We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfectly Average”
Review of Maya Bric Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Maya Bric Hotel
Ranked #156 of 209 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Edmonton, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Perfectly Average”
Reviewed 6 March 2014

My wife and I stayed in a second floor room for a week in February, 2014. I observed that some rooms are in better condition than others, most notably the rooms at ground level. But even the rooms on the 2nd floor varied somewhat in condition. Ours was a room that seemed to have been in need of rejuvenation. Which seems to be the theme for this hotel which prides itself on being one of the older establishments on 'the strip' or Quinta Avenida or 5th Avenue. I've read that the hotel was recently purchased and, if that's true, the new owner seems to be rejuvenating the place. Not really renovating, but rejuvenating. By the condition of the pool (with it's missing tiles) and the disrepair of many of the hotel's other assets it might be that the previous owner let the hotel lapse a bit. While we were there a fresh coat of paint was being applied and the wrought iron staircase was stripped and painted.
The WiFi is best opposite it's strongest access point in front of the reception desk. In the our room the WiFi was inaccessible except during the early morning hours when no one else was on. The beds and washroom are 2-star quality - functional and cheap. The pool you see which represents the hotel on most booking sites is the hotel's greatest asset other than it's location on 5th Avenue. The restaurant with it's breakfast are decent quality. It's probably these latter 2 features which push the hotel to a 3-star rating on many booking sites since the rooms don't warrant it. Curiously, the rooms have a small LCD television on the wall which sports generally poor reception of a few Mexican channels. (BTW, for english movies Mexico dubs Spanish instead of using subtitles.)
Above all, this is a budget hotel run by competent staff that is in need of muchos pesos to bring it back to it's former glory. It's pool sets it apart from many other hotels. Across the street is the Siesta Fiesta Hotel/Restaurant with lively and loud entertainment that shouldn't disturb all but the lightest sleepers.

Room Tip: The ground level rooms seem to be in better shape then the others higher up. Get to breakfast early...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MisterEtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MAYABRICHOTELM, Public Relations Manager at Maya Bric Hotel, responded to this review, 13 March 2014
Hi.
Thank you for your comment.
It is right we are a new administration and we are improving the hotel for make it more comfortable. Sorry if this border you.
Thank you for choosing us as your hotel.
We hope to see again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

337 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    95
    122
    61
    19
    40
See reviews for
55
115
31
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2014 via mobile

The location is great, a stones throw from the beach and in the middle of all the Playa action. (this good location comes with some nightclub noise but nothing that will keep you awake.) Showers have good pressure with piping hot water. In short the room is all you can ask for with the only issue being the AC above the bed so blowing directly on you all night. Whether this is a good or bad thing is personal preference. Pool is small but not bad for the price. Full of children and scuba lessons so might be best to head to the beach but hey that's why we come to Playa.

 Restaurant is set in a nice garden and was nice for a quiet dinner if you wanted to stay off the strip for the night.

Now for the not so good. Wifi is non existent either in the rooms or communal areas. It connects in the common area but you will grow old waiting for things to load so if choosing to stay assume you will need to head out to a bar/restaurant  if you need to check emails. A big negative given that wifi is a must for any decent hotel these days. 

If you want a room with TV, look elsewhere as it is a 19 inch with no reception but hey.

Renovations are being completed on the hotel at present, painting and some minor repair works so this comes with some daytime noise. Looks like they will be finished in a few weeks so should be a benefit once complete.

All in all not a bad place to stay especially if you want to be in the thick of the nightlife. The lack of wifi lost this place a couple of stars.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BUGONTOUR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MAYABRICHOTELM, Public Relations Manager at Maya Bric Hotel, responded to this review, 13 March 2014
Google Translation
Hola.
Muchas gracias por su comentario.
Es verdad estamos en proceso de remo-delación y de muchos cambios para que sea un beneficio.
Le agradecemos contar esto como algo bueno y no algo malo.
El servicio de Internet es un poco difícil de mantener en buen estado, ya que en general, en todo Playa del Carmen es malo y más si llegamos a tener lluvias.
Esperamos su comprensión.
Gracias por elegirnos como su hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2014

Located right downtown to all the shopping and restaurants, close to the ocean. The rooms are very tiny with hard as a slab of cement beds. We stayed for nine days, we booked online with Expedia, we tried to get a refund but couldn't. ( expedia screwed up our reservation the first night and we had to drag our suitcases to another hotel for the night). The noise at the Bric Maya was unbearable. The Coco Bongo and the Fah were close by and it sounded like a night club right in our room all night long until 5 am in the morning! Even with ear plugs it was very difficult to sleep. In the morning they started hammering and sawing all day long right outside our room!, In the tiny pool they had scuba lessons so you could not really relax by the pool or dip in it, there was no room!. Fifth Ave is crazy and way way over priced for drinks and food. We tried many different restaurants, they herd you in like cattle and feed you terrible food . The vendors drive you crazy, constantly trying to sell, sell sell! The one nice thing was the restaurant, the breakfast was good and the cook was a really nice fellow. Playa del Carmen has really gone down hill, I use to love going there but its too crazy.

Room Tip: Don't stay there!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KDNEH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MAYABRICHOTELM, Public Relations Manager at Maya Bric Hotel, responded to this review, 13 March 2014
Hi.
I feel sorry reading this comment. And we apologize for the problem with Expedia. We try to do the best for you.
I can read that you do not understand the concept for being in the 5ta Av at Playa del Carmen.
The hotel is in the medley of the downtown. Close form everywhere.
And It is logic that it is no going to be a very relax place, far away from the noise and from the people.
And yes the 5ta Av. Is very busy always even in low season.
The constructions that you eared were all-around the hotel.
Playa del Carmen is billing a lot new places, always. And unfortunately is something that we cannot control.
So I recommend you to read about the city and about the places that you’re going to visit.
Vacation time is for enjoy the place you are.
Any way we hope see you again and offer you a different experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Playa del Carmen hotels

norwoodyoungamerica mn
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 February 2014

My husband and I had a great 10 days.
We have been to Playa 20 different times and we have always stay on 5th. ave.
This was our first time at Maya Bric and we will be back next year.
The location is great, its clean and very safe.
They provide beach towels, there pool is small, but I enjoy the Ocean.
Breakfast is AWESOME, we also had dinner there and that was also Good
The staff very nice always had a SMILE.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HotBlondie61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MAYABRICHOTELM, Public Relations Manager at Maya Bric Hotel, responded to this review, 27 February 2014
Thank you so much for your comment. It helps us a lot.
We always try to do the best for our guests, because we know vacations time it an especial time for you all, and we want to make it especial every single day.
We are having some changes for upgrade Maya Bric Hotel.
Thank you for choosing us as your hotel. We will glad to see you again in your next vacations in Playa del Carmen.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crested Butte, Colorado
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2014

Maya Bric Hotel offered the two of us great accommodations for our 1 night stay in Playa Del Carmen on the way toward Tulum. The room was very comfortable, the water was hot with good pressure and the made to order breakfast was outstanding.

The location is right on 5th and close to the ADO Bus Station. The location offers great access to the shops and the beach. I think this hotel is great for short visits in Playa. The nightlife in the area can be a bit loud if you're not partying or a light sleeper.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank runswithelk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MAYABRICHOTELM, Public Relations Manager at Maya Bric Hotel, responded to this review, 14 February 2014
Thank you so much for taking your time to write us.
Every comment it is an opportunity to change things to improve.
About the noise at night, it is difficult try to stop this because we are at the 5ta AV. Very sorry for that.
Thank you again for choosing us as your hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2014

We had a great time at this hotel! Very helpful staff and comfortable accommodations! it is on the noisier part of Playa but in the middle of everything. The food at breakfast was exceptional. fresh fruit, cereals, breads, juices and delicious pancakes and eggs!We brought our Homedics sound machine so it drowned out the music from across the street. Felt bad that such a nice clean hotel had to put up with that. Would stay again in a heartbeat. Wonderful restaurant with exceptional food!!!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chewi2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MAYABRICHOTELM, Public Relations Manager at Maya Bric Hotel, responded to this review, 4 February 2014
Thank you for the comment.
All comments help us to knowing what the guest loves and what we have to work for it.
We are in the middle of the 5 Av. We know that this could be kind of noisy.
The great thing about be in 5 Av. Is that you are close to everything, to the malls, beaches, restaurants, bars and all that you would need in your vacation time.
We hope to see you again.
And thanks again for choosing us as your hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2014 via mobile

I have been licky to stay two weeks in this lovely place & I would strongly recommend it! It's on the 5th avenue, close to the beach and is an excellent value for money. There is a unique restaurant inside that serves food from the Reunion island- the only one in town. The rooms are very spacious and you are very well looked after by the owners! You can also enjoy the quietness of the pool if you'd rather chill in!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ruthee51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MAYABRICHOTELM, Public Relations Manager at Maya Bric Hotel, responded to this review, 4 February 2014
Google Translation
Muchas gracias por su comentario.
Todos los comentarios nos ayudan a saber en que mejorar y qué es lo que nuestros clientes disfrutan de nuestro hotel.
No se olvide de reservar con nosotros para sus próximas vacaciones.
Estaríamos alagados de tenerlos de vuelta.
Un gran saludo de parte de toda la familia Maya Bric Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Lunata
Hotel Lunata
#85 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
366 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kinbe Hotel
Kinbe Hotel
#106 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
636 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Colibri Beach
Hotel Colibri Beach
#120 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Pelicano Inn
Pelicano Inn
#146 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
294 reviews
0.1 mi away
Playa Maya
Playa Maya
#102 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
656 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Plaza by Phocea
Hotel Plaza by Phocea
#180 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maya Bric Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maya Bric Hotel

Property: Maya Bric Hotel
Address: 5a Avenida 455 Entre Calle 8 y 10 Lote 7, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #156 of 209 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Maya Bric Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family oriented and suitable for the cost conscious traveler as well as the stopping by backpacker. Ideal spot for longer as well as short stays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Maya Bric Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maya Bric Hotel Mexico/Riviera Maya - Playa Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing