We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice place right in the action”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Playa del Carmen
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Pension San Juan
Ranked #130 of 213 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
montreal
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very nice place right in the action”
Reviewed 28 January 2009

Overall, we had absolutely no major problem with our stay there. First major positive point is the price in regards to the location. 5th avenue, close to the bus station/a lot of conveniences/restaurants... well the 5th well known action :) For those who want a very quiet place though, this might not be the best spot as the 5th is very noisy, even during night time.

Service was great, the staff was very helpful and polite. The little terasse with the kitchen was very convenient and it gave us the opportunity to enjoy a drink so close to the 5th it gives you the feeling you are in any of the other bars on the street but right next to your room in your hotel. Our room was comfortable. Only negative point is probably the bathroom where we lacked some water pressure for the toilet... But the room in regards to the price we paid was very comfortable.

I would also like to underline the honnesty of the people working at the Pension. We had no problems regarding prices/fees. During our stay, we had an emergency and have been forced to leave our room before the established leaving date. Everything was already paid and the staff agreed to refund our nights there which was our own fault.

I strongly recommend Pension San Juan for a nice stay/trip in Playa!

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank merranza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    28
    19
    6
    2
    0
See reviews for
9
22
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mexico
Level Contributor
19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2008

First of all, making the reservation gave us quite a lot of trouble. We were a group of 8 and we got 4 rooms, each very different from the other. All the rooms were very small, very small bathrooms as well. Air Conditioning didn't work very well in most of them, although they were included in the rate. The staff is very nice, except for the policeman who guards the hotel by night. Overall I would recommend getting another hotel such as Lunata, mosquito beach, blue parrot...etc The have better location, good values and much better facilities.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — rooms and staff
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank sptl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, WI
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2008

Pension San Juan is a reasonably priced clean hotel with 16 rooms on 5th avenue close to calle 6 north. We opted for a premium room (~$60/night) and stayed in room C5. This could be considered either the best room or worst room in the hotel. Postives: large room, king sized bed, neat domed ceiling, decent bathroom, balcony with chairs for people watching (only room that has this), close to the kitchen. Negatives: directly across from El Pica Pica bar which plays mostly bad disco music until 2am and has a very obnoxious street hawker trying to lure unsuspecting tourists inside, next to Bourbon Street bar, which has live bands almost everynight (but generally good blues), and next to the kitchen, where people are up cooking breakfast at 7:30am. If you are a light sleeper, this is not a good room. Some of the other rooms near the back are probably quieter at night. The "free" coffee offered is instant coffee, and not very good, but there is a Starbucks 2 blocks to the north, and 7-11 1 block to the south. Our room had a safe, but it was non-functional. The overhead light burned out, oh well. Location is great as the beach is one block away, and there are dozens of bars and restaurants within a few blocks. El Fogon Restaurant (calle 8 north and 30th avenue) has excellent reasonable authentic Mexican food. Alux restaurant/bar is an underground cenote/cave, and is definitely worth the $5 cab fair to go for a drink (opens at 6pm). Our best meal was probably at Babe's Noodle bar (calle 10 just west of 5th), which has good Thai food and seafood. Watch your stuff! I had my nice digital camera stolen out of a zippered pocket on my backpack while I was walking down the street in broad daylight a block from the police station. Definitely a professional pick-pocket. Overall, a really nice hotel, and you can't beat the weather (80s and sunny everyday), cold beers, and tequila!

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Noise
  • Stayed January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank roadking200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mexico
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 May 2007

It´s a nice hotel, .
It´s in the 5th avenue, pretty good location.
VERY VERY CLEAN!!

WE CHOSE IT because it wasn´t expensive.
We stayed in the room without air conditioner,
the only two things I didn´t like:
noisy
the bed was too small to share.

NICE PLACE!

  • Liked — cleanlisness
  • Disliked — noise
  • Stayed April 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 17 January 2006

We stayed at the pension san juan for two nights january 8th-10th 2006. we drove our rental car from Cancun to Playa de Carmen and parked a few streets from the main drag and walked around to look for a place to stay since we had no reservations....most places were asking for 90-130 bucks a night and then we decided to look at this hotel...it does not look very inviting from the outside but we were getting tired of looking and went inside...a normal room was $50 a night with a/c, hot water, a fridge and a safe. We looked at the rooms and decided to stay there. they were safe clean and right on the main srtip...also just walk one block and you are at a great spot on the beach. They take credit cards there but they will charge 5% more so we just paid with cash. My one and only complaint was the noise level...there is so much going on in playa de carmen at night that you are bound to hear all of the music and bars, unless you are off the main drag. We also had very drunk and loud neighbors which didnt help. The hotel has a balcony sitting area and kitchen that is really nice that we used everyday. After our stay here we went to Tulum and then came back to Playa de Carmen to stay another two nights....we thought about being adventuous and stayting at a different place. after asking around we went back to pension san juan. They only had supierior rooms availible so we paid $60 a night and got cable tv and a bigger room. but of course it was still loud. Wonderful hotel...would stay there again.
Also if you walk to your left and turn down the first block there is a great restraunt on the left corner that if you buy a $2 beer they let you use there beach chairs and umbrellas all day, and the food is good too.

  • Stayed January 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 2 April 2005

We wanted to go to the Mayan Riviera during spring break but at the same time, we did not want to compete with 135,000 drunk american teenagers for restaurant space in Cancun, so we chose Playa (as it is known by the locals) instead. I found Pension San Juan on the web and was attracted by its prices (US$35 and up/night per room) and its claim of being right at the main street. They were right about that! The hotel is centrally located at Quinta Avenida (Fifth Ave.), one block off the beach! I stayed with my wife, 2 children (9 and 10) and their nanny (20). Since we needed at least 4 beds, we had to take their biggest room which faced the boulevard. The room has a view of the street and people watching will entertain you for hours, as thousands and thousands of people start walking up and down Quinta Ave at about noon and don't go home until past 3 AM! We had literally hundreds of restaurants accesible within a 2-3 minute walk. No car is needed or recommended, since you cannot park in or near the busy streets leading to the main street. Service was great and friendly and the rooms were clean. The AC was C-O-L-D and there is a mid-size fridge and a full sink. There is hot water, which you do not need because tap water is not that cold and we needed the cool water on our backs after 6-8 hours at the beach or after the day-long tours in 90 degree weather. Beds were double or queen, and very comfortable. There was a TV with cable, but all channels but CNN were in Spanish, so the kids will have to watch Dora the Explorer in her original language (how kool is that!)

There is a full kitchen (sanz microwave) up in a nice balcony facing the boulevard on the third floor where you can cook and sit while looking down at the people walking below. If you are a light sleeper, take a room on the back side of the hotel; otherwise, be prepared to be awakened by singing flocks of "happy" locals and visitors roaming the streets until wee hours of dawn. But this should not be an issue the rest of the year. You HAVE to have breakfast at the HOT restaurant about 5 blocks away; ask the desk person at the Pension. Tour buses will pick you up right at the Pension doorsteps and they can give you names of reputable guides. Must see: Chichen Itza Mayan ruins, TULUM ruins and XCARET water park with its underground river. There you can swim with dolphins for 45 minutes but must call ahead and pay US $115/person. The exchange rate was around 10.50-11.10 Mexican pesos for a dollar and everyone will take dollars....plenty of banks and ATM's around. Do not waste money on overpriced Cuban cigars; go to the cigar shop kitty kat corner from the Pension, and ask for Don Mario; he is there every night "torciendo" (rolling) cigars and you can get a freshly made Mexican cigar (just as good or better than a Cuban; trust me, I know, I used to sell Cigars) for US $2-5 or buy a box of Veracruz-tobacco cigars to take home withour the hassle of US Customs papework for Cuban cigars. Speaking of Cuban, treat yourself to Mojitos and the best food south of Havana by having dinner at La Bodeguita del Medio, an official Cuban-government owned restaurant which E. Hemingway made famous on his books, and has several franchises in Mexico. Stay for salsa dancing after 9 PM at La Bodeguita; they have their own Cuban salseros! If the ropa vieja, moros y cristianos and the other cuban plates make you tired,, go for a capuccino a couple of doors down. You will also find sushi, stores and others in a very modern strip mall right past the Ferry piers, about a mile from the Pension. Bottom line: if you are looking for anything above 2 stars, look elsewhere...but if you want to have basic accomodations and save a bundle while spending all day at the beach and coming to a comfy room with AC and nice beds for less than $50-80 per night, then this is your place. Overall, an awesome experience. Will definitively do it again!

  • Stayed March 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
18 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Vista Caribe
Hotel Vista Caribe
#102 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
256 reviews
0.0 mi away
El Secreto Hotel by Bunik
El Secreto Hotel by Bunik
#123 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
115 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Cielo
Hotel Cielo
#28 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
813 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Posada Sian Ka'an
Hotel Posada Sian Ka'an
#95 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
267 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Lunata
Hotel Lunata
#84 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
359 reviews
1.0 mi away
Popol Vuh
Popol Vuh
#125 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Pension San Juan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Pension San Juan

Property: Hotel Pension San Juan
Address: Ave num 165 entre 6y8 calle /st 5ta | Andador turistico/tourist pedestrian walkway, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #130 of 213 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 16
Also Known As:
Hotel San Juan
Hotel Pension San Juan Mexico/Riviera Maya - Playa Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing