We stayed once again at the Luna Blue December 1st through the 11th, and the Luna Blue - in our opinion - only keeps getting better and better.

On our previous stay, it was just a few months post-Wilma when we stayed in Playa Del Carmen last January. I'm happy to say that the lushness of the Riviera Maya area is back, and the Luna Blue is no exception. The Garden Courtyard area looks fabulous. The new waterfall area adds a nice touch to the look and sound of the hotel. The finishing touches and improvements to this 18-room hotel continue. We stayed in an upper balcony room, #34 and the new remotely controlled AC unit was nearly noiseless, you could set the degree temperature you would like plus it has a timer. Nice touch.
And, once again our rooms were kept spotless the entire stay. The staff of the Luna Blue is incredibly friendly, helpful and capable.

As the weather did not exactly cooperate with our plans, we ended up spending quite a bit of time relaxing on our balcony listening to the rain, reading (my wife read 7 books in 10 days), doing crossword puzzles and surfing the Internet. To this - I would like to say "Thank You" to the Luna Blue for making WiFi access available. Both in our room and on the balcony the signal was more than capable to keep a steady connection - good for checking your Fantasy Football scores, e-mails, catching up on the news of the world or back home etc. There is a new addition to the hotel's amenities coming soon, an on-site palapa bar complete with the most beautiful hardwood bar and soon-to-be installed (if not already) swing seats. The owner, Tony, said his desire is for this to be a nice romantic retreat on-site for an evening's nitecap, or whatever. It SURE would have come in handy on some of those rainy days and nights so that we wouldn't have had to make our way out in the driving rain for a quick adult beverage. And with the lighting of the Courtyard and the sounds and lighting of the waterfall - we can imagine how perfect this place will be on our next visit.

Again - passes to the nearby beach club were available and the hotel was gated and guarded and locked tight each night at 10 if that sort of thing is an important thing to note (A key is provided for entry and egress by the wooden gate at night).

Playa Del Carmen is a growing, vibrant community that has both an exciting and relaxing vibe to it co-existing simultaneously - and the north end of Playa is our favorite.

Thanks once again to the Luna Blue!
We will definitely be back!

  • Liked — Great North-End location. Incredible Value. WiFi.
  • Stayed December 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
17 Thank Tim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

939 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    620
    244
    41
    23
    11
See reviews for
78
539
73
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
midhurst ont
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2006

We (2 couples) stayed at Luna Blue for three nights starting Dec 1 2006. What a great hotel. Our rooms were clean and comfortable and the staff and management were terrific. Their dinner suggestions were terrific too. They wen't the extra mile to make our stay enjoyable. It's a short walk to the ocean, but the hotel has made arrangements to include chairs and umbrella in their daily rate with a beach club that's right on one of the nicest stretches of beach in the area.
We woul d certainly love to return to Luna Blue in the future and highky recommmend this hotel.

  • Liked — ambiance
  • Disliked — no pool
  • Tips/Secrets — have a great time
  • Stayed December 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank lakd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2006

We stayed there for a couple of nights and it is a lovely place but the experience was a bit of a mixed bag for us. We stayed in the treetop room and it was spotlessly clean and a great size. The shower has a major problem in that it was a mere dribble. Worst shower I've ever experienced and a really long wait for any hot water to come through. (That part wasn't the problem, the dribble was though).

The garden is really attractive and there's a nice atmosphere there. As quiet as the hotel is though, the close by neighborhood is not. It's just a half block to 5th Avenue and although there were fewer people out and about in this area, the bars/restaurants still play really loud music that does reach the hotel. Even my husband asked for ear plugs. A great place, near a nice beach and the fun of 5th Avenue, but not for sleeping.

Stayed December 2006
Helpful?
8 Thank Tartanhabit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Ontario
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2006

Just returned from our second two week stay at the Luna Blue and we were so happy with it that we have already booked another three weeks next spring. We stayed in one of the rooms with a full kitchen so we were able to eat breakfast and some lunches at the hotel. We like this combination of eating in and dining out especially when we are staying for two or more weeks.

Tony and Cheri have struck a great balance with a clean, comfortable, reasonably priced hotel in a perfect location. They have also assembled a very friendly and helpful staff from the maids to the guys on the front desk. Well done.

  • Liked — Friendly staff
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed December 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
12 Thank Trekker3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
seattle
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2006

The Luna Blue exceeded our expectations. What a great value in the "up and coming" Playa Del Carmen.
Beautiful setting, clean, simple rooms, great downtown location, and the use of the beautiful beach club "Mamita's".
The owners, and staff are personable and will give you the best tips for dining, day trips or for whatever else suits your fancy.
We plan on another vacation there very soon!

  • Stayed November 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank vashon76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, Tx
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2006

If you are looking for a great little place to stay in the "Little Italy" part of Playa Del Carmen, then this is the place for you. It's not on the beach, as others have stated, but this really was not a problem. We had the Treetop tarrace with the big patio and enjoyed our time out and in the room very much. The freedom to try different restrants in the area was a major plus. We will never go to an A.I. again. The owners wil make you feel at home, and the rooms are just right for the price. You really can't go wrong with this little gem in Playa.

  • Stayed November 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beachluver2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yokohama
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2006

We stayed Luna Blue from 21st to 27th Sep.
Other reviewers says how wonderful this hotel is, I couldn't agree more. So I'll just show you the details of the room we stayed.

Our room(superior) which is on the 2nd floor and is in front of the garden, is very clean and has enough space to put our baggage.
Inside this room, there was a double bed, a small refrigerator, a water tank and a safety-deposit box.
In addtion, there's a confortable balcony which is facing their garden! I really enjoyed reading a book at this balcony, when I wake up too early. Because of the jet lag, I wake up at 5 or 6 a.m.
And maybe because of this garden, we were never bothered from the noise from the street.

There's a small store and laundry in front of the hotel, large super market (10 minutes walk) and many restaurants on 5th ave.
The hotel is not located on the beach front, but don't worry. There's a beach club where you can get 5 minutes walk and you can use their palapa and beach chairs free!

We spend a great vacation at this hotel, we really thank Toni, Cheri, and especially the man who stays at daytime at the front desk. He gave me some useful information and explained in plain language (we're not fluent in English).

One regrettable thing is that a half of the garden is under the construction. (but we were never bothered from the construction noise)
I think this construction is to make a garden patio or something like the place where the guests can share their experiences of travel and useful information.
If I stayed after this was finished, I could enjoy a chat with other guests/staffs in a relaxing atmosphere...

If you're looking for an inexpensive hotel where you can really relax, Luna Blue is the best place to choose.

  • Stayed September 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank MichiruK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.3 mi away
Casa La Galeria by Bunik
Casa La Galeria by Bunik
#85 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
196 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sunrise 42 Suites Hotel
Sunrise 42 Suites Hotel
#59 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
276 reviews
0.6 mi away
Barrio Latino Hotel
Barrio Latino Hotel
#67 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
655 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Casa Ticul
Hotel Casa Ticul
#61 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
828 reviews
0.0 mi away
BRIC Hotel & Spa
BRIC Hotel & Spa
#54 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
472 reviews
0.0 mi away
Soho Playa Hotel
Soho Playa Hotel
#34 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Luna Blue Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luna Blue Hotel

Property: Luna Blue Hotel
Address: Calle 26 Norte, between 5th & 10th Ave, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#14 Best Value Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#15 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#46 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#59 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Luna Blue Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luna Blue Hotel is located in Playa del Carmen's popular north end, three short blocks from the beach and half a block from the restaurants, shops and nightlife of 5th Avenue. This boutique hotel features palapa-covered balconies, a sunken tropical garden swimming pool, a lush garden, and one of the most popular bars in town. The hotel offers free use of four beach clubs and various local discounts. American owners and their bilingual staff offer you personal attention during your stay in paradise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Luna Blue Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luna Blue Hotel Garden
Luna Blue Playa Del Carmen
Luna Blue Hotel Mexico/Riviera Maya - Playa Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing