We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Can't get enough of you LUNA BLUE!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Luna Blue Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Luna Blue Hotel
Ranked #87 of 213 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Can't get enough of you LUNA BLUE!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2007

A FANTASTIC little gem in an amazing place.. although initially hesitant about a standard room in a hotel that seemed to be charging half the price of all others in Playa over the New Years period, we shouldn't have been concerned. When we first arrived and saw no TV there were raised eyebrows but to be honest you don't need it as there is just so much to do in Playa that by the time you get back to the room you just want to go to bed! The hotel is pretty much bare bones. Just 18 rooms, no bar (though one is coming in 2007 we were told), no restaurant (but plenty a few metres away!) but what makes it so wonderful is that it is small (it doesn't take 10 mins to walk from your room to the main lobby like in most resorts), Gennaro and Jimmy at the front desk are extremely helpful and the towel animals from the maids are WOW WOW WOW but the best part of the hotel are the owners Tony and Cherie. Staying at Luna Blue is like staying at their house. They create a laid back welcoming feeling as soon as you arrive, which lasts throughout your stay. They take the time to find out how your day was and are full bottle on all to do and see. Ask Tony to point out the best beach in the Caribbean (it is amazing)! Highly recommended!!

  • Liked — The owners
  • Disliked — the basic room
  • Tips/Secrets — green chartreuse!
  • Stayed January 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Mand06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

939 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    620
    244
    41
    23
    11
See reviews for
78
539
73
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2007

We stayed at the Luna Blue for one week, 12-22 - 12/29, and we had a great time! The superior room was clean and cozy. The staff was friendly, the location was perfect (not too close to any loud nightclubs) but right off of 5th Ave. where there are many restaurants to choose from for breakfast , lunch, or dinner. The complimentary use of the Mamitas Beach Club was also nice, otherwise, the only way to get the use of an actual beach chair in Playa is by paying to use one at a beach club. Mamitas was only a 5 minute walk away. We will definately stay here again on any future trips to Playa!

  • Stayed December 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
7 Thank rebalou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
38 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2007

After spending several months in Playa del Carmen and in various hotels there -- I can comfortably say that I need to look no further for hotel accommodations when in Playa Del Carmen. This place is it!!

Every room I have stayed in (I've been a guest a few times) was very well presented, clean and with a very comfortable bed & pillows. The bath towels smelled fresh and were soft (unlike many old, 'sand-paper' like towels i've had in other hotels).

the sundeck (upstairs; available to all guests) is a wonderful retreat from the crowded beaches and an ideal place to lounge with a great book. Beach chairs, shade and hammock provided. I also enjoyed that all rooms look onto a open-aired central garden area--offering a tropical array of plants and allowed for pleasant interactions with other hotel guests (great not to have your typical stale hotel hallways).

the location of the hotel is well situated away from the noise on popular 5th AVE (half block away) yet still conveniently located near many great restaurants (Quinta Passion), coffee shop (Cafe Corazon) and bars (all in a 3 block radius of hotel). its proximity to Mamitas Beach club (5 min walk) is also a great advantage.

The Staff....WOW!! They were all extremely friendly and full of advice on where to eat, shop or where to go on day trips (Tulum and playa El Paraiso). i was very impressed with their knowledge of the region. Furthermore I appreciated that they didn't steer me towards the "touristy" restaurants; instead towards smaller establishments that offer a delicous meal and a more unique dining experience.

all in all - a very HIGHLY RECOMMENDED hotel!!

  • Stayed November 2006, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
9 Thank carlos4040
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Quivira, Kansas
Level Contributor
50 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2007

We stayed at Luna Blue for one week. Unfortunately, it rained heavily for over half this time. However, we had lots of books and were comfy in the large room which had complete cooking facilities and purified water. We enjoyed the small balcony and hammock. The hotel is very close to a huge Mexican supermercado. The noise on Saturday night from a nearby party was pretty bad but that's to be expected. Tony and Cheri patiently gave us great restaurant suggestions and answered all questions. The only improvement I can suggest is for another mirror in the room, as with several females staying together, the bathroom mirror is not enough. We have already recommended this hotel to friends and would certainly stay there again. Also, Tony arranged our transportation from and to the airport. Thanks Cheri and Tony for being informative hosts.

  • Liked — Price, big room with kitchenette
  • Tips/Secrets — It's really easy to prepare breakfast/lunch if you're economizing.
  • Stayed December 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Biorntraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2007

Stayed at two hotels during our stay...one of which was Luna Blue. This absolutely can't be beat for the price. From the check in to the room, to the peace and quiet of the beautiful jungle courtyard, this place is simply a paradise in the making. Tony & Cheri have made this their labor of love and it shows in all the details of the Luna Blue. You will feel like you are staying in the home of these folks...pull up a chair...you're one of the family!! We WILL be back! Thanks so much to T&C and their thoughtful staff!

  • Liked — excellent service
  • Disliked — must be willing to climb stairs
  • Tips/Secrets — book the Love Nest!!!
  • Stayed December 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
8 Thank xqqzme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenwood, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2007

This review is long over due. My wife and I stayed at the Luna Blue for the first time last May and what a difference a hotel can make when it is run by such wonderful and friendly people like Tony and Cheri. That trip was about our 20th visit to Playa so we feel we can speak from experience. In fact, we enjoyed our stay at the Luna Blue so much we took a chance and booked the entire hotel in October. We went home and told our friends about this little gem in paradise and in no time we had 34 travelers to fill all the rooms.. This group was a mixed bunch of people, some had been to Playa before but stayed at All Inclusives, some had stayed at big resorts as well as small hotels and for some it was their first time to Mexico. It came as no surprise to us that everyone of our group was smitten with the Luna Blue, Tony and Cheri and the entire staff. They bent over backwards to accomodate our group's every need. They even tried to build a palapa bar and get a provisional liquor license so our group would have a place sit and visit and enjoy a cocktail or two. They worked very hard on this but due to local red tape they were not allowed the provisional license. What other hotel would actually try to build a bar for a group of guests? This is what is so amazing about this friendly place. Without a doubt all of our friends who stayed that week with us will be return guests. We will be returning for our 3rd visit along with two other couples in a few weeks (Jan28th) who will be staying here for their first time but I am sure not their last.
Haveing traveled extensively in Mexico I do not rate a hotel a 5 Star because the water pressure in the shower is amazing or that your shoes are polished for you each day or someone fetches you a drink with a flower in it. I consider a hotel to be a 5 Star when you are greeted and treated as long time friends, when your room is clean, when the atmosphere provided by your hosts takes you away from the real world and enables you to truely live the Mexican and Caribbean way of life for a few short days. For the same price as a dingy budget hotel in the States you will be enjoying what a true 5 Star experience should be. So put on your flip flops and flowered shirt and let Tony and Cheri and the good folks at the Luna Blue show you the real Playa del Carmen. The best part is that with all the money you save not going to an All Inclusive you can stay an extra week at the Luna Blue, eat and drink at all the cool places Tony recommends and still have money left over to put on your next trip to the Luna Blue. Take my word for it , once you stay at the Luna Blue you will be back. Thank you Tony and Cheri for all the hard work getting ready for our group. See you in a few weeks.

Stayed October 2006
Helpful?
9 Thank AlandLouann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Black Hills
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2006

We stayed once again at the Luna Blue December 1st through the 11th, and the Luna Blue - in our opinion - only keeps getting better and better.

On our previous stay, it was just a few months post-Wilma when we stayed in Playa Del Carmen last January. I'm happy to say that the lushness of the Riviera Maya area is back, and the Luna Blue is no exception. The Garden Courtyard area looks fabulous. The new waterfall area adds a nice touch to the look and sound of the hotel. The finishing touches and improvements to this 18-room hotel continue. We stayed in an upper balcony room, #34 and the new remotely controlled AC unit was nearly noiseless, you could set the degree temperature you would like plus it has a timer. Nice touch.
And, once again our rooms were kept spotless the entire stay. The staff of the Luna Blue is incredibly friendly, helpful and capable.

As the weather did not exactly cooperate with our plans, we ended up spending quite a bit of time relaxing on our balcony listening to the rain, reading (my wife read 7 books in 10 days), doing crossword puzzles and surfing the Internet. To this - I would like to say "Thank You" to the Luna Blue for making WiFi access available. Both in our room and on the balcony the signal was more than capable to keep a steady connection - good for checking your Fantasy Football scores, e-mails, catching up on the news of the world or back home etc. There is a new addition to the hotel's amenities coming soon, an on-site palapa bar complete with the most beautiful hardwood bar and soon-to-be installed (if not already) swing seats. The owner, Tony, said his desire is for this to be a nice romantic retreat on-site for an evening's nitecap, or whatever. It SURE would have come in handy on some of those rainy days and nights so that we wouldn't have had to make our way out in the driving rain for a quick adult beverage. And with the lighting of the Courtyard and the sounds and lighting of the waterfall - we can imagine how perfect this place will be on our next visit.

Again - passes to the nearby beach club were available and the hotel was gated and guarded and locked tight each night at 10 if that sort of thing is an important thing to note (A key is provided for entry and egress by the wooden gate at night).

Playa Del Carmen is a growing, vibrant community that has both an exciting and relaxing vibe to it co-existing simultaneously - and the north end of Playa is our favorite.

Thanks once again to the Luna Blue!
We will definitely be back!

  • Liked — Great North-End location. Incredible Value. WiFi.
  • Stayed December 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
17 Thank Tim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.3 mi away
Casa La Galeria by Bunik
Casa La Galeria by Bunik
#85 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sunrise 42 Suites Hotel
Sunrise 42 Suites Hotel
#59 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
0.6 mi away
Barrio Latino Hotel
Barrio Latino Hotel
#67 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 655 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
BRIC Hotel & Spa
BRIC Hotel & Spa
#54 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 473 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Casa Ticul
Hotel Casa Ticul
#61 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 828 reviews
0.0 mi away
Soho Playa Hotel
Soho Playa Hotel
#34 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Luna Blue Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luna Blue Hotel

Property: Luna Blue Hotel
Address: Calle 26 Norte, between 5th & 10th Ave, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#13 Best Value Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#15 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#46 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#59 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Luna Blue Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luna Blue Hotel is located in Playa del Carmen's popular north end, three short blocks from the beach and half a block from the restaurants, shops and nightlife of 5th Avenue. This boutique hotel features palapa-covered balconies, a sunken tropical garden swimming pool, a lush garden, and one of the most popular bars in town. The hotel offers free use of four beach clubs and various local discounts. American owners and their bilingual staff offer you personal attention during your stay in paradise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Luna Blue Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luna Blue Hotel Garden
Luna Blue Playa Del Carmen
Luna Blue Hotel Mexico/Riviera Maya - Playa Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing