We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Recommended.”
Review of The Carmen Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Carmen Hotel
Ranked #4 of 210 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Halifax, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 296 helpful votes
“Not Recommended.”
Reviewed 7 October 2011

My wife and I had stayed here on two previous occasions and had a nice quiet time. Not this time. We arrived just as the hotel was filling up with a youthful Swiss soccer team in town for a few matches. They were drunk, noisy and generally obnoxious and literally trashed the place during our stay. The management did nothing to prevent this sordid behavior and we were kept up at night by the din. I cannot recommend this establishment and shall not be staying here again.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Mort S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phillip G, Owner at The Carmen Hotel, responded to this review, 20 February 2017
Please see the new Carmen Hotel on the site of the old Alhambra Hotel located at 8th and the Beach right in the middle of Playa del Carmen. We opened in late December to great reviews. The Carmen Hotel features a Keel Restaurant and Beach Club and Deck 5 a Pool and Sky Bar, 5 levels above the Beach; the only Pool and Sky Bar on the beach.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

408 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    295
    75
    24
    7
    7
See reviews for
42
172
25
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mexico City, Mexico
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2011

i satayed there foo a week n i get an amazing vacation.
Rooms are clean and nice. very well located in a nice beach with no rocks and very clean.
The food it`s great they have a restaurant ( zabor ) that is not only for the guess of the resort also for walkers and ppl who joins the beach. So you can be sure that you`ll have a great menu and variety. Many kinds of Ceviche and seafood.
The staff are friendly and warm to all. Waitters alwas can help and i just get relaxed and happy.

I really recomend this small hotel to get relaxed and taned.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Cokingafair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phillip G, Owner at The Carmen Hotel, responded to this review, 20 February 2017
Please see the new Carmen Hotel on the site of the old Alhambra Hotel located at 8th and the Beach right in the middle of Playa del Carmen. We opened in late December to great reviews. The Carmen Hotel features a Keel Restaurant and Beach Club and Deck 5 a Pool and Sky Bar, 5 levels above the Beach; the only Pool and Sky Bar on the beach.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2011

Great beachfront location close to 5th Avenue shops and restaurants. Spacious and comfortable room. Breakfast and other meals can be had at tables on the beach.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kathy_rodgers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phillip G, Owner at The Carmen Hotel, responded to this review, 20 February 2017
Please see the new Carmen Hotel on the site of the old Alhambra Hotel located at 8th and the Beach right in the middle of Playa del Carmen. We opened in late December to great reviews. The Carmen Hotel features a Keel Restaurant and Beach Club and Deck 5 a Pool and Sky Bar, 5 levels above the Beach; the only Pool and Sky Bar on the beach.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frankenmuth, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2011

This is our 4th year at the Alhambra and we had another great week. We stayed in room 12 for 4 years straight. It is a street side with balcony and ocean view. We went ahead and reserved the ocean front room for next year. We love the Alhambra!!!!! I don't know what the folks from Ottowa are talkin about because we have never found a speck of dirt in the four years we have stayed. We were also there in February and the staff was as nice and attentive as ever. The front desk people all speak english to us all the time. The maid can not speak english but we have never had a problem. There was a group of young very loud and rude soccer players that were asked by the hotel staff to quiet down after many complaints from the other hotel guest. I am suspicious that may explain the very bad review they have given. The food and drinks are great. The cheviche is the best in Playa and the breakfast is included. I have never heard anyone complain about the food or drinks, in fact it is one of the reasons we stay there. Our first year in Playa we stated at the Aventura Mexicana and although the hotel is nice the food was bad and it was too far from the beach. We had stumbled upon the Alhambra while walking down the beach and fell in love (Especially with the Margaritas) The Maquito Beach Hotel is next door and is very nice but it is also expensive. If you want to waste alot of MONEY on fancy furniture go there. The food, drinks or location are no better.

Room Tip: On the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank sunnydaze62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phillip G, Owner at The Carmen Hotel, responded to this review, 20 February 2017
Please see the new Carmen Hotel on the site of the old Alhambra Hotel located at 8th and the Beach right in the middle of Playa del Carmen. We opened in late December to great reviews. The Carmen Hotel features a Keel Restaurant and Beach Club and Deck 5 a Pool and Sky Bar, 5 levels above the Beach; the only Pool and Sky Bar on the beach.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2011

We had the nicest room in the hotel. We had the only king size bedroom over looking the water. Our room was next to the yoga studio and we had a balcony which wrapped around the hotel from the beach to the side entrance. It was clean, hat hot fresh water showers, breakfast was included and delicious. The location was in the center of everything. Our hotel helped us book a scuba diving trip, although fun...I would recommend diving closer to Cozumel. The only thing a little annoying was the club next door. We kept the windows open for the breeze and it was a bit loud.... but we could have turned the air conditioner on if we were really bothered. The hotel is a bit expensive for what you get, but it appears Mexico is just as expensive as the US these days. You must try El Fogon restaurant if you are in Playa del Carmen!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelfoodiefromHamp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phillip G, Owner at The Carmen Hotel, responded to this review, 20 February 2017
Please see the new Carmen Hotel on the site of the old Alhambra Hotel located at 8th and the Beach right in the middle of Playa del Carmen. We opened in late December to great reviews. The Carmen Hotel features a Keel Restaurant and Beach Club and Deck 5 a Pool and Sky Bar, 5 levels above the Beach; the only Pool and Sky Bar on the beach.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2011

Never again. We stayed in this hotel in Feb this year, and it was probably the worst hotel we experienced in Playa. The management and staff are rude, and refuse to speak English to tourists. The room was old and filthy, and the food was a joke. We moved out after the first night just across to Mosquito Beach Hotel and it was night and day difference. I would never recommend this dump to a friend

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sheriff64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phillip G, Owner at The Carmen Hotel, responded to this review, 20 February 2017
Please see the new Carmen Hotel on the site of the old Alhambra Hotel located at 8th and the Beach right in the middle of Playa del Carmen. We opened in late December to great reviews. The Carmen Hotel features a Keel Restaurant and Beach Club and Deck 5 a Pool and Sky Bar, 5 levels above the Beach; the only Pool and Sky Bar on the beach.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitby, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2011

My friend and I spent 4 nights at this lovely little hotel from Feb 11-15. Everything about this hotel was exactly what we expected, and then some. Both the front desk and on-site restaurant service was impeccable - thank you!! The hotel's decor is very pretty and the rooms are simple and super-clean! Beds are quite firm as is common in Mexico, but apparently my body likes that since I slept very well! The food at the restaurant was delicious. Anyone who loves seafood MUST have their ceviche - I particularly enjoyed the Caribbean one with mango in it. I'm craving one just writing about it! Beach chairs were readily available, unlike the fight for chairs at the big all-inclusive resorts. Couldn't ask for a better location - on the beach, but a stone's throw away from 5th Ave. I could go on & on....but if you have any questions, feel free to contact me for more....

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wanderingvan1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phillip G, Owner at The Carmen Hotel, responded to this review, 20 February 2017
Please see the new Carmen Hotel on the site of the old Alhambra Hotel located at 8th and the Beach right in the middle of Playa del Carmen. We opened in late December to great reviews. The Carmen Hotel features a Keel Restaurant and Beach Club and Deck 5 a Pool and Sky Bar, 5 levels above the Beach; the only Pool and Sky Bar on the beach.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
5.2 mi away
Fairmont Mayakoba
Fairmont Mayakoba
#10 of 210 in Playa del Carmen
3,972 reviews
0.8 mi away
Mahekal Beach Resort
Mahekal Beach Resort
#27 of 210 in Playa del Carmen
2,727 reviews
4.9 mi away
Banyan Tree Mayakoba
Banyan Tree Mayakoba
#3 of 210 in Playa del Carmen
2,078 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Palm at Playa
The Palm at Playa
#24 of 210 in Playa del Carmen
1,466 reviews
0.2 mi away
Thompson Playa Del Carmen
Thompson Playa Del Carmen
#14 of 210 in Playa del Carmen
760 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Royal Playa del Carmen
The Royal Playa del Carmen
#11 of 210 in Playa del Carmen
16,025 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Carmen Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Carmen Hotel

Property: The Carmen Hotel
Address: 8 Calle Norte, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico (Formerly Hotel Alhambra)
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#43 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#51 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Carmen Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Carmen Hotel, an adults only Boutique Hotel located on the Beach in the center of Playa del Carmen, steps away for the World Famous 5th Avenue. The Carmen features Keel Restaurant and Beach Club and Deck 5, a Pool and Sky Bar, 5 stories above the beach offering the best views on all of Playa del Carmen! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers and LoveHolidays so you can book your The Carmen Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alhambra Playa Del Carmen
The Carmen Hotel Mexico/Riviera Maya - Playa Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing