We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Eurostars Hacienda Vista Real
Nearby Hotels
Valentin Imperial Riviera Maya(Playa del Secreto)(Great Value!)
US$1,998
US$397
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$325
US$281
Barcelo.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
BlueBay Grand Esmeralda(Playa del Carmen)(Great Value!)
US$288
US$281
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Royal Playa del Carmen(Playa del Carmen)
US$423
US$320
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$378
US$336
Melia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Royal Hideaway Playacar(Playa del Carmen)
US$497
US$463
Barcelo.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Grand Velas Riviera Maya(Playa del Carmen)
US$1,076
US$1,004
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Viceroy Riviera Maya(Playa del Carmen)
US$816
US$796
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$781
US$585
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$723
HotelsClick
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (664)
Filter reviews
664 results
Traveller rating
250
250
66
49
49
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
250
250
66
49
49
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsliving roomminute walkgated communityrental carbreakfast buffetnice propertyamazing hotelwe loved our stayfifth avenuethe wait staffplayacartaximexicobalconiesoxxopesosdaniel
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
170 - 175 of 664 reviews
Reviewed 14 November 2011

Very nice hotel. Very pleased with the overall accomodations and experience. It is a smaller hotel and very intimate feeling. The only negative was the typical sales pitch that you receive several times during your stay trying to sell you a timeshare, but it was beautiful and a small inconvenience in the long run. Would absolutely go back at the first opportunity. Great for couples or families with older kids.

Room Tip: A worthwhile adventure was Xcaret, so much to see and do, very enjoyable. Excursion to the Chichen Itza temple was really interesting, thought provoking, and a reasonable value.
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Randy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2011

We, a family of five (all adults), spent a week at this hotel. Although we knew from the booking that the rooms were bedroom with a suite area, we were really blown away at how large they were! We had booked two rooms (one for two and one for three), and the spaciousness was a nice luxury: each of the two suites had: a bedroom, a dining room, a living room, a kitchen, a bathroom, and two (no less) spacious balcones, overlooking a beautiful (i.e. non-sterile) golf court and lots of trees. The free wi-fi in room and public area worked well, only a few times we needed to wait a few minutes for it to work.

The reception area is spacious, warm in atmosphere, and airy, the pool area (where a wonderful breakfast buffet is served) peaceful and charming. Service (especially the receptionist Daniel) was very friendly and proactively (but not whatsoever invasively) concerned about our satisfaction with information or amenities.

This place is excellent for the independent type traveller who wants a laid back and yet excellent, clean and beautiful place to stay in and is mostly interested in exploring Playa and surroundings. In other words, this is not the hotel to stay for those who are looking for lots of people watching or opportunities for socialising within the hotel: It's way too quiet for that, look for social buzz in the city! The hotel doesn't have dinner, etc. But for us this was just what we wanted, since we weren't hotel-sitters looking for all the interactive stimulus in the hotel, but in town.

Speaking of town, Vista Real is not located smack in downtown Playa del Carmen, thus if you're with fresh energy you would walk the approximiately 15-20 mins to town (nice walk though, not on an ugly fast laned street but on quiet roads in an elegant residential area). Otherwise, one would need to take a cab (not so cheap, about U.S. prices) unless one has a rented car. However, Vista is still much, much closer to Playa than some other hotels and resorts we visited in the area which seemed to be in the middle of nowhere on a semi-highway...ugh! (we visited those, having unsuspectingly been lured for a time-share "presentation" which was a big scam ... but that's another story on which I wrote another review!!),

Any glitches or issues? Just a few, and minor ones, but worth mentioning:

(1) When the three of us checked into our room, first all was well, then when we got back after dinner there was some kind of strong sewer type smell. However, when we brought that to the receptionist's attention and asked to change the room, he did so promptly, and the second room was no worse in layout, size, or view, and the problem never reoccurred with the new room.

(2) Their website has one weird feature: Nowhere on it do you find the phone number where you can reach the reception at the actual physical hotel! One is some Spain number, another a toll free number one can only dial from within Mexico. My brother needed to call me once from abroad, and it was very tedious for him to find out the reception's number (after the receptionist even accidentally gave me the wrong number when I asked him!). They need to take care of this on their website!

Else, it's a nice, picturesque, dreamy place, and as such, a welcome departure from the otherwise rather aggressive and sometimes even scamming aspects of some of the hotel and commercial tourist industry in the Riviera Playa area!

Room Tip: If you're a group of people needed more than one room, ask to be situated in rooms connected to each other. Else, you'll be in adjascent rooms with strangers. Which is fine since the doors separating them can be locked. But it's nice to have your friends as neighbours if they are with you anyway.
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Mimi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2011

Go and enjoy in this wonderful place..... Too quiet.
Very nice and friendly staff. Needs maintenance in some areas (gym, spa, lobby).
Special architectural style.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jose5454
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2011

I was looking for a great deal on a hotel when I found this hotel thru Bestfares. I already knew we would have a rent car, and the photos online showed a lovely hotel. This is by far the best deal in Playa del Carmen. I knew its location inside Playa Car and studied the google map so I was able to drive right to the front entrance of the hotel with no problems. The staff is very personable and caring. The room was just lovely. 2 queen size beds overlooking the pool. A/C was great. If you are an independent type of traveller, like to have a rent car, go out for lunch and dinner and eat breakfast at your hotel, this will be a great home base to discover Playa del Carmen. The hotel is like a hacienda. Just big enough to have lovely grounds, pool and entrance, yet small enough to feel like you are at someones personal hacienda. We enjoyed the buffet each morning served around the pool area, and explored all day to return to the pool to refresh ourselves before going out again. The hotel sits inside a 2nd gaurded gate entrance inside Playa Car. We felt very safe, enough to stroll in the evenings way after dark. The corner stores provide several types of quick foods, a convienence store, laundry, and hair salon. We used all the stores while at the hotel. Easy in and out. The grounds of the hotel are amazing, photos do not do it justice. It is true some of the "normal" hotel things are lacking, however, we did not miss any of it. For example, no bar. We are not drinkers so it did not matter to us. The restaurant closes at 3 each day, not a problem for us, we left early and ate out each day. The staff makes up for anything you might think you need by just asking. A point that someone might find useful is that parking is very close to the lobby, and easy to get to your room and pool without walking forever. The rooms are designed so that you can have a 3 bedroom villa with a full service kitchen in your room. The rooms have separate entrances, and a large family gathering would be ideal here. We stayed 11 nights, and I wish I could have stayed forever. Go down and enjoy Mexico, the good prices and deals will not last forever.

Room Tip: The staff wants you to be happy, so if you do not like your room, talk to them. We had room 301 and overlooked the pool from the 3rd floor.
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank lazybeacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2011

After booking The Hacienda Vista Real on Priceline.com and reading the reviews, I was very concerned about the place. There were some strange issues on the hotel grounds which I will mention, but this place was so beautiful and peaceful that I came home missing it. The staff is very nice and friendly. The strange issues would be the hot tub--- they have a huge hot tub that is filled with water but no jets running and when we asked they said it didn't work. When I asked about the gym, she said it was over in the spa area (which is closed down) and she also said there was no air conditioning at the gym. We walked over to see it and found it upstairs...it was so hot we would have passed out from the heat within minutes so we kept exploring the Spa area. On the rooftop we found a beautiful pool (clean and full of water) not being used by anyone (weird). The breakfast buffet wasn't the best food ever but it's free and that was a nice surprise to us ~ they had a lot of food to choose from for a free buffet. It seemed odd that the bar was only open til 3pm but you learn to survive :) ~ buy a six pack and keep it in your room fridge! The air conditioning was okay but could have been a little cooler. The pool is perfect and very relaxing ~ since there are not hundreds of people staying here, you will have the pool to yourself a lot of the time. I took hundreds of photos of the place. I was grateful that they allow you to print your plane tickets before you leave...it's just nicer than the huge resorts for many reasons like that. All of the workers were friendly. There is free Wi-Fi in the lobby area. We found that in the heat, it was much better to get a cab than walk. We took a cab at least once a day.....it's a quick trip and well worth it.---Just a little inconvenient at times. I think that the peace and quiet of this hotel is what makes it a very special hotel that you can truly relax at. I loved the Mexican ambiance of the place.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank wripp86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews