We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome little place”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of La Exquisita de la 38 - CLOSED

La Exquisita de la 38
Price range: US$2 - US$6
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
52 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Awesome little place”
Reviewed 22 March 2013

We went for dinner one evening, and were very impressed with the obvious love the owners have for their menu. We tried each of the taco's as well as a burrito (which was a special that evening). Each was delicious in a different way, and the prices were great. Also we tried the Horchata which we found delicious. We'll be back....

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank glasbrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

115 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    88
    16
    7
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
48 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“No way this is# 7 on tripadvisor”
Reviewed 17 March 2013 via mobile

The dishes are covered by plastic bags so they don't have to wash them- instead they change the plastic bags
Nuff said

Helpful?
1 Thank jeevers1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Englewood, Ohio
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great Food, Good For Lunch”
Reviewed 15 March 2013

My mom and I stopped here one afternoon, after I read so many wonderful things about La Exquisita. I agree that the staff was very helpful and the food was very good. I also like that it's towards the North end of the "strip", because that's where we stay and it's nice not having to walk too far to find something good. We each chose two tacos, one being the special that day. They were awesome. I wish there was more seating and more of a "dinner" atmosphere. But we always need to eat lunch while in Playa, so we'll be back!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chesley E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
257 reviews
167 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
“Good lunch place”
Reviewed 13 March 2013

We had dinner at this little place recently. The waiter was really helpful and explained everything on the (Spanish) menu carefully in English. We ordered one of every taco on the menu and they were all tasty and authentically local. There were five different ones: beef, mushroom, chicken, pork and pork skin. We liked them enough that we ordered a second round. After finishing those off we still felt hungry, so ordered one of the tortas to share. it was really nice: pork, coriander, chilli and some sort of quince jelly. Unfortunately we still felt hungry and went off to buy icecream afterwards. They don't serve alcohol, but the flavoured waters are interesting and nice (i tried the guava one). It's really somewhere you would go for lunch rather than dinner. The entire bill, with tip, came to 285 pesos

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“What a little gem.”
Reviewed 5 March 2013 via mobile


Happened to stop in as we were staying 3 doors down. Food excellently prepared and very authentic. Staff very helpful in explaining the menu. We are in Playa for two weeks and have been there twice in 3 days cannot seem to stop in for a quick bite. Prices are more than reasonable. I highly recommend the pibil torta but everything is excellent. Hope you give it a try.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank cjridgeback
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Exquisita de la 38 also viewed

Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa Maroma, Playa del Carmen
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing