We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Why would you stay in a resort when you could stay in paradise?” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ecolodge Shalala

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ecolodge Shalala
Ranked #49 of 175 Playa del Carmen B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Why would you stay in a resort when you could stay in paradise?”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2014

My girlfriend and I booked the 2 floors cabana for 7 nights and we were very pleased with everything this place had to offer. It's right around 5ta ave, up the road from the beach, and next to Regina' s, a great traditional Mexican restaurant. Perfectly located for your convenience. They serve breakfast, lunch, and dinner and are one of the few restaurants, in our opinion, that truly served authentic Mexican style dishes. Step out and you are in the tourist town of Playa, step back in and you are in a beautiful secluded forest lit by candles at night. The bed was comfy and the outdoor bathroom was definitely a unique touch. The shower had an exposed roof, which again was a really nice touch. There's no need to worry though, no praying eyes were able to see you singing in the shower :-) However the hot water runs out fast so the trick is to turn the hot water faucet open all the way and wait until the water reaches you and then close it back around 3 quarters of the way. Open the cold water to get the desired temperature.

Unfortunately for us the weather was not paradise weather at all. We stayed here during the first 2 weeks of January and it rained all day every day. It was unusually chilly, which was not normal at all for Playa. Since the place had no sealed glass windows or doors, a cold draft would creep in and it would also get humid and cold at night. Thankfully, the staff took the weather into consideration and supplied us with more than enough blankets.

Housekeeping was very good. We would always come home to fresh towels, bath robes, and fresh bars of oatmeal soap, shampoo, and conditioner.

Things that could be better:
1 - Water was available thanks to a pump that would run during the day but it would be shut down at night, I guess because of the noise it made. Unfortunately for us we were not aware of this and I didn't remember seeing a water schedule. There were a few times we attempted to shower early in the morning or late at night and there was no running water for us to shower and brush our teeth with. I did speak to Camilo and he made sure that the water was running for the morning before our flight back home. Thankfully, on one of those mornings, Regina’s was nice enough to give us some water to rinse our faces and brush our teeth with.

2 - I would recommend bringing in a mosquito net, not because of a mosquito problem, but during our stay we were visited multiple times by a little furry friend. A Coati which is native animal similar to a racoon. He would get on our rooftop and would walk around and start digging and scratching which would make dirt and particles fall down from the palapa (straw rooftop) onto the bed. I am assuming this does not happen often as I do not see any reviews mentioning this.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jdlsf00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    34
    8
    3
    2
    3
See reviews for
5
27
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2014

The rooms are very basic, dirty, no tv no air conditioner. The fans are very loud. Pool is cold and dirty. The shower had barely any water coming from it. Lots of mosquito's. Location is nice, close to restaurants and 3 blocks from the beach. The upstairs suite (240 $ per night) had multiple leaks in the roof, and also no air conditioner. We couldn't pay by credit card because the machine was broken during our stay. Now we are harasst by the owner Omar. Do not go there.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bubbels2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona, Spain
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2013

We went onver the new year. The roof leaked badly during the rain and the staff didn'y care!! They hadn't fixed it by day three and we had to check out early to get a good night's sleep (the beds were damp and an iPod ruined). They haggled about a refund and the delayed the procees saying they needed to talk to their accountant and then bank. After six visits, still no money and we're contacting the Profeco, the local tourist enforcement. Please do NOT wire any money in advance unless you want to lose it! We are not perennial complainers, our treatment is just too shocking not to report!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quito, Ecuador
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2013

We stayed at Shalala hotel and we had a very nice and happy time. The room was very clean and spacious, the location was great. The owners are very kind and friendly. Defenitely recommend this place. Keep up the good job guys!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sabdi L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2013

If you're expecting a concierge desk, uniformed staff, ice machine and a mini bar, this ain't your place. There's no telephone, no television set, and that was JUST FINE with me! This is not your "typical hotel", Shalala is more like a funky art project that you can sleep in. I just spent three nights here and loved it. First of all, the location: it's on the quiet end of Fifth Avenue, on Calle 38, behind a wooden gate. It's 3 or 4 blocks from the loud bars and clubs, a three-minute walk to the sand. This place used to be an architect's family home, now it's a cluster of guests houses, bungalows and a trippy 3-story house that Willy Wonka would build if he were stuck on an island. Thatched roofs and gravity showers and rustic wooden staircases and glass accents and ceiling fans. When you walk in the gate, you won't believe you're still in town. It's a shady oasis of trees, hammocks, and gravelly landscaping. It's a private business, not a chain hotel...or any type of hotel you're likely to ever see again. My 'bungalow' was a two-room suite with a balcony over the garden. It had two single beds pushed together. In hindsight, I now realize that the bathroom was not "private", meaning it had louvered doors, but an open window into the bedroom. Not an issue since I was alone, but this might be awkward with people who aren't fully intimate with one another. Free WI-FI and the signal was strong. The housekeeping staff was excellent, even putting away clothes and junk I left strewn around. There's security on-site all night long. A great, small restaurant ("Regina") is attached to the place on the street side. They brought lunch to me while I sat in the hotel garden. Nice. The people who run the place are super cool and hospitable. It's extremely convenient to the beach, there's a convenience store across the street, and an espresso cafe two doors down that opens at 8AM. I hope guests give this really unique hotel a try for a truly unique experience. I look forward to staying here again in future.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Deejais
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2013

The hotel and the service from Omar and Guillaume was absolutely fantastic. Our rooms were clean, the bed was large and comfortable and the little bits of detail added to each nook and cranny made the place unforgettable. Only a short walk to a beautiful beach and only meters from 5th avenue.

Thanks for having us!

Room Tip: The place has no really signage that says 'Shalala Hotel' and none of the locals have heard...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Zibba_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2013

We stayed at Shalala for two nights and had a blast. We booked La Casa, the two bedroom house which was huge, with a large outdoor patio and an upper deck. It is a completely uniquely designed space, like nothing I've ever seen. Guillaume and Omar are exceptional hosts and made our stay relaxing and fun. We also enjoyed the resident dogs. We had some friends over and no one complained, unlike other places we stayed in Mexico. I had breakfast and lunch at the restaurant, also very good.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KristinBATL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.1 mi away
Sunrise 42 Suites Hotel
Sunrise 42 Suites Hotel
#63 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 262 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Bambu Suites
Hotel Bambu Suites
#120 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Casa Ticul
Hotel Casa Ticul
#55 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 822 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
B&B Casaejido
B&B Casaejido
#13 of 175 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
0.0 mi away
D'Angelos 5th Avenue Hotel
D'Angelos 5th Avenue Hotel
#12 of 196 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel La Semilla
Hotel La Semilla
#2 of 175 in Playa del Carmen
5.0 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ecolodge Shalala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ecolodge Shalala

Property: Ecolodge Shalala
Address: 38th Street Between 5th And 1st Ave., Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 175 B&Bs / Inns in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Ecolodge Shalala 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shalala casa hotel is an intimate and exclusive caribbean property located in downtown playa del carmen 200 meters from the beach and steps from the famous 5th avenue. It is established in an exclusive neighborhood surrounded by best restaurants offering french, thai, italian, healthy and seafood cuisine.5 beautiful rooms, each with a charming ambience; totally independent and private with 1,500 egyptian cotton sheets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Ecolodge Shalala reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ecolodge Shalala Mexico/Riviera Maya - Playa Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing