We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic and a must”

Coba Mayan Traditions
Book In Advance
More Info
US$138.99*
and up
Maya Adventure from Playa del Carmen: Coba Ruins, Traditional Village and...
Ranked #10 of 375 Tours in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: COBA MAYAN TRADITIONS is one of the greatest Familiar and Cultural tour in the Riviera Maya! Offers you one of the most authentic insights of the Mayan culture, ancient and actual world in Coba archeological site, a real Mayan Village and a fabulous Cenote. In this tour you will visit the tallest Mayan Pyramid (Nohoch Mul) in the zone. The only one still available to climb nowadays! The view on the top is mesmerizing!! Coba ancient city hosts two courts of the famous and mysterious “Ball game”. After our ancestral Mayan journey, we will transfer to the Mayan contemporary Village. Where our visitors enjoy and have a connection with this unique place inside the rain forest with a local lunch in an ecological restaurant, a Mayan Purification with a Chaman, a visit to the Mayan descendants, a demonstration of the extraction of the “Mayan Gum”. The final activity, we will invite you in to immerse in a wonderful Cenote discovering one of the attractions that you can only find in the Mayan Riviera. Our archeological guides will be your host of the area and country they are very knowledgeable of all the information and service that you can imagine about Mexico. In COBA MAYAN TRADITIONS you will spend the day exploring and embracing the amazing Mayan World!
panda in paisley
Level 6 Contributor
220 reviews
58 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
“Fantastic and a must”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Remember your mosquito spray!! Walked to the coba and it's a must to pay the extra to get the bike back. It helps the people in Mexico and is very reasonable. Walked to the top of the coba and it's was fantastic. The trip started at 6am and its was slightly cooler and quieter. The guides was very informative and it was an memorable day.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank seagull021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,942 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,750
    976
    173
    23
    20
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hatfield, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Climbing the ruins”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Excellent tour... wish i could have done more zip lines. THe authentic Mayan lunch was great. You need some stamina to walk the jungle but it is well worth the effort.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Daryl L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fun,but not mandatory.”
Reviewed 3 August 2014

If you have an option between all of the Mayan ruins, Chichen Itza is the one to go see. I have been to Coba, Tulum and Chichen Itza and Chichen Itza blows the others away. Tulum is just like a park next to the beach. At Coba, it was a bit more historical and we had Mayan descendants take us on a bike ride and they acted like guides of sorts. So this was better than Tulum in that way. But it's over pretty quickly and you are on your way.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank milenap784
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 6 Contributor
228 reviews
107 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Long but terrific adventure day at Coba and Pacchen”
Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

Booked Mayan Coba adventure tour with Altournative through Expedia. From reading other reviews the tour company and size of group can make a huge difference. We had one van (11 people) for the tour all leaving from Cancun hotel strip resorts. First stop was Pacchen for hiking, zip-line, rapelled into cenote, canoeing and a good hot lunch. The canoeing wasn't much but everything else was fun. We even had a blessing from a Mayan elder which felt authentic. Note that you are lifted out of the cenote but if you want you can try climbing a rope ladder out. I did it but it was harder than it looks. Even on a hot day the jungle canopy makes the weather tolerable. We then went to Coba. It was great to explore the ruins on bike and climb the pyramid with amazing views. This is one of the best excursions I have done and I really liked our guide Israel. It does take about 1.5 to 2 hours driving each way but it was nice on way back to just sleep.

Helpful?
1 Thank BartLasVegas_Nevada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surbiton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Must do !”
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Brilliant experience, superb energy, execution 10-10. Professionalism and dedication ! the environment with the river and boats, the costumes and dances...the scenery with the fire and smoke , the drumming guys, superb execution

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Hans S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Coba Mayan Traditions also viewed

Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Coba, Quintana Roo
 
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 

Been to Coba Mayan Traditions? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing