We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Georgeous~ Greenery & Hospitality Plus!”
Review of Maya Bric Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Maya Bric Hotel
Ranked #155 of 209 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Ohio
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Georgeous~ Greenery & Hospitality Plus!”
Reviewed 8 November 2013

My friend and I stayed at Maya Bric at the beginning of November 2013. Lovely, small, hotel located right on Fifth Avenue (La Quinta) between 8 y 10th. What sets this hotel apart from other smaller hotels in the area is the lovely courtyard, lots and lots of plants, trees, flowers, very pretty setting. when entering the archway off 5th (with a unique little wooden door in the later evening) it was an enchanting/Alice in Wonderland experience. We stayed in room 12 and had a wonderful view from above looking down over the courtyard area. There isn't a balcony connected to rooms, but a long walkway that runs parallel to the entire pool/courtyard to view all of the surroundings. Our room was more than adequate/beds comfortable, large shower/hot water/flat screen tv and sink area outside of the bathroom was helpful. We did request a fridge for our room with a minimal extra cost per day. We also enjoyed the breakfast every morning in the onsite restaurant/excellent scrambled eggs, bacon/ham/cheese with plenty of breads (very tasty bread) and juice/milk/coffee/rolls/cereal. Very nice service in the restaurant (which also serves lunch and dinner as well). Finally, we found the staff to be cordial and very prompt to attend to a few small requests that we had during our stay. Thanks so much to Ileana at the front desk also for your kindness, information, hospitality and smiles! This also for all the staff at HMB., everyone met our needs (from obtaining batteries for tv remote to help with our luggage off the street to our rooms). We had a wonderful stay and will plan to stay again on a future trip to Playa. Todo Excelente!

Room Tip: Recommend lower level floor if stairs are an issue. We stayed on second level and had no trouble wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lovetheyucatan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MAYABRICHOTELM, Public Relations Manager at Maya Bric Hotel, responded to this review, 10 November 2013
It is great read this kind of comments.
We are so glad to know that we satisfy your expectations. As you saw we are making some change at the hotel to make it more comfortable for all our guesses.
We know that here in Playa del Carmen the hotel business have so many competitions that’s why we have the best staff and we always try to give the best service.
Thank you so much for choosing us as your hotel.
We hope see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

336 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    95
    122
    61
    19
    39
See reviews for
55
115
31
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2013

The staff is very friendly and happy to help on any enquiry you have. The hotel have the basic things which is why is quite cheap, but everything is clean and tidy. The breakfast included is basic but very good. They can make you omelette with fried beans or quesadillas with Jam. The best Location and not noise at all (which it was one of my concerns at the begging because it is very close to the bars (2-3 blocks away). The pool is clean, you can drink by the pool. No dramas at all. Plus I have an special inquiry with my insurance company and the hotel staff was happy to help me writing down a letter for me in less than 24 hrs. I'm glad we stayed there.

Room Tip: I got one by the pool and it was nice, clean, quiter and no problem at all. You need to put your stu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aromo83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MAYABRICHOTELM, Public Relations Manager at Maya Bric Hotel, responded to this review, 12 October 2013
Thank you for your positive comment.
We are trying to have the best service for you, and we are making some changes in the rooms and the entire hotel. So I am invited you to come again.
We hope see you again in the future.
Thank you for choosing us as your hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2013

in general this place could be better is well located (it's good & worse in same breath depends on your character), clean, good AC.
i was in low season but high so i booked it for 50$ a night, when i got there they charge me high rate when they changed the currency from $ to pesos so for this price i expected more...
first to update guest you are re-decorating / buliding in the hotel so it means noises all day or if you didn't let them know make a discount for example...
second during my stay four times the hot water stopped working so inform your guest maybe? it's really annoying to get into shower & realize the water is cold again & again, twice i was waiting 3-4 hours for a shower after aday at the beach how "lovely" that was...
wifi is not working most of the time connect - disconnect - the worser i had during this trip.
the girl at the reception should learn a few things about costumer service & to smile from time to time maybe will help abit, the older guy was nicer.
more to improve is the lights in the room & the "included breakfast" is not a bonus to all guests
not recommend place for solo travelers no athmospere at all & for anyone else if they will improve the service & the place, it could be better.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michalee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MAYABRICHOTELM, Public Relations Manager at Maya Bric Hotel, responded to this review, 12 October 2013
Thanks for your comment.
We appreciated all the comment, because those ways we know what we have to do for improve all the services.
We offer you an apologize for the construction time; we are recovering the entire hotel. For make it more modern and comfortable to our guests.
About the money exchange, we don’t put the rates for changes dollars to pesos, it is our bank. So we offer you another apologize.
You are invited to come again with us. We are improving and we want you to see it.
Thank you to choosing us as your hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
southampton
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2013 via mobile

Our first accommodation, at the start of a long trip through Central America, turned out to be a great choice. Superb location on 5th Ave the Main Street in PDC, close to some lovely beach bars and restaurants.
Super spacious room with a nice shower and bathroom and comfy beds.
Great choice at breakfast - helpful reception, but buggy!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DrAndi_ra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MAYABRICHOTELM, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Maya Bric Hotel, responded to this review, 26 August 2013
Thank you for choosing Hotel Maya Bric, we're glad you started your journey with a good experience at our hotel. Our priority is the quality of services, therefore receiving good comments about the rooms and the breakfast makes us proud, and will send comments to the reception staff.
We wait again for our hotel and Playa del Carmen, best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for three nights and found the hotel to be very good value for what we paid. Staff are friendly and helpful, rooms are large and clean and there's a reasonable breakfast too. The pool isn't great and normally being used by divers but the beach is so close you don't need it.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MattSim1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MAYABRICHOTELM, Public Relations Manager at Maya Bric Hotel, responded to this review, 12 October 2013
Thanks for your comment.
We appreciated all the comments, because those ways we know what we have to do for improve all the services.
We are recovering the entire hotel. For make it more modern and comfortable to our guests.
And we are doing an agreement with the divers, to see which hours are better for them and for us, that way they not disturb our guests.
Thank you to choosing us as your hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, South Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2013

We booked 12 nights through expedia, and a day before check-in we called that we will not arrive on our first payed night. When we arrived we wanted to extend our stay but the hotel didnt let us use the first night in credit or give us any discount even after booking 12 nights. We were very disappointed.

The entire hotel is a bit of a wreck, really needs some renovation and BETTER WIFI!! Sometimes the wifi didnt even work and it was the slowest wifi I have ever used! The price and location for the hostel was good, but one thing that really bothered me every day was the receptionist. She was very very rude, never said hello nor goodbye. And at the start of the stay I had to ask her a number of times regarding extending the stay, she really didnt seem to care about the tourists staying at the hotel.

On the upside, breakfast was very good and the chef made amazing omlettes.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KamilaSaxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MAYABRICHOTELM, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Maya Bric Hotel, responded to this review, 17 July 2013
We appreciate and value your opinion. We regret having that image of the hotel and our services, always prioritize the satisfaction of our guests and that is why we are struck by your comment.
The hotel's policy regarding cancellations is detailed at the time of booking, we try to be flexible and try to solve it in the best way possible. But we were out of time to amend or cancel your reservation, so we had to respect the policies of the reservation made on Expedia.
The behavior of our reception staff regarding their complaints about the kindness not usual at all. I will make sure your experience is brought to the attention of our team.
We invite you to visit us again, we are making changes and improving day by day to provide a better service.
Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Carlos de Bariloche, Argentina
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2013

For what we did pay, not bad, we stayed 12 nights, good location, good breakfast, the rooms are ok....BUT

1...The morning receptionist girl has to find another job, she was always in a bad mood, i dont even remember her saying good morning or good afternoon ONCE, super acid and dry, find a new one.

2...Wifi was BAD, not working well at all EVER.

3...They bring people that are NOT even staying at the hotel to do diving courses in the pool every day, its impossible to use the pool sometimes, NOT cool.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Juanorsson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MAYABRICHOTELM, Public Relations Manager at Maya Bric Hotel, responded to this review, 12 October 2013
Google Translation
Gracias por su comentario.
Todos los comentarios son Buenos, porque de esta manera sabemos en qué podemos mejorar.
Estamos en remodelación completa del hotel, tanto habitaciones como áreas públicas y recepción. Por lo que lo invitamos a visitarnos de nuevo para que pueda ver las mejoras y siga eligiéndonos.
Des-afortunadamente el servicio de internet en todo Playa del Carmen no es bueno, estamos en una zona con demasiada vegetación y a su vez está un poco hundida en la tierra. Pero agradecemos su comentario, haremos algo para mejorar nuestro WIFI.
En cuanto a los buzos, ya estamos en tratos para tenerlos solo en determinadas horas. Horas en las que no molesten o interfieran con nuestros huéspedes.
Gracias por habernos elegido como su hotel.
Esperamos verlo pronto.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.0 mi away
Siesta Fiesta Hotel
Siesta Fiesta Hotel
#113 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
200 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Lunata
Hotel Lunata
#86 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
364 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kinbe Hotel
Kinbe Hotel
#105 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
630 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Pelicano Inn
Pelicano Inn
#139 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
292 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Colibri Beach
Hotel Colibri Beach
#121 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
201 reviews
0.5 mi away
BRIC Hotel & Spa
BRIC Hotel & Spa
#42 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maya Bric Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maya Bric Hotel

Property: Maya Bric Hotel
Address: 5a Avenida 455 Entre Calle 8 y 10 Lote 7, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #155 of 209 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Maya Bric Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family oriented and suitable for the cost conscious traveler as well as the stopping by backpacker. Ideal spot for longer as well as short stays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Maya Bric Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maya Bric Hotel Mexico/Riviera Maya - Playa Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing