We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great location and nice rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Las Golondrinas
Ranked #95 of 214 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
East Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
“great location and nice rooms”
Reviewed 20 January 2012

stayed for 3 night, we really enjoyed the hotel, it was lovely with a special charm.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alicia s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

448 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    162
    198
    54
    20
    14
See reviews for
105
202
17
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brainerd, Minnesota
2 reviews
Reviewed 7 January 2012

We loved this small , comfortable and boutique hotel, We don´t like very much to stay at all inclusive hotel since these kind of hotel are much more romantic, and presonalized service!, at Hotel Las Golondrinas we stayed 5 nights and really enjoyed them, we went to the beach club which is playa mamitas and stayed there for about 3 or more hours 3 days, this hotel is very closed to 5th Ave in Playa del Carmen, rooms are perfect sized, clean, nice decor, petty gardens, nice pool deck and to be shorter, NICE HOTEL! we of course recommend it!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kathy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakland, CA
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2011

This place was terrific. Very attractive, comfortable and clean, great service, good price, easy parking (they have a couple of spots right outside that were usually free), relaxing indoor pool, and free internet in the lobby. Our room was cool and quiet. It’s a bit farther than some from the beach (6-7 blocks) but Playa is all about walking anyway.

Room Tip: Stay upstairs to avoid the pool crowd.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Klipzlskim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town
Level Contributor
56 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2011

Stayed at Las Golondrinas over New Year and found it to be a simple, very clean, nice 3 star hotel.
Everyone was very pleasant, and the central pool area - in what must have been originally a central courtyard now roofed - is a lovely place to relax, and has free wi fi.
The rooms are plain, but functional. Our room had two smallish bedrooms and we saw some were one large bedroom (which we would have preferred) so if you have different needs it will pay to check out the options.
The hotel is a short walk from 5th Av, where all the action is in the evenings, but far enough away to be reasonably quiet. The excellent Mega supermarket is close by, and the small shopping centre next to the hotel has a little plain looking small cafe/coffee shop that serves stunning breakfasts at very cheap prices.

Room Tip: Choose your preferred option of rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank markCapeTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
108 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2011

The hotel is well located and nice. This being said, the AC automatically changed each night into fan mode.... I woke up every day sweating... but that's nothing compared to the BED BUGS! My friends ad I ALL have bites ALL over our bodies! It's disgusting!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank katiuska15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
261 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 200 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2011

When we arrived at this hotel there was a gang of thieves going through the rooms. They posed as hotel staff and entered guests rooms by trying to explain to guests about the facilities in the room. While guests were distracted by one person, another person would steal anything available. The hotel reception staff didn't seem friendly. The hotel seems old, the rooms are very old, the lock on our hotel room door didn't work properly. The window in the bathroom was broken. The furnishings in the room were old and outdated. Some guests complained loudly about the service in the restaurant but we at least got some food. There are much better hotels than this one in Playa del Carmen.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank fun2travelCanberra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2011

We booked over the internet after a bit of research. Wanted something smallish, not in the main drag and something looking less like the huge commercial anonymous resort type hotels nearer the beach where you could've been anywhere in the world. We stayed for about 2 weeks and used it as a base to get out and about interspersed with recuperative days spent on the beach!

We were not disappointed!. The hotel had a Mexican feel about it, typically Mexican vibrant colours, full of little individual nooks and crannies to sit and read, dip in the [choice of] 2 beautiful pools in either full sun or shade depending on what you wanted and the time of day. Everywhere was immaculately clean and spotless, all the staff were friendly and helpful with a sense of humour. Although the hotel doesn't have it's own restaurant, breakfast was no problem as it was served in the adjacent restaurant by exchanging a voucher given at reception - breakfast was great, fresh fruit, scrambled eggs, bacon, ham, pancakes, toast, cereal, juice, tea or coffee.

The hotel is situated on a busy corner, about 5 mins from 5th Ave and about 10 mins walk to the beach. We didn't eat at the adjacent restaurant other than breakfast as there's just so much delicious variety and diversity to suit all pockets within easy strolling reach. The nearest ATM and Bank is 5 minutes down the road.
We didn't notice the traffic noise if there was any! All the rooms open onto a pretty internal open courtyard or walkways and the building is 3 stories high [ground, 1st and 2nd floors]. Our room was on a corner, it was light and airy as it had windows on both elevations, some of the other rooms we glanced in whilst passing looked as if they could be a bit dark. Our suite had 2 rooms [but only 1 with air con] each with a queen size bed and with a central shared shower room. It had a safe [deposit for special padlock at reception], a TV but we didn't watch it as we were usually out and about. The only down side of our room/s was other than the beds and a chair at the desk there was no comfy chairs to sit in to read or just slouch for a bit. There is also free internet access, free iced drinking water from a cooler by reception, a giant superstore just round the corner for bits and pieces and an amazing Italian deli/small restaurant [Sabrinas] for takeaway delicious rolls, sweet and savoury pastries for lunch or for trips out.

The hotel do organise trips, but we didn't try them and accessed the sights independently, so I can't comment about them or their value. If you like to explore a country a bit less like a tourist, then I'd recommend using the "Communale" which is a sort of cross between a taxi and a bigger bus or coach system. They are a fleet of [I think?, State owned?] minibuses which run from Playa to the surrounding larger towns, local people use them to get to/from work, they run all day from early in the morning till late at night and run about every 10-15mins, they only cost about the equivalent of £2 each for a 45 min journey. There are dozens of stops along the highway, you just flag them down and if there's spaces on board then the driver will stop, if not you've only got a short wait til the next one. We experienced a selection of these from very clean, neat, newish with air con to older hot vehicles where you just have the windows open!. Quite a fun, safe way to travel! Ask at reception where the "Communale" Playa pick up point is - their livery is white van with light blue or red flash along the sides, great way to get to Tulum or Cancun and back again [not to the airport - no room for big luggage].

General Mexico travel tip here! - It didn't affect us, as we only had Pesos, but we noticed that all the State/Government ancient archaeological sites will only accept Pesos, not USD. Many of the more expensive restaurants appear to accept either currency, most also appeared to want to know where you're staying if you use a credit card, debit cards seem to be OK.

The only down side to the hotel and that's being really picky! would be that we weren't expecting such a hard bed! It took us a couple of nights to get used to it, after which we both slept like logs!

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank wendyjs59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.6 mi away
Sunrise 42 Suites Hotel
Sunrise 42 Suites Hotel
#66 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 290 reviews
0.5 mi away
Barrio Latino Hotel
Barrio Latino Hotel
#72 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 661 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Playa del Karma
Hotel Playa del Karma
#129 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
BRIC Hotel & Spa
BRIC Hotel & Spa
#46 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 478 reviews
0.4 mi away
Illusion Boutique Hotel by Xperience Hotels
Illusion Boutique Hotel by Xperi...
#43 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,398 reviews
0.1 mi away
HM Playa del Carmen
HM Playa del Carmen
#37 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 492 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Las Golondrinas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Las Golondrinas

Property: Hotel Las Golondrinas
Address: Avenida Constituyentes Entre Av 15 Y 20 | col centro, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#55 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#88 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Las Golondrinas 3.5*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Este hotel de 66 habitaciones ofrece mucho mas que comodidad. Es un excelente lugar para disfrutar de sus vacaciones o viaje de negocios. Con una decoracion moderna, conservando su arquitectura mexicana, un ambiente familiar y la hospitalidad de su personal haran de su estancia un recuerdo inolvidable. Todas las habitaciones se encuentran alrededor de alguna de las 2 piscinas y de su exuberante jardin tropical, decoradas con amenidades modernas sin perder su espiritu mexicano. Este encantador hotel tiene todo lo que usted necesita: amplias habitaciones, un hermoso jardin, una agradable y refrescante piscina al centro del hotel y otra mas pequena y privada con un asoleadero de madera ideal para recostarse en un camastro y disfrutar del sol rodeado de palmeras, cuenta con un elevador con vista panoramica hacia el jardin interior para acceder a sus 3 niveles, asi como un excelente servicio por parte de su personal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, HostelWorld, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Las Golondrinas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Las Golondrinas Hotel
Hotel Las Golondrinas Mexico/Riviera Maya - Playa Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing