We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel in all ways”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Las Golondrinas
Ranked #93 of 214 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
60 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great hotel in all ways”
Reviewed 10 April 2014

Its a good hotel in all ways. The main pro of this hotel is the location. It's just two blocks from the 5ta Avenida (Main ave). This is really a good advantage cause it's near the bar and disco area. The rooms are fully equiped (Incluiding frigobar for cold beers). The pool is really small though.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Alejandro M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

447 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    162
    197
    54
    20
    14
See reviews for
105
201
17
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2014 via mobile

Never having been to Mexico before and choosing to shun the typical 'all-inclusive' package, we really didn't know what to expect of Las Golondrinas. Being of the 'mature' category of travellers, my wife and I are quite picky where we stay!! In short, Las Golondrinos is a very nice hotel, super clean and with amazing staff who really cannot be any more helpful. The pool is situated in a courtyard in the centre of the hotel and surrounded by vegetation and decoration, it's even more beautiful when the lights are on at night. The rooms are big, with two double beds and there is free With-Fi in each room and an endless supply of cold and filtered water in the lobby.
Playas famous nightlife is a short walk away, but it is nice to enjoy the tranquility of the hotel. A couple of supermarkets (Mega, Wallmart) are only a few blocks away, but be warned, there is an amazing Taqueria called El Fogon opposite Mega (and several very nice Taco stalls)!! Las Golondrinas have beach club access to Mamitas Beach ( a 10 min walk away) with a discount for sun loungers and beach umbrellas - make use of it, Marmitas is the best by far! The walk takes you down Fifth Avenue and inevitably you will be accosted by shop keepers and waiters - enjoy it, it all adds to the fun of Playa!
We had a fantastic two weeks in Playa and it was made even more enjoyable because of the staff at Las Golondrinos - thank you!

Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
9 Thank dwparkes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Level Contributor
47 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2014

My husband and I needed a place to stay for one night in Playa. After looking at several hotels we settled on Las Golondrinas for the price. Wow! What a find. The outside of the hotel doesn't look like much. In fact, if I had not looked it up on Google Maps I would not have known what to look for on the outside of the hotel. Once you are inside you will see that the hotel is well cared for. There is a gorgeous courtyard with a small but relaxing pool. The rooms were big enough for the two of us and our luggage. The location is very close to "downtown" Playa, but far enough away that you won't be bothered by the noise.

While we were there we met a nice couple who were staying at Hotel Las Golondrinas for a month. I can see why they would want to stay there that long. The price was right, the hotel was safe and beautiful, the staff was courteous. I had no complaints about the hotel at all. I would love to stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HRRunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fakenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2014

We stayed for two very comfortable weeks in this lovely Hotel. The breakfasts included fresh fruit, fruit juice, pancakes, yoghurt, honey and maple syrup, cake, toast jam, eggs and the coffee was always really nice. The location was brilliant just a couple of blocks from 5th Avenue with a selection of really good Taco restaurants across the road. It has a nice ambience and the rooms are of a good size. The gardens are very pretty and the pools are kept beautifully clean. The staff are very friendly and gave us some good recommendations. We did not want to use one of the large all inclusive style Hotels as we wanted to eat out and sample some real Mexican food and be out and about and see some of what Mexico has to offer so this suited us beauifully. We would have no hesitation in recommending it.

Room Tip: All the rooms over look the pools and gardens. There is a good lift to the second and third floors...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Gizzle2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2014

Nice hotel with beautiful pool area. Staff were quite helpful and rooms were large and clean.
Also a convenient location only a couple of blocks from the beach, main tourist strip and also near one of the 2 ADO bus terminals.
We enjoyed our stay and would consider it again

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SydScott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridgwater
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2014

Gorgeous hotel - it is SO pretty, we loved to surround ourself in the lovely decor of the swimming pool area. The staff are excellent and offer a very personal service to the guest - we were amazed how hard everyone worked - the maids were always cleaning the rooms and public areas and never stopped; the reception staff were very friendly and knowledgable - when a small problem occurred in our room, it was sorted straight away and the breakfast staff (who possibly were a family group) offered charming service, cheerful smiles and lovely food. One day, my husband and I decided to take a drink out onto the first floor at a delightful table overlooking the pool - within a minute a maid was over offering us cushions to made the chairs more comfortable. Actually, I've never been to a hotel with such good service as this!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ruth L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trujillo Alto, Puerto Rico
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2013

We were in IM COZUMEL and where looking for a HOtel in Playa Carmen to spena couple of nights before heading to Cancun. Our bus driver recommended us this hotel and it was absolutely a hit. It was Nice,clean and noise free. Has an elevator which the previous one did not
Has a Mega (sort of supermarket-walmart store) very close.

Thanks to Memo ans J.Ordaz (our drivers and guides from USA Transfers) for the recommendation

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Felix R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.6 mi away
Sunrise 42 Suites Hotel
Sunrise 42 Suites Hotel
#65 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
0.5 mi away
Barrio Latino Hotel
Barrio Latino Hotel
#72 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 660 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Playa del Karma
Hotel Playa del Karma
#130 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
BRIC Hotel & Spa
BRIC Hotel & Spa
#48 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 476 reviews
0.4 mi away
Illusion Boutique Hotel by Xperience Hotels
Illusion Boutique Hotel by Xperi...
#42 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,393 reviews
0.1 mi away
HM Playa del Carmen
HM Playa del Carmen
#37 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Las Golondrinas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Las Golondrinas

Property: Hotel Las Golondrinas
Address: Avenida Constituyentes Entre Av 15 Y 20 | col centro, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#55 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#88 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Las Golondrinas 3.5*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Este hotel de 66 habitaciones ofrece mucho mas que comodidad. Es un excelente lugar para disfrutar de sus vacaciones o viaje de negocios. Con una decoracion moderna, conservando su arquitectura mexicana, un ambiente familiar y la hospitalidad de su personal haran de su estancia un recuerdo inolvidable. Todas las habitaciones se encuentran alrededor de alguna de las 2 piscinas y de su exuberante jardin tropical, decoradas con amenidades modernas sin perder su espiritu mexicano. Este encantador hotel tiene todo lo que usted necesita: amplias habitaciones, un hermoso jardin, una agradable y refrescante piscina al centro del hotel y otra mas pequena y privada con un asoleadero de madera ideal para recostarse en un camastro y disfrutar del sol rodeado de palmeras, cuenta con un elevador con vista panoramica hacia el jardin interior para acceder a sus 3 niveles, asi como un excelente servicio por parte de su personal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Ebookers, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, HRS, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Las Golondrinas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Las Golondrinas Hotel
Hotel Las Golondrinas Mexico/Riviera Maya - Playa Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing