We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well worth the time to do, 9 out of 10!”
Review of Mayan Treasures

Mayan Treasures
Ranked #16 of 70 Shopping in Playa del Carmen
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: We offer tours to visit the local natives in respect with their traditions and life styles. This exotic experience offers a look back in time while exploring the great Mayan civilization. We look forward to having you on our next trip!
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Well worth the time to do, 9 out of 10!”
Reviewed 18 March 2013

We felt that the experience of beinging guided by a local Mayan person was what set this apart from the others. Our tour guide had a wonderful sense of humour and connected with us immediately. His knowledge of the history and area was apparent from the beginning. We felt that he had a connection to the past and the future as this is his home. I don't think that we and tourists could have a better experience than that. The only detractor was that the time we had was too short for what we wanted to see! I would definitely do the same tour a second time.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank James H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mayan T, Guest Relations Manager at Mayan Treasures, responded to this review, 22 March 2013
Good afternoon, we would like to thank you first of all for your review, it means alot to us!

We hope you will get to visit again soon, you may reserve online for your next trip as not every agency in the riviera maya offer our tour. Thanks again and have a great day
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    5
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sault Ste. Marie, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best Mayan Excursion!”
Reviewed 5 March 2013

The Mayan Treasures Coba Tour was absolutely amazing! Our guide Juan was the best tour guide we have ever seen. He was knowledgeable and passionate about the Mayan culture, he made the tour spectacular! As an archaeologist myself, I can say that Juan really knew his stuff as he guided us around Coba, he was quick to explain not only the archaeology but also the surrounding flora. The cenote visit was truly memorable. The private cenote was absolutely beautiful and uncrowded. The traditional Mayan restaurant was charming and the food was some of the best I've ever had! Finally Juan guided us through a traditional Mayan home with a shamanistic ritual and musical performance. Juan explained the day to day runnings of the home and taught us how to respectfully thank the family for showing us their home. Five stars for Juan! Our driver Diego was also great! He got us around quickly and efficiently. He was quick to help us out of the van and offer a water. Another five stars for Diego.
Thank you so much for the great memories! They will last us a lifetime!!!

Christena and Family

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Christena H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mayan T, Guest Relations Manager at Mayan Treasures, responded to this review, 22 March 2013
Thank you for your rating,
Our guides is what differs us from other companies, we are greatly happy that you enjoyed our tour so much! Don't hesitate to visit our website to see another product that we will be offering very soon. Have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Frances, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great, informative daytrip!”
Reviewed 18 February 2013

We had a great tour guide as well, thank you Orlando!!! He made the whole day! FUn for interested kids (ours are 7 & 10) and adults. My husband made the trek up the tallest ruin while the kids and I backed out halfway. We all went down the sinkhole though, and all enjoyed the visit to the mayan village! Worth every penny, and I didn't find it expensive at all.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Casey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mayan T, Guest Relations Manager at Mayan Treasures, responded to this review, 22 March 2013
Good afternoon, thank you for your review.
We are glad all of your family members enjoyed the trip, it's nice to combine both history and culture and make it interactive for everyone! We hope to see you all again on another adventure!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brantford, Canada
Level Contributor
147 reviews
54 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Best Mayan Experience”
Reviewed 15 February 2013

Bishabel (my apologies if I have mispelt this Mayan greeting)...We had three Mayan Ruin experiences to choose from and based on our tour reps recommendation we went with Mayan Treasures. Jorge (the driver), very amiable yet a quiet sort, likely based on his limited English, met us at the resort. Soon we met up with our guide, Juan, who to our benefit was Mayan himself. The tour was on now, and Juan's passion for his culture started to show right from the beginning. Wow, the information we received came fast and furious. We soon found out why Juan was so passionate about his culture, as it dated back, in the Coba area, to a period long before Christ himself. First stop was Coba's ruins, located in a jungle setting, and Juans knowledge kept shining through. After an extensive visit, we made a decision to go for a swim before lunch. Not your ordinary swim, as we had to descend to a depth of 30-40' through a somewhat small opening in the earth. What we found was a large cavern of stalagmite and stalactite and the purest water that I have ever seen. Even a nonswimmer could enjoy this visit, as there is a small shallower section to soak in, or just stay on the dock area to soak their feet. It's not over yet, as what came next could easily be the hilite of the tour. Lunch was served in a Mayan restaurant (if you would call it that) as it is located so far out of the way, and didn't seem to serve anybody but the tours. Chicken was the main course, and the claim to fame for this delicious feast was that the chicken was wrapped in a banana leaf and buried in a fire pit to cook. Absolutely delicious. Juans next surprise was stopping by an actual Mayan home to meet the family. The matriarc, an 87 year old woman, greeted us and invited us into her kitchen, where she was preparing tortillas for our tour, on her open fire. At home we would consider their style of living as poverty, but I have never seen a happier, healthier, more relaxed people in my life. This was obvious in Rosita's longevity. Lastly, before departing, we met with the village's spiritual leader, and the local children, who did a little "performance and dance" for our benefit. Back at the resort, I had a moment to reflect as we looked at my photos. I actually feel that if you visit the Yucatan without taking this tour, then you would likely visit Paris without seeing the Eiffel Tower. If you do get the opportunity I can only hope that you have the tour twosome of Juan and Jorge (Jorgette) to guide you through the day. It is certainly worth the price of admission.....If you read this Juan .... Hach Unbatik (again sorry about the spelling)

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank travelBUG1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mayan T, Guest Relations Manager at Mayan Treasures, responded to this review, 22 March 2013
Thank you so very much for this amazing rating, you really lived the experience to its fullest and that's exactly what is wanted for our guests.
For your next visit to the Riviera Maya it would be a honor to take you to another archeological site. You may get in touch with us directly from our website where a special itinarary can be organized for you with the guide you want.
Thank you again, hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Mayan Treasures Coba”
Reviewed 9 February 2013

My wife and I took the Mayan Treasures Coba tour, leaving from the Gran Bahia Prinicipe resort. We had an amazing day.
From the moment we picked up our guide, Aresenio, we knew we were in the best of hands. Arsenio proved to be a wonderful blend of local knowledge, wit, charm, and yet, a deep sense of humility and love for his Mayan culture. The experience at the Mayan village where he was born and raised was a truly spiritual experience for us. At the heart of this portion of the tour was the deep love Arsenio has for his community.
All in all, a terrific experience.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank LoewenRJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mayan T, Guest Relations Manager at Mayan Treasures, responded to this review, 22 March 2013
Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback of our tour, We are truly blessed to have amazing guides like Arsenio labour with us, they definitly leave an impact on our lives and differ our company from all the others.
Thank you so much again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mayan Treasures also viewed

Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 

Been to Mayan Treasures? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing