We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“over rated”
Review of Hotel Vista Caribe

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Vista Caribe
Ranked #107 of 209 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“over rated”
Reviewed 17 April 2014

Great location but have really let this hotel run to the ground,the staff were hopeless,maybe they were just uneducated and couldn't read a clock for wake up calls.The tv in the room didn't work and the room was musty smelling ,the toilet was not flushing properly and the shower didn't drain.Don't waste your time or money with this hotel as it didn't show any professionalism.Needs a complete clean out of staff and a total refirb.I don't like giving bad reviews but this hotel simply doesn't deserve a good review.

Room Tip: DON'T, Go to another hotel instead!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank adam047
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

265 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    73
    128
    41
    11
    12
See reviews for
67
128
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
birmingham
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2014

This hotel is in a great position but is let down by the total lack of any management. The staff appear to have lost all interest in the hotel. It is reasonably clean but need maintainance vedry badly. The breakfast restaurant next door is good though.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chriscBirmingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meriden, Connecticut
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2014

My husband and I are frequent travelers to Playa del Carmen and try to give a different hotel a chance each time. This trip it was Vista Caribe. My husband called the hotel 3 months prior to our arrival and with the help of Google Earth, zeroed in on the hotel and asked that they reserve a specific room on the first floor by the pool. The gentleman he spoke with was very accommodating and assured him that we would have that room on our arrival. We arrived around 2:00 p.m. and were informed that our room was not ready which we expected since we were early. They stored our luggage and asked that we come back in 45 minutes. We were happy to do so, and when we returned to the hotel, a different person was behind the desk who informed us that the room we had reserved 3 months ago was not available and that they had nothing on the first floor. We were told that the only available room was on the 3rd floor. Although we were not happy with this news, we lugged our luggage up to the room with little help from the staff. The room was grim looking and dumpy and not what we had expected at all from the website. At this point, the person who brought us to the room had left, so we lugged our belongings back to the lobby and haggled with the gentleman at the desk to get our money back. We felt poorly treated, promised a room that they failed to reserve and in general, had a horrible experience at the Vista Caribe. We have been happy at virtually every hotel we have stayed in in Playa until this experience. I have read other glowing reviews about this hotel and looked forward to a great stay but this was not our experience. Be aware that they do not reserve specific rooms for you and that some of their staff are rude and uncooperative.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Pami1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridgend south Wales U.K
Level Contributor
91 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights. As we wanted to spend the last couple of days in the Playa del Carmen. A small Mexican style hotel, a nice large room we had a junior suite, sitting area, a king size bed Very good a c & 2 ceiling fans. There is a fridge & microwave. We took our own travel kettle, it goes every where with us. We had a hot breakfast next door & had a evening meal there which was nice & a good price. In the hotel grounds is a small swimming pool,sun bathing deck & a few plants. We had a nice stay there We would go back again. Also a few steps away from the beach, & just of 5th Ave, where there is plenty of places to eat & drink.

Room Tip: There isn't a lift, if you have a problem with stairs ask for a ground floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank worldtripper2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Celaya, Guanajuato, Mexico
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2013

stayed in there a few years ago, nothing fancy but everything worked fine: a/c, fans, hot water, etc. got a suite 4 feet away from the pool. If you are looking for a hotel to stay all day at, this might not be the one. right in 5th avenue and a block (small block, 20 ft) walk to the beach

pase unos dias en una suite hace varios años aqui. el hotel no es lujoso , estilo rustico mexicano con lo necesario. pequeño, callado, nada lujoso. si tu presupuesto no es muy alto o no buscas lujos, para el precio es lo mejor que al menos yo conozco.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hernan_CS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Playa del Carmen, Mexico
Level Contributor
100 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2013

i have read reviews that seem to down this place, but bottom line if you are looking for a budget hotel with a good a/c, hot breakfast and right on 5th ave this is it. this is not all inclusive and you get what you pay for. the staff were great and very attentive, and the little bar/restuarant was great and the cook Ricardo will cook you anything you ask for, the bar staff were great and it was a great time on a budget, and it was clean with fresh towels every day i was there and bug free, and there was great views of 5th ave and the beach. i will return!!!!! dave was great and the whole staff were very nice, i would highly recommend!!!!!

Room Tip: just be nice when you check in and it will get you a long way with the staff!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andrew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level Contributor
125 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2013

This hotel's website would make you believe that you will be staying in a delightful romantic boutique hotel. The website photos must have been taken ten years ago. It is a typical run down hotel. We had cockroaches in the room, an A/C unit that broke and we sweltered in the heat all night before being moved to another room for the next night. About the only good thing I can say about this place is they had pretty good Internet service if your room is directly over the reception area.

Room Tip: If you want decent wi-fi, get room 1217.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Skig8r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Posada Sian Ka'an
Hotel Posada Sian Ka'an
#90 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
277 reviews
0.0 mi away
Xtudio Comfort Hotel by Xperience Hotels
Xtudio Comfort Hotel by Xperienc...
#69 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
243 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Mimi del Mar
Hotel Mimi del Mar
#133 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Pelicano Inn
Pelicano Inn
#140 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
291 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kinbe Hotel
Kinbe Hotel
#105 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
630 reviews
0.1 mi away
Playa Maya
Playa Maya
#100 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
655 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Vista Caribe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vista Caribe

Property: Hotel Vista Caribe
Address: Calle 6, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #107 of 209 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Vista Caribe 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Vista Caribe Hotel is located few steps from the beach in the most beautiful and amazing sea port of Playa del Carmen, just in middle of the Mexican Riviera Maya. The hotel has 35 comfortable and clean rooms, junior and master suites. The swimming pool is sorrounding by a tropical garden. The famous Fifth Avenue is just 20 meters from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U. and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Vista Caribe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vista Caribe Hotel
Hotel Vista Caribe Mexico/Riviera Maya - Playa Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing