We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great individual hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Las Golondrinas
Ranked #102 of 211 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Reviewed 11 April 2011

We booked over the internet after a bit of research. Wanted something smallish, not in the main drag and something looking less like the huge commercial anonymous resort type hotels nearer the beach where you could've been anywhere in the world. We stayed for about 2 weeks and used it as a base to get out and about interspersed with recuperative days spent on the beach!

We were not disappointed!. The hotel had a Mexican feel about it, typically Mexican vibrant colours, full of little individual nooks and crannies to sit and read, dip in the [choice of] 2 beautiful pools in either full sun or shade depending on what you wanted and the time of day. Everywhere was immaculately clean and spotless, all the staff were friendly and helpful with a sense of humour. Although the hotel doesn't have it's own restaurant, breakfast was no problem as it was served in the adjacent restaurant by exchanging a voucher given at reception - breakfast was great, fresh fruit, scrambled eggs, bacon, ham, pancakes, toast, cereal, juice, tea or coffee.

The hotel is situated on a busy corner, about 5 mins from 5th Ave and about 10 mins walk to the beach. We didn't eat at the adjacent restaurant other than breakfast as there's just so much delicious variety and diversity to suit all pockets within easy strolling reach. The nearest ATM and Bank is 5 minutes down the road.
We didn't notice the traffic noise if there was any! All the rooms open onto a pretty internal open courtyard or walkways and the building is 3 stories high [ground, 1st and 2nd floors]. Our room was on a corner, it was light and airy as it had windows on both elevations, some of the other rooms we glanced in whilst passing looked as if they could be a bit dark. Our suite had 2 rooms [but only 1 with air con] each with a queen size bed and with a central shared shower room. It had a safe [deposit for special padlock at reception], a TV but we didn't watch it as we were usually out and about. The only down side of our room/s was other than the beds and a chair at the desk there was no comfy chairs to sit in to read or just slouch for a bit. There is also free internet access, free iced drinking water from a cooler by reception, a giant superstore just round the corner for bits and pieces and an amazing Italian deli/small restaurant [Sabrinas] for takeaway delicious rolls, sweet and savoury pastries for lunch or for trips out.

The hotel do organise trips, but we didn't try them and accessed the sights independently, so I can't comment about them or their value. If you like to explore a country a bit less like a tourist, then I'd recommend using the "Communale" which is a sort of cross between a taxi and a bigger bus or coach system. They are a fleet of [I think?, State owned?] minibuses which run from Playa to the surrounding larger towns, local people use them to get to/from work, they run all day from early in the morning till late at night and run about every 10-15mins, they only cost about the equivalent of £2 each for a 45 min journey. There are dozens of stops along the highway, you just flag them down and if there's spaces on board then the driver will stop, if not you've only got a short wait til the next one. We experienced a selection of these from very clean, neat, newish with air con to older hot vehicles where you just have the windows open!. Quite a fun, safe way to travel! Ask at reception where the "Communale" Playa pick up point is - their livery is white van with light blue or red flash along the sides, great way to get to Tulum or Cancun and back again [not to the airport - no room for big luggage].

General Mexico travel tip here! - It didn't affect us, as we only had Pesos, but we noticed that all the State/Government ancient archaeological sites will only accept Pesos, not USD. Many of the more expensive restaurants appear to accept either currency, most also appeared to want to know where you're staying if you use a credit card, debit cards seem to be OK.

The only down side to the hotel and that's being really picky! would be that we weren't expecting such a hard bed! It took us a couple of nights to get used to it, after which we both slept like logs!

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room if possible.
  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank wendyjs59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (465)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Las Golondrinas
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

65 - 71 of 465 reviews

Reviewed 7 April 2011

My husband, my teenage daughter and I spent a week at Hotel Las Golondrinas. We enjoyed our stay, but the hotel does have some issues.

The up side: The hotel is pretty, and it's clean, with one exception (see below). Our room was pretty quiet, although there was a bit of street noise in our daughter's room. The staff is very friendly. We had a package that included breakfast at the attached restaurant--a special menu with fruit, yogurt, cereal, toast, pancakes, scrambled eggs, bacon, ham, juice and coffee. It was good and plentiful, if not gourmet. Breakfast isn't served until 7:00 am, which was cutting it close for a couple of our scheduled tours, but it worked out. The hotel is just a few blocks from the beach. It's only about a block to the bank (to change money), and it's less than a block from the Mega Comercial (Playa's version of WalMart), which was handy when we needed essentials. We were also close to quite a few good, inexpensive restaurants (Un Sobrecito del Fogon, HC) and a more expensive, but very good seafood place, La Pesca. We also enjoyed being away from "the strip," in a less touristy part of Playa.

The down side: When we arrived, we were put into a room with a mildew smell that about knocked us over. I contacted the staff, and we were immediately put into a new room, but it troubles me that they would assign anyone to such an unlivable space.

Our new room was actually a two-bedroom suite, which was nice, except that only one room had an air conditioner, so the second room stayed pretty warm even when the first was chilly. There was also only one very small TV, though that wasn't an issue for us. Though it was a two-bedroom, the rooms were small and there was only one straight-back chair, so we couldn't really "hang out" in our room comfortably. (The weather was very hot, and the hotel lounge wasn't air conditioned, so it would have been nice to be able to relax in a cool room once in a while.) This being Mexico, the beds were, of course, very hard. My husband and daughter liked them; I didn't.

The walk to the beach, though short, can be a bit hair-raising, as there are several busy intersections, and drivers do NOT yield to pedestrians. (One corner sometimes has a traffic cop, but he only looks after the cars, and leaves the pedestrians to fend for themselves!) We actually kind of enjoyed the adventure, but you really do have to look, look, and look again.

The hotel offers a reduced-price admission to the Las Mamitas beach club, but the club is a bit of a walk, and when we got there, the umbrellas were all taken, so we didn't use it.

We booked one excursion through the hotel, and that was a mistake! I had asked the desk if they could recommend a private tour, so that's what I thought we were getting--but it was a _group_ tour. (I could have gotten a better and less expensive group tour elsewhere.) The tour company, Easy Tour, picks up tourists from various hotels and delivers them to a central location, where they are sorted onto different vans going to their destinations. It was time a time-consuming and confusing process (especially since the driver who picked us up didn't speak any English), and a few guests felt that they didn't get the tour they had asked for. We did have fun on the tour, but we didn't really get what we thought we were paying for.

All in all, we had a great vacation, though I'm not sure I'd choose this hotel again.

Room Tip: If your room is musty, ask for a different room!
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mamabookworm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2011

Stayed here for the first 5 nights of our holiday, booked on the internet and it was ok for the price. Initially we were quite happy, the hotel is basic but very clean, rooms are dark and no one uses the pool as it is in the middle of the hotel. Can be very noisy at night as some guests sit around the pool and chat noisily, this echoes around the rooms. The “beach club” is just a few chairs under an umbrella. Much cheaper and nicer to go to one of the lovely beach bars where you can use the facilities with no charge only the price of a drink.

On returning to the hotel for 1 night after doing some travelling they would not give us the room rate advertised outside but agreed to charge us the same rate as we originally paid. On returning home it appears they have charged us nearly twice as much as agreed. When paying either book on the internet or pay in cash.

This hotel is just ok if you are passing through.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank OspreySwansea_Wales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2011

My partner and I stayed here from Dec 19th - January 4th for the holidays. We didn't know what to expect as neither of us had ever stayed here.

We arrived really late, as our flight in Cancun didn't land until midnight. There was someone waiting for us at the front desk who helped us with our immense amounts of luggage (scuba gear). There's no elevators, so if you are of limited mobility, I would recommend requesting a room on the first floor.

We wanted to upgrade to a suite while we were there, so we'd have a kitchenette available to us, but the front desk staff said they couldn't accommodate us with one for the entire duration (we'd have to move to a suite for a few days, then back to a regular room, then back to a suite). So we decided to just go with a regular room and we'd buy a styrofoam cooler for the beer! On our first morning out, we returned to find they had found us a mini-fridge to be used while we were there for no extra charge! How nice!

The staff made some of the cutest and most inventive towel art I've ever seen. They do a great job at keeping the place spotless. Book with them for the taxi ride to and from the airport, though. If you do the private car, you'll save almost $80 usd over the service from the airport.

They have free wifi available and a small computer area in the lounge. The wifi is really good, it just resets itself every 20 minutes or so, so don't plan on streaming any video while you're there. ;)

There's two pools available. While I was studying in the lounge area beside the main pool, I noticed lots of little lizards and geckos in the foliage. They're so cute! You need to keep your eyes peeled for them. The pools are hardly ever used though, since the hotel is a 5 minute walk to the beach! Not only that, but of course it's only 5 minutes to the famed 5th ave shopping district. What a vibrant little area.

It's also just a block away from the Mega Pelican, if you need to shop for sunscreen or snack foods or beverages. It's a very convenient location.

I only ate at the restaurant once, but wasn't a huge fan. I would take that with a grain of salt, considering I'm a really picky eater.

Oh, and if you scuba dive, check out the phantom divers dive shop, I did my open water cert with them and they are wonderful! They do on-request centoes, shark and night diving.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ApatheticAlbertan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2010

This hotel was immaulate,and was gorgous. The lobby was like walking into a beatiful museum. the tile and decorations were perfect. the court yard was beautiful with natural flora and fauna, the different shaped pool with perfect blue tile was very appealing. The rooms were equipped with air conditioner and ceiling fans and the tile was like glass so clean and beautiful. Front desk staff very knowlegable of area and attractions and restaurant on site was delicious and also clean and friendly.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wallers3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2010

I book my reservation online for 4 adults and I got an standard room instead of the suite, this wasn't the worst part we got the std. room the air conditioner was broke, the specifications said 2 queen size beds, we only get one queen and one individual and we were 4 people . The host at the reception has to do everything he fix our air condioner, our bathroom, our door , the "submanager" Lic. candy or something waas soo busyy to solve our problems....Well not a good hotel at all

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Vanholls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2010

Location:
For 11 nights I stayed at Las Golondrinas: the hotel is 5 min walk to the beach and 1 block from the main tourist street of 5 Ave. There are various restaurants where the locals eat scattered on the same road and around, there is a huge supermarket/mall called Mega 1 minute walk on the same road. Summary: ideally located away from the main noise of 5 Ave but central to everything you need.

Services:
As I needed to study Spanish, I asked for a quiet room and this was obliged. The linen is washed daily unless you place a sign for 'save water' on the bed. The rooms are thoroughly cleaned, and overlook the central courtyard/pool. TV, hairdryer and safety deposit box included. Internet is free at Reception. Improvements: lighting, I agree with earlier comments that the lighting in the rooms are quite poor. Also, the pool is in the central courtyard and does not receive much sunlight hence sunbathers best go to the beach.

Breakfast:
Served at the adjacent restaurant: apart from the fruit, there was a lack of healthier options: cakes, yoghurt for cereals such as cornflakes, cheerios and rice crispies, and small slices white bread. The coffee is very weak. However, they do offer lovely pancakes known as 'hotcakes' and for a tiny fee of 10 Mexican pesos you can order scrambled eggs - well worth it. Again the service was excellent.

Overall:
As a single female, I would definitely return and stay at Las Golondrinas. Candy and Lucrecia work in the mornings and are extremely helpful. Arturo does the evening shift and provided many tips for me. Thanks to all of them.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ivana Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.2 mi away
Casa La Galeria by Bunik
Casa La Galeria by Bunik
#94 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
214 reviews
0.3 mi away
BRIC Hotel & Spa
BRIC Hotel & Spa
#47 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
505 reviews
0.2 mi away
Coco Rio Playa del Carmen
Coco Rio Playa del Carmen
#107 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
HM Playa del Carmen
HM Playa del Carmen
#42 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
562 reviews
0.4 mi away
Los Itzaes Hotel
Los Itzaes Hotel
#85 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
154 reviews
0.2 mi away
Koox Caribbean Paradise Hotel
Koox Caribbean Paradise Hotel
#122 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Las Golondrinas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Las Golondrinas

Address: Avenida Constituyentes Entre Av 15 Y 20 | col centro, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#58 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#87 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range: £39 - £133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Las Golondrinas 3.5*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Este hotel de 66 habitaciones ofrece mucho mas que comodidad. Es un excelente lugar para disfrutar de sus vacaciones o viaje de negocios. Con una decoracion moderna, conservando su arquitectura mexicana, un ambiente familiar y la hospitalidad de su personal haran de su estancia un recuerdo inolvidable. Todas las habitaciones se encuentran alrededor de alguna de las 2 piscinas y de su exuberante jardin tropical, decoradas con amenidades modernas sin perder su espiritu mexicano. Este encantador hotel tiene todo lo que usted necesita: amplias habitaciones, un hermoso jardin, una agradable y refrescante piscina al centro del hotel y otra mas pequena y privada con un asoleadero de madera ideal para recostarse en un camastro y disfrutar del sol rodeado de palmeras, cuenta con un elevador con vista panoramica hacia el jardin interior para acceder a sus 3 niveles, asi como un excelente servicio por parte de su personal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, HostelWorld, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Las Golondrinas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Las Golondrinas Hotel
Hotel Las Golondrinas Mexico/Riviera Maya - Playa Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing