We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Barrio Latino Hotel
Ranked #71 of 211 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 8 June 2013

The room is simple and clean, but the bathroom floor was extremely slippery. The floor was still soapy after they mop and I almost slipped. I stayed in the first room so it was noisy and everyday at 8 a group of people would be talking at the front desk. I highly suggest that you get a room away from the front desk and get the room with AC and pay a little more because it is humid and there are a lot of mosquitos. They offer free wifi, but it is slow. However, it is in a great location, not too far from the restaurants and night life.

Room Tip: Get a room away from the front desk.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Amanda T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barrio-Management, Guest Relations Manager at Barrio Latino Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2013

Thanks Amanda!
It is right if you suggest that rooms farer from the reception might be quiter, and I think that you had the idea of a noisy room because you didn't rent the room with the a/c service and you might have decided to leave the windows open.
In fact, all the rooms have a normal a/c minisplit unit together with a ceiling fan, but when you decide to book a Budget rate, and you don't want to upgrade when at the Hotel, you get less comfort for a lower price . All together, I suggest to go for the a/c.
The floor also needs a while to dry, it is humid here.
I often enjoy travel, and I still have to pay to get a wifi service almost everywhere, which I think it is unacceptable nowadays and it is why I push the owner to expand the wifi networks and related services. This year we are working with two lines, eight wide range routers and a dedicated network to the Apple users.
What we cannot decide is the speed of the network, which is 10G (not the lowest) : but I understand that if you come from a New York ish experience you could consider it low.
You must also consider that every client carry between 1 and 3 devices, and I have been told that if one is slow, all the newtork will work slower.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (692)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

162 - 168 of 692 reviews

Reviewed 30 May 2013

I was there in october 2012, the hotel is very well located, the people at the reception was really friendly, the romos were ok for the Price and the bathroom are really nice decorated. Iwasn't lucky and there was a party from people of Israel celebrating or christhmas or easter I can't remember. They did so much noise all night I couldn`t sleep.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scubaandsurf78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barrio-Management, Guest Relations Manager at Barrio Latino Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2013

Thank you dear guest and please accept our apologies for what happened.
The co worker in charge of the night you mentioned was a new one and is not working with us anymore .
We prefer to protect the client's sleep and suggest our most vibrating clients, to vibrate in the clubs .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013

I did a ton of research before I booked here last summer. The people and the management are great. The rooms are simple with style. This place is very secure and safe. They are very helpful and even have free international calling and wifi. It is just far enough off the strip to have a quiet nights sleep and if you can walk about a block to Sandra's restaurant you can pick up a great meal for 2 for under 10$ USD also look across the street and you will find a great Italian restaurant. Go here stay play here. Your not going to beat the value.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bubbaskyjacker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barrio-Management, Director of Sales at Barrio Latino Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2013

Grazie mille!
The Barrio Latino área is named Casco Viejo being the oldest of Playa. We could say old compared to the boom of residents and investors after 1995 (from 10k to 220k) , but we should say Ancient if we think of the Mayan ruins between the área named PlayaCar and Calle 14 (almost 80, mostly unknown to the tourists but we are here to share the map) . I am pretty sure that we, the italians, arrived after 1995 , but now you will find 13000 citizens from Italy side by side with new residents coming from 47 different Countries and every área you could mention of Mexico.
Great weather, White Sandy beaches , a lot of great mexican food and also pizza and pasta... enough excuses to visit and maybe stay forever.
Well then, if you want to listen to a conversation between a Mayan, a German, an Italian, and someone else who wants to join the club. visit Calle 4 and say hi to the Barrio Latino staff!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2013

Its one of the cheapest hotels in Playa and I was a little insecure booking this hotel - specially because I was with my mom. But she loved it and so did I: A/C rooms, complimentary breakfast, free parking, silent street. But still in a great location to walk everywhere in Playa.

Dont expect hotel beds or big bathrooms or soft linen, but everything is just comfortable enough for the price. If you've been to Brazil on a budget, it's just like a pousada, the kind of cheap accommodation you find at brazilian beaches.

I guess that having the Caribbean just two blocks away makes you want to stay outside the hotel all the time, so I wouldn't care for more than Barrio Latino offers. I was just what I needed!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pereira01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barrio-Management, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Barrio Latino Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2013

Dear friend from Sao Paulo,
you are part of the important number of very welcome tourists from Brazil now visiting the Barrio Latino Hotel.
We are very pleased to have you here and help you enjoying the area. Our goal is to offer a clean and safe accomodation at good rates, and we have been working on it since 1997 when the Riviera Maya with the big all inclusive Hotels didn't exist at all.
Playa del Carmen have to be lived from the inside, and choose a different accomodation is, in my opinion, just a mistake.
About our services, enjoy the low key ambiance. Mattresses seller deliver the same model to the five star hotel of a big spanish chain, and together with the pillows get high evaluation among our guests, while the free calls to Brazil might be an exclusive service of the Barrio Latino, and wifi is built over a 7 router web plus a new option for the Apple devices.
See you next visit !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2013

I spent a weekend on Barrio Latino Hotel with my boyfriend! The bed was big and really confortable with nice matress and clean sheets! Just the courtins of the window was not dark enough, others clients could see inside the room. We could use the parking area what was a plus!!! The room has a hamaca where you can lay down, read a book or just relax! The location is very good, near to the 5a Avenue, but not near enough to bother you with the noise! I would come back!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Keila K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barrio-Management, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Barrio Latino Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2013

Thanks Keila!
I liked your nice words, will focus on your comment about the curtains and when needed will fix it with a darker one.
Gracias!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2013

Found this hotel online and decided to take a chance, as the price and location were right. Was pleasantly surprised because I had not realized that there would be a fridge in the room and continental breakfast was included.
Clean, quiet, close to everything -- I could not have asked for more! Great beds and pillows (something not always found in Mexican hotels in this price range). Good size rooms, and the hammock on the balcony was a real treat. I was able to spend evenings reading under the palapa with my own beverages, delightful!
As a single woman, I felt very comfortable especially knowing there was someone at the Front Desk 24/7. Marco was especially helpful with bus schedules and even helped me check out hotels online for my next destination.
I would definitely recommend this place, and would return again!

Room Tip: some rooms are on the ground floor while others are higher up (although I think the hotel is only 3...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SusanC507
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barrio-Management, Guest Relations Manager at Barrio Latino Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2013

Thanks Susan!
We are very pleased to have solo travelers here and help them as much as we can.
The hotel is kind of tailored to independent travelers and lucky the ones who are able to enjoy a full holiday on their own!
Thanks for mentioning Marco's efforts to provide updated indications of the area.
I read your suggestions about the rooms, thank you : Hotel is just two levels, but could be important to add that main differences are between a Superior room and a Caribbean Room , which could be with a double or a king size bed (also different areas) . Budget is only a different rate. Everyone face the garden area, and are sixed for one or two guests.
See you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2013

We stayed at this Hotel just this past week. I highly recommend it to the traveler that is looking for a clean, quiet, inexpensive, comfortable hotel that is ideally located. We walked everywhere in just a few minutes. The rooms are cleaned very nicely and the beds and pillows are comfortable. We had a very nice little fridge for beers.. The morning coffee and bread is really a nice way to start the day. The staff and the manager and his wife are really the nicest people I've ever dealt with. They really work very hard to provide a pleasant place to stay. I also have to mention the two dogs that are often at the front desk. Little Mafalda and her daughter Lola. Sweet little Cocker Spaniels. They don't want people to feed them but they let me give Lola dog biscuits and she would run up to our room to visit. So sweet.

Room Tip: I would strongly suggest paying a little more for a room with AC. Gets pretty humid without it. We s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Curtis A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barrio-Management, Guest Relations Manager at Barrio Latino Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2013

Gracias Mr Curtis,
Monica my wife - together with Mafalda, Lola and I thank you very much for your stay. Give our bests to your wife also, you both were very kind and so friendly with all of us.
We were surpirsed when we saw pictures of misses Lola and Mafi visitng your room ahah!
Well thank you for your visit!
About your tips to other travelers, let me suggest to use the A/C also, I agree with you : all rooms have the minisplit unit installed but a Budget rate is available sometimes and when you book it, remember you will have to pay an extra if you change idea and want to use it together with the ceiling fan which is everywhere , also, off course.
I also read a complaint of another guest in another page, where answers are not allowed, so let me explain that we do not switch off the air conditioning during the night. If it happened to a guest, it might have been because a former guest of the same room set via the remote control , a timer. The same timer should be set as wished by the new guest, and we can help with it.
Happy Spring!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.6 mi away
Casa La Galeria by Bunik
Casa La Galeria by Bunik
#95 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
215 reviews
0.2 mi away
El Acuario Hotel
El Acuario Hotel
#91 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
266 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Plaza Playa
Hotel Plaza Playa
#65 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
BRIC Hotel & Spa
BRIC Hotel & Spa
#53 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
509 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Hacienda del Caribe
Hotel Hacienda del Caribe
#121 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
331 reviews
0.9 mi away
Apart Hotel Casaejido
Apart Hotel Casaejido
#34 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
675 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barrio Latino Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barrio Latino Hotel

Address: Calle 4 Between Av 15 & Av 10 | Colonia Centro Beach Area, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#7 Green Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#70 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range: £33 - £119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Barrio Latino Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It is the perfect spot for independent travelers looking for location and services, together with great rates. Green Leaders Platinum, Certificate of Excellence 2015, Among Best Prices in Playa del Carmen, is also offering a light breakfast ( including coffee, cereals, fresh green juice, bakery bread, yoghurt, marmelade etc) . Wifi updated this year with new antenas and providers is fast and free, and a limited parking area is available to our clientes. Best rates and owner contact available via the official web page. The management is Italian and this great property is open since 1997. The area of the Hotel, known as Casco Viejo, is perfect to get to everywhere in a short walking distance, and go back and relax using your own hammock, while fridge in room safe and air conditioning will help to pumper you and spend as smart as possible your holiday budget . Restaurants of the area are local, and international, serving fresh food. You will also provide quality life to a web of local producers and workers, when staying at this small but unique official Hotel,and please follow our tips to lower the impact of tourism : no need to look for a vacation rental apartment at these unbeatable rates and with all this history running in Playa del Carmen, just try it! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Barrio Latino Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barrio Latino Hotel Mexico/Riviera Maya - Playa Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing