We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Hummus! Best Service in Playa!!”
Review of Pita House

Pita House
Ranked #816 of 1,289 Restaurants in Playa del Carmen
Price range: US$4 - US$9
Cuisines: Middle Eastern, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Outdoor Seating
Description: A nice spot to smoke shisha, as you watch the world go by, order a drink from the fully stocked bar, offering everything from coffee to cocktails.When your feeling a little hungry have a look at our menu, offering chicken or beef shwarmas, hummus, falafel and much more.After eating take a look at our shisha menu, at least 30 different flavours to choose from two of the highest brands on shisha tobacco, star buzz and al fakher.
Lake Placid, New York
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best Hummus! Best Service in Playa!!”
Reviewed 9 August 2013

We visited here three times while in Playa. The service, food and people watching were all fabulous. Located on a busy street, you get to see all kinds of happenings. The owner is very friendly and great with the customers. We can't wait to return one day. Don't miss out on the homemade Hummus. Its the best I've eve had.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Wes_ADK_Aquatics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

8 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    2
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“delicious food with best service and staff ever!!”
Reviewed 8 June 2013

We was in playa del Carmen for 2v. We visited many bars and restaurants, pita house was the best of the best!!! The food, delisious! The drinks, delisious! And The staff, amazing! Great service! Dont forgett to try the hookah with dubble apple flavour, just sitt down and enjoy the music, delisious food, drinks and a hookah. I promise you love this place. // Patrik and Rebecca from sweden.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Patrik H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Happy We Stopped for a Hookah, so we came back for the Hummus!”
Reviewed 1 May 2013

Spent 2 of our 3 nights in Playa at the Pita House. This place is super cool and the decor is great!! Its located on 12th, right off 5th. This is the street that has all the huge night clubs. Pita House is open from 4pm until 4am (or as we've been told, as late 6am). There are about 8 Hookah set-ups, but im sure more are available. Half the restaurant is inside and half is outdoor seating. As the night gets later, they move seating outside to make room for a dance floor inside. The sound system is nice and the Arabic dance music was awesome. The owner Leo is not only a great business man, but a very nice guy and makes great conversation. He is sincere and very inviting and the same can be said for his staff. Double Apple Sheesha was the most popular, so we tried this on our second night. First night it was Cherry all the way.

Definitely try the blended mohito. Super Good!!!

I didn't get to try the Felafel, but the Hummus from scratch was so good it has tainted me for life. these store bought products in NY, just aren't the same. I have never had a better Hummus in my life.

We will definitely return!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank SourD21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PA
Level 4 Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“LOVED IT! Vegans and Vegetarians rejoice!”
Reviewed 9 October 2012

We happened upon this place during our recent visit to Playa. We are so glad that we did! The atmosphere is casual and very cool. The food is great and super inexpensive. We enjoyed meeting the owner and our waiter was very friendly and helpful. We loved it, highly recommend it and will definitely be back!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank PaJkatz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Pita House also viewed

Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 

Been to Pita House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing