We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We love Luna Blue!!”
Review of Luna Blue Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Luna Blue Hotel
Ranked #98 of 211 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 January 2007

My family & I spent a week at The Luna Blue over Christmas. This was our first stay at a non-AI hotel....& it was incredible! We now cannot imagine staying anywhere else! The hotel is absolutely charming. The front desk & housekeeping staff are by far the most helpful & friendly staff we have met in all our travels. We had a kitchenette room that was fully equipped with everything we needed.....even a blender!:) The A/C is remote controlled & keeps the room nice & cool...Our room was quiet & very clean & the bed was the most comfortable we have slept on. We had a very nice sitting area with a hammock & we spent many evenings relaxing out there....They also have wireless internet which is great. The gates are locked at 10pm (don't worry you get a key) & there is a night watchman on all night....very safe! The gardens are absolutely beautiful....you have to see them to appreciate their beauty.....

The Luna Blue is just a minute walk to 5th Avenue & many many restaurants, shopping & bars. As well it is a short walk to the beach....Mamitas Beach Club passes are included so you get a complimentary palapa & lounge chairs! The North End of Playa where the hotel is located is our favorite part of town.

The main thing that sets Luna Blue apart from the rest are the owners Tony & Cheri. They are the nicest people you could meet! They are so genuinely concerned with making your visit to Luna Blue special. This was our first Christmas away from home & I have to say that the warmth & hospitality we felt at Luna Blue made us feel right at home!

Thank you Tony & Cheri & staff at Luna Blue!! We cannot wait to see you again! :)

  • Stayed: December 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
20  Thank T0mmygurl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (947)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

762 - 768 of 947 reviews

Reviewed 11 January 2007

We (5 of us) stayed in two rooms at the Luna Blue from Dec 29th thru Jan 7th. We had a marvelous time. On New Years Eve we even partied with the two desk clerks which made us feel even more at home and safe during our vacation. The hotel is clean with beautiful towel arrangements every day. Tony and Cheri go out of their way to give you good travel advice and helped us rent a car and visit Tulum, Akumal, and a Playa Paradaiso with ease. We will all return soon and plan to recommend Luna Blue to everyone who travels to Playa.

  • Stayed: January 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Kristez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2007

From Dec 1 to Dec 10 we enjoyed our stay at this wonderful hotel. After years of staying at large all inclusive hotels in this area, we felt it was time to branch out and try something different and more exciting. The Luna Blue proved to be the perfect place to make this change. The room wasn't fancy or deluxe but we immediatly felt right at home. Our room was on the ground floor tucked away in the corner of their large tropical garden. The room was spotless. No TV and we never missed it. We had a kitchenette which we used every day for breakfast and lunch. We'd go to Mamita's beach Club in the morning, it's about 3 blocks away, and return when we were hungry for lunch. Loved the croissants and the avacados that we bought locally. Mamita's was fun too and the best part is that the Luna Blue provides daily passes for the sun chairs and a palapa. In the evening we would walk down the street and have dinner at one of the many retaurants in the area. Our favorites, Babes Noodle House and El Baretto just steps away. Try the shrimp!!
Our room had 2 ceiling fans which seemed to do the job well. We seldom turned the air conditioning on. The room was cleaned daily and we never had a complaint.
We made a few trips to Tulum to visit the wonderful, less crowded beaches there. The drive was about an hour long but it's worth the trip. This hotel is a lot more reasonable than the hotels on the beach in Tulum.
The Luna Blue is owned by Tony and Cherie and they also make the experience enjoyable. Whenever we saw them they would stop and chat like we had been their best friends forever! This genuine, warm way of treating their customers was really appreciated and is also why we can hardly wait to go back next December.

  • Stayed: December 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank ken1912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2007

My family and I enjoyed our stay at the Luna Blue. Tony was very helpful with suggestions for places to eat, get coffee, whatever. If you like steak, ask him about the butcher place where all the locals go. He mentioned this to us, but we had a couple of vegetarians in the group - blah, but it sounded great - a nice steak, baked potato, and either soda or beer for around $7. The staff is extremely friendly and helpful. Rooms were always clean and really enjoyed the towel art. I'd give it 2 thumbs up.

  • Stayed: January 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank CNorman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2007

We stayed here over new year and the hotel is great. The rooms are a good size with big balconies, and all the staff are really friendly. If I had to say something negative I would say that the water pressure is quite poor. However, it's still a great place to stay and the location is excellent, I would recommend people to go.

  • Stayed: January 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jimmyjazz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2007

I have been to Playa del Carmen on three occasions, always staying at various places. I will now stay only at Luna Blue Hotel (in this price category), which serves not only as a place to rest your head, but a home away from home. The entire hotel is very clean, simple, organized and the staff is very helpful. The hotel is at close proximity to the beach, and we loved going to the Mamitas beach club every day. It is located in a very safe neighborhood, with wonderful shops and restaurants nearby. Mostly, I appreciated the friendly staff - the owners are WONDERFUL, Jaime, and even the housekeeping, they make you feel at home. The owners also have great suggestions of restaurants to try, and even helped us book a car. I will certainly return to this cozy, beautiful, lush hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2006, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank AmyWestHollywood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2007

Our family of 4 found Luna Blue and all of its staff to be terrific. It was homey, immaculately clean, very comfortable, convenient to shops, restaurants and the beach, and surprisingly quiet considering Playa del Carmen was busy the week before Christmas. The staff gives GREAT restaurant recommendations and assisted us in every possible way. One of our best memories of a fabulous week.

  • Stayed: December 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank travelinfools4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.0 mi away
BRIC Hotel & Spa
BRIC Hotel & Spa
#46 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
509 reviews
0.5 mi away
Los Itzaes Hotel
Los Itzaes Hotel
#92 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
157 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Boutique Posada Mariposa
Hotel Boutique Posada Mariposa
#118 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Casa La Galeria by Bunik
Casa La Galeria by Bunik
#95 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
215 reviews
0.0 mi away
Coco Rio Playa del Carmen
Coco Rio Playa del Carmen
#102 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
308 reviews
0.7 mi away
Barrio Latino Hotel
Barrio Latino Hotel
#72 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
692 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Luna Blue Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luna Blue Hotel

Address: Calle 26 Norte, between 5th & 10th Ave, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#15 Best Value Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#15 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#46 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#66 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range: £42 - £139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Luna Blue Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luna Blue Hotel & Bar. We bought a small Hotel and have turned it into one of the most popular boutique hotels around. Our small hotel is lush, intimate with 18 beach rooms, designed for travelers and a perfect to stay for more than a few days to explore the wonders and beauty of this magical area. Experience the real Mexico, . Only at the Luna Blue Hotel you will feel like home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Luna Blue Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luna Blue Hotel Garden
Luna Blue Playa Del Carmen
Luna Blue Hotel Mexico/Riviera Maya - Playa Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing