We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The worse hotel i ever being” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Vista Caribe

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Vista Caribe
Ranked #102 of 212 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Cancun, Mexico
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The worse hotel i ever being”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2011

The Hotel is overprized for what it offers and for the location and the Rooms, the personal is rud and a bunch of liers, their service is beyond bad. The Restaurant food is not good and the service it's very slow, the space is tinny and sometimes you have to share the table with more guests and it's expensive fot what they have to offer. I got stoled in my own Room, the cleaning lady took my mom's swetter and the charger from my cell phone that it as in one of my suitcases that it was inside of the closet, when I called the manager there was no manager in charge, I have to wait for more than an hour for him to show up and at the end I was the liar according to him, he told my mom that how she dare to blaim the cleaning lady if she had losted her swetter and that maybe I left my charger somewhere else. He asked to check my suitcases and the ones for my mom and he refused to take responsability, he calls us thiefs and a pair of gold diggers. After that he refused to do something about and for other comments we heard that this is not something new. I would never ever in my life had an experience like this. I payed way to much money for what I received and they range theirselves as a 4 stars Hotel, ja, in their dreams.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AlecitaOrtiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    67
    124
    38
    9
    12
See reviews for
61
122
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2010

My mother, daughter and I checked into this hotel and asked to see the room. We were taken to one rooms, but then after we paid for 5 nights, we were given a completely different room that smelled moldy and was very noisy. The bed was also super uncomfortable and hard! It was impossible to sleep there - it was horrible.
We decided we wanted to check out right away and move to a new hotel. When we tried to check out and move to a new hotel, the manager became irate and told us "too bad" since we had paid ahead. He yelled at us and was really rude and defensive - we got scared.
We tried to compromise with him and even pay for 1 night plus a 20% fee if he would only refund us the other 4 nights. He signed an agreement that he would pay us back, but we had to come back another day since there was "no money to put back in out account". Every time we returned, he was "not around", according to other employees. There was no refund policy posted, nor is there a refund policy on their website.
We are now in a credit card dispute with this hotel and we are still in the process of recovering our money.

What a nightmare. Avoid this hotel at all costs!!!!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank allipants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alberta Beach
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2009

We found this hotel via a website called I" Love Playa" and it turned out to be great! The manager, David, was most accomodating right from initial contact for reservations thru to until we left after a 12-day stay. We stayed in a Master Suite with another couple and the only thing we thought lacking was perhaps a hotplate - and a few more glasses and tableware would have been great but we went and purchased plastic utensils anyway.

The hotel location is between 5th Ave (pedestrian walkway) and the ocean on 6th St. It's a great location for beach and shopping, kept very clean and have a person at the desk 24/7. The room key is left here when you are out. The hotel does not have a restaurant on site but guests get a free, limited item breakfast at the small restaurant next door. Prices for the room are inclusive of the breakfast and taxes.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank theoledp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merion Station, PA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2008

Went to Playa del Carmen for Spring Break '08 with my husband and 9 year old. We could only stay here for one night even though we had reservations for 3 nights. It was the loudest hotel we've every stayed in. The only reason we stayed one night was because we were exhausted from traveling. Although we barely slept because of the rudeness of the other guests who were literally screaming, dropping beer bottles or splashing wildly in the pool all night long. These were not college kids either, they were Mexican families on vacation. The management did nothing to ask them to quiet down as far as I know and they were very rude to us the next morning when we told them we were leaving. Do not stay here! There are plenty of other small hotels in Playa for the same price range.

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — everything
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gbswish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iowa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2008

We stayed at the Vista Caribe from Feb 19 thru Feb 27 for eight nights in a junior suite room with a king bed. The first two nights we didn't have A/C but with the help of the ceiling fans and the fact that we weren't in the room during the day we managed to get by until they fixed it. After that, the A/C worked great. Our junior suite was on the ground floor and had an elevated walkway above the pool about a regular sidewalk width wide. No room to sit right outside our room in chairs and no private terrace. But we adapted and would mainly sit around the very nice pool area after returning from the beach around 4 pm and have a happy hour with other guests who were staying at the hotel. You could bring your own beverage or buy beer for 15 pesos each at the restaurant where they served you the included breakfast that came with the room. The front room in our junior suite measured about 13' X 20'. It had a sofa, big counter with a stainless steel sink, a couple bar stools, and a bigger mini fridge which could be set very cold. The bedroom with the king bed measured about 13 feet square and had a 19 inch color TV mounted on the wall on which you could get a large number of channels. Probably about 10 English speaking ones included. Bathroom with shower was decent sized and we had a closet, dresser, and an in room safe.

We have been to Mexico about 15 times. Three times to Playa. And you always get some kind of culture shock when you first check in. In almost all cases, and this includes 5 star all inclusives, we have found little things that should be touched up and repaired or repainted. The Vista Caribe was no different. But the tile floors and the entire room were cleaned pretty well and we settled in and had a very enjoyable stay. The King Bed is very firm. But we slept very well and had no back problems. We had no problems with noise in our room.

Beach towels were available at the front desk. And since the Vista Caribe did not have beach chairs on the beach, we would walk a short distance and get beach chairs at one of the nearby beach clubs. Our favorite was probably Yan and Tens. Beach lounger with thick padded mat and umbrella was 50 pesos. But the beer price of 35 pesos for 2 cervezas was cheap (that is less than $1.75 per bottle). Regular chairs and a table set up on the beach with umbrella were available at no charge.

A couple great restaurants to try are La Pesca (great Imperial Shrimp stuffed with cheese and wrapped with bacon for 130 pesos) on 30th Avenue across from Mega. El Fogon is a great choice for authentic Mexican. We split one huge order of Chicken Fajitas which included baked potato, some guacomole, frijolles (a delicious bean soup) and tortillas which only cost 70 pesos. Our entire bill for the meal and a beer each was around $10 USD. We had some great Italian at Rolandi's. Meals were around $10 to $12 USD. But the bottle of Evian water that my wife got cost 39 pesos. My bottle of beer was 28 pesos.

All in all, we had a very comfortable enjoyable stay at this very clean hotel. We paid a pretty reasonable price for what we got. I would stay there again. But it would be nice to be at a hotel directly on the beach.

  • Liked — Size of the clean junior suite
  • Disliked — Not directly on the beach
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Stomin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2008

Our trip was from February 1 to February 17, 2008. We stayed at (and wrote reviews for) the following hotels (if you are interested in the others):
Hotel Vista Caribe, Playa del Carmen, Mexico
Doubletree Cariari by Hilton, San Jose, Costa Rica
Cabinas Espadilla, Manuel Anotonio, Costa Rica
Garden Court Hotel, San Jose, Costa Rica
Days Hotel - Greenspoint, Houston, TX, USA

My husband, 9 year old son, brother and parents stayed at the Vista Caribe from February 1 to February 8, 2008. This was our first trip to Playa del Carmen, but we’ve been to other Mexican destinations.

This is a small hotel with a very convenient location. It is a half block walk to the beach and a half block the other way to 5th Avenue. The court yard and the swimming pool are well kept, although quite small and right next to rooms. There is really no where to sit that you aren’t right in front of someone else’s door. The “swim-up bar” is physically there, but not in use, although guests can take their own drinks out to the area and sit under the bar roof which is basically just used as a patio now.

The rooms are in serious need of TLC. There were broken tiles in every room; most of the furniture had seen better days and the fridges looked pretty old (although they worked). AC was sketchy as there are only 3 condensers for the whole hotel (my bro is an electrician and was looking at this stuff) so some days it worked pretty well, others not so much. A few gallons of CLR would work wonders to unclog and clean lime encrusted showers & sinks. Our shower had mould starting on the ceiling and we could see where it had been painted over (instead of cleaned first) in other showers. However, the beds were clean and comfortable and they did come in and clean up the rooms each day. The redeeming feature was the room configuration. We had a quad room which was two levels, a queen bed and bathroom on each level – nice if you’ve got kid(s), a triple room with a main queen bed and a second double bed with a partial wall in between for a bit of privacy and a double room which was a standard hotel room with one queen bed.

The hotel does not have its own restaurant which was a problem during the election as we weren’t allowed to buy alcohol for the day before or day of the election unless it was within your hotel (we were unaware of the election and no one filled us in when we arrived or we’d have been prepared!) The breakfast offered by the restaurant next door as part of the hotel’s charge was OK for a day or two, but limited in terms of selection. We found a place a block to the south on 5th Avenue that offered a breakfast buffet where we started going later in the week. There are lots of other restaurants around though, so finding food isn’t a real problem. We loved Casa Agua, Madre Tierra and Playasia. Not so fond of Big Lobster or El Rancho right next to the hotel. Later at night, Bourbon Street was good for US music and the 2 for 1 place half a block south on the west side of the street was good for live Mexican music and drinks (my memory is fading).

One challenge of not being right on the beach is lack of chairs/shade when you visit the beach. If you are beach front, your hotel will have those, if not, you can’t use them and there is no public area where chairs/umbrellas are offered for rent that we could find. While the sand is soft and comfy, bringing your own umbrella would be handy.

The location is about four blocks north of the bus terminal so if you catch a bus from the Cancun airport to Playa, you could easily walk to the hotel. It is also about six or seven blocks north of the ferry to Cozumel which was handy for day trips.

Since we’ve been to Mexico before, we did not arrange any tours through either the hotel or through one of the tour vendors. We took the ferry to Cozumel one day and rented scooters to explore the island. There will be lots of people offering scooters and other stuff when you get off the ferry. However, if you go for a walk first and then go looking for those guys when there is no ferry, they can be hard to find. Scooter/car rental places are about two or three blocks east from the ferry exit and then north if you need to find them on your own.

We also went snorkelling in Cozumel and went with one of the companies who actually had a guy on the ferry advertising. All the “glass bottom boats” which seem to be the common fare are fairly similar, so if you want something bigger/different, you’d probably have to check with a tour operator.

We rented a car one day and went south along the highway to Xel-Ha. It was a nice place, but not cheap and snorkelling wasn’t anywhere as clear as out in the open ocean. Arrive early so you get your money’s worth as they close at 5:00 p.m. I believe entrance was $80/pp and didn’t include the submarine, underwater walk, dolphin stuff or basically all the really “cool” stuff they advertise. It did include all food and drink, so again – arrive early so you can take advantage of the big buffets and free drinks (the wide open Corona tap was a favourite!)

We rented a car another day as well and visited Tulum to the south. We enjoyed this visit to the area better than a previous one on a guided tour as we weren’t herded around like sheep and forced to visit gift shops. Having a guide book about the ruins would be helpful. Remember to bring your bathing suit so you can enjoy the beach at the bottom of the cliffs.

I don’t think we’d return to this hotel unless its gets a good cleaning and a few repairs. However, for the price and the room configuration, it worked well for the type of group we had.

Happy to answer any questions.

  • Liked — Location & two story rooms
  • Disliked — Cleanliness
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MoretaCalgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, Ontario
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2007

We spent 16 nights at the Vista Caribe in March 2007. We loved having a 2 bedroom unit as we were travelling with our son, age 11. We had a basic kitchenette, living room, dining area and 2 large bedrooms, each with a king size bed and balcony. The room was immaculate, although the furnishings in the living room were in need of an update. The breakfast every morning was great, eggs, omelettes, pancakes all cooked to order. The location of this hotel is excellent, half a block to the beach or 5th Ave. Rooms were surprisingly quiet at night, in spite of all the activity on 5th Ave. This hotel is an excellent value for families or 2 couples travelling together. Our son really enjoyed the pool, which he had all to himself most of the time.

  • Liked — room size, location
  • Disliked — dated furnishings
  • Stayed March 2007, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank wilsonclan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Posada Sian Ka'an
Hotel Posada Sian Ka'an
#96 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
0.1 mi away
Xtudio Comfort Hotel by Xperience Hotels
Xtudio Comfort Hotel by Xperienc...
#79 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Mimi del Mar
Hotel Mimi del Mar
#122 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Popol Vuh
Popol Vuh
#127 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Cielo
Hotel Cielo
#28 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 808 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kinbe Hotel
Kinbe Hotel
#107 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 606 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Vista Caribe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vista Caribe

Property: Hotel Vista Caribe
Address: Calle 6, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#16 Best Value Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Vista Caribe 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Vista Caribe Hotel is located few steps from the beach in the most beautiful and amazing sea port of Playa del Carmen, just in middle of the Mexican Riviera Maya. The hotel has 35 comfortable and clean rooms, junior and master suites. The swimming pool is sorrounding by a tropical garden. The famous Fifth Avenue is just 20 meters from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Vista Caribe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vista Caribe Hotel
Hotel Vista Caribe Mexico/Riviera Maya - Playa Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing