We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wish we could have stayed longer”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Barrio Latino Hotel
Ranked #71 of 214 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Wish we could have stayed longer”
Reviewed 25 July 2014

The hotel was great. Our plane was canceled, but the hotel had everything arranged to hold our reservation for us. The people at the desk during the day and the evening spoke impeccable English. They gave us a list of restaurants in the area with good food, and it was very helpful. The breakfast was simple, but nice. Both my boyfriend and I wish we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
4 Thank TwoKidsOnAnAdventure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

661 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    326
    243
    57
    18
    17
See reviews for
44
378
81
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014 via mobile

Spent a fantastic week here. Staff are super friendly and helpful. Short walk to 5th ave. Great Italian food right across the road. Room was clean and comfortable, aircon was awesome, this place really was the best. Will stay again for sure.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank Luke B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

The place has a good location. You avoid the noise of the city's club/bars. Close to the beach. Very clean. This is a place you want to stay at if you are doing your own thing outside. Meaning if you need a clean and secure place to sleep. The staff is very informative. I had free calls to the USA. There is authentic italian restaurant just in front. They have parking. Basic breakfast. What impressed me the most is the administrative staff if very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FannyVillalobos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

I came to PDC with my girlfriend, mostly for diving. Barrio Latino turned out to be the best location for our needs: Playa Scuba dive shop around the corner, 1 minute to the fifth, 2 minutes to the beach, car rental around the corner (check every scratch!), good coffee bar and an italian restaurant on the other side of the street, 4 minutes to the ferry, a laundry down the street, an ATM in front of the hotel, wifi for free.

We booked the superior room & king size bed directly from their website and stayed for 18 days. (Judging from the other comments here on tripadvisor i would advice to compare prices before booking with a retailer site.)

Our room was clean (as in european standard) and the bed was good as well. The A/C and fans allowed a good climate (we prefered 25°C and a slow fan speed). The hotel is rather quiet, but you still meet likewise minded people (usually couples of any age with a more active lifestyle who want to see more than the bars and beach). The breakfast is a courtesy. For the safe you will have to deposit a collateral (e.g. ID card).

Most outstanding was the nice and helpful service: Stephano gave us much good advice on the surroundings and possibilities for trips. If you need something he will help you or find out who could help you.

If you want to try some mexican restaurants which the locals go to as well ... ask Stephano for 'El Pirata' (try ceviche, guacamole and fries) and 'El Fogon' (good pico de gallo, nachos+pastor+queso and grilled vegetables and meat, take some friends with you). Stephano could also fix you up a trip to Isla Contoy, Sian Ka'an or the other destinations.

If you are the active kind of person Barrio Latino is a top choice for you. If you want to stay at the pool and like all inclusive, choose a resort.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank GermanDiver82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

My husband and I chose Barrio Latino based on the excellent TripAdvisor reviews. We wanted a comfortable room in a boutique hotel with parking space and knowledgeable staff, we got much more that.

Each room has their own hammock and small outdoor space where to hang wet towels and swimsuits. We stayed in a superior room, king size bed on the second floor right above the front desk. Inside, there is a ceiling fan and an airconditioning unit to cool off, as well a refrigerator, a desk, and a chair. The closet space is open and hangers are provided. There is no TV, but who needs it when you are spending the whole day at the beach or in a cenote. The Wifi worked consistently. The beds are very comfortable. The bathroom is of medium size, with a ceiling fan to help get rid of the humidity after taking a shower, and a hair drier. They provide complimentary shampoo, shower gel and hand soap.

The overall hotel decor is quite nice, just like the pictures. It has a patio in the center and a palapa where breakfast is offered every morning. This one includes tea, coffee, pastries, yogurt, juice and cereal, just enough to get the day started.

Hotel staff is really, really kind from our housekeeper, Miguelina (who made all sorts of figures with the towels) to the frontdesk personnel. Manuel, the night-time receptionist was incredibly nice; Marco knows all the good, cheap places around the area, ask him what you want to eat and he will send you to a great place; and last but not least, Steffano knows EVERYTHING about Playa and the excellent places to visit, especially where the locals go.

Room Tip: Choose a room in the back to avoid street noise, although this wasn't a problem for us, it could...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank GabbiSanReq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
136 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

This is a small hotel (about 24 rooms) about two and a half blocks from the water. Rooms are small but comfortable with a good bed, refrigerator, safe, and good size bath with shower. This IS an older building and it does have some less than perfect finishes, especially in the bath. That said, I found my room very clean, the paint is new and nicely done. The garden is lovely and there are hammocks on the patio outside each room. Rooms have good AC (it might get turned off while you are out during the day, so don't worry if you come back and it's off, the desk attendant will flip the power back on.) I think the people who had complaints were probably not nice to the staff, because we made friends with everyone and got fantastic service, with big CLEAN white fluffy towels every day (even folded into animals on our bed). It is mostly quiet, although Fri and Sat night there is a bar on the next block that is a little loud in the evening, but it did not go on late or keep us awake. There are no TVs and they discourage drinking in the hotel. There is internet and it is pretty consistent, but it just manages streaming, so if you are a power user you might be unhappy, but I got radio broadcasts and streamed netflix with very limited problems, tv broadcast and youtube were iffy.

The manager and evening desk attendant, Stefano, are Italian and very nice and helpful. Stefano will help you with tours at good prices and even runs one on his day off, (which I took and had a nice day with only a small group (5) from our hotel). Carlos serves a continental breakfast and cleans the rooms, please be nice to him, your service will be excellent. (I can't believe I need to tell international travelers this, but it is very clear that some need a reminder.) Even saying "Gracias" goes a long way, although my husband is a native Spanish speaker and I can manage, the staff at these establishments really appreciates small attempts at being friendly.

This is a very good hotel for the price and the location is quite good. 5th Ave is a block and a half away and the beach one block further. There are restaurants and shops even closer if you want something fast, and Mega is about 15 minutes walk (yes there is a Walmart, but please do not patronize them, they are doing just as much damage to Mexico's local businesses as they did in the US, in fact please don't patronize ANY international businesses in Playa del Carmen, if you can avoid it, there are lots of good local hotels, restaurants and shops to choose from.).

Room Tip: I doubt that room location matter in such a small hotel, they all back in the same direction which i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank RebeccaSTSummers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014

Stayed for a week in June in a superior king bed room on the second floor. Super comfortable, huge bed and spacious room. Took a while to get hot water in the shower though and a kettle for making your own tea/coffee would have been handy but other than that no issues. Very good value for money. They did mess up payment for one of the nights but these things happen and it was resolved the next morning.
All rooms face the inner garden / courtyard.
Continental breakfast served between 8-10am was included in the rate which was handy. Free wifi.
3 minutes walk from 5th Av and the beach, really good location. Friendly staff. There are 2 small dogs around the reception area too.
There is a fresh juice place next to the hotel called Los Gaxpachos who does amazing juices so cheap. Also a taqueria on the corner across the street from the hotel (go right when coming out of hotel and you will see it), they do the best tacos for no money at all.

Room Tip: Rooms on the lower floor right in front of the breakfast area may be disturbed by music from there f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SaraNW3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
1.1 mi away
Sunrise 42 Suites Hotel
Sunrise 42 Suites Hotel
#65 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 289 reviews
0.6 mi away
Casa La Galeria by Bunik
Casa La Galeria by Bunik
#87 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
0.9 mi away
Apart Hotel Casaejido
Apart Hotel Casaejido
#36 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Luna Blue Hotel
Luna Blue Hotel
#91 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 940 reviews
0.2 mi away
El Acuario Hotel
El Acuario Hotel
#89 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
0.2 mi away
Illusion Boutique Hotel by Xperience Hotels
Illusion Boutique Hotel by Xperi...
#42 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barrio Latino Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barrio Latino Hotel

Property: Barrio Latino Hotel
Address: Calle 4 Between Av 15 & Av 10 | Colonia Centro Beach Area, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#12 Best Value Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#70 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Barrio Latino Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It is the perfect spot for independent travelers looking for location and services, together with great rates. Green Leaders Platinum, Certificate of Excellence 2015, Among Best Prices in Playa del Carmen, is also offering a light breakfast ( including coffee, cereals, fresh green juice, bakery bread, yoghurt, marmelade etc) . Wifi updated this year with new antenas and providers is fast and free, and a limited parking area is available to our clientes. Best rates and owner contact available via the official web page. The management is Italian and this great property is open since 1997. The area of the Hotel, known as Casco Viejo, is perfect to get to everywhere in a short walking distance, and go back and relax using your own hammock, while fridge in room safe and air conditioning will help to pumper you and spend as smart as possible your holiday budget . Restaurants of the area are local, and international, serving fresh food. You will also provide quality life to a web of local producers and workers, when staying at this small but unique official Hotel,and please follow our tips to lower the impact of tourism : no need to look for a vacation rental apartment at these unbeatable rates and with all this history running in Playa del Carmen, just try it! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Barrio Latino Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barrio Latino Hotel Mexico/Riviera Maya - Playa Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing