We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“average interest”

Coba Mayan Traditions
Book In Advance
More Info
US$138.99*
and up
Maya Adventure from Playa del Carmen: Coba Ruins, Traditional Village and...
Ranked #10 of 375 Tours in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: COBA MAYAN TRADITIONS is one of the greatest Familiar and Cultural tour in the Riviera Maya! Offers you one of the most authentic insights of the Mayan culture, ancient and actual world in Coba archeological site, a real Mayan Village and a fabulous Cenote. In this tour you will visit the tallest Mayan Pyramid (Nohoch Mul) in the zone. The only one still available to climb nowadays! The view on the top is mesmerizing!! Coba ancient city hosts two courts of the famous and mysterious “Ball game”. After our ancestral Mayan journey, we will transfer to the Mayan contemporary Village. Where our visitors enjoy and have a connection with this unique place inside the rain forest with a local lunch in an ecological restaurant, a Mayan Purification with a Chaman, a visit to the Mayan descendants, a demonstration of the extraction of the “Mayan Gum”. The final activity, we will invite you in to immerse in a wonderful Cenote discovering one of the attractions that you can only find in the Mayan Riviera. Our archeological guides will be your host of the area and country they are very knowledgeable of all the information and service that you can imagine about Mexico. In COBA MAYAN TRADITIONS you will spend the day exploring and embracing the amazing Mayan World!
Berkshire
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“average interest”
Reviewed 21 August 2014

We love this type of trip but this was a whistle stop to one person's 'house' and didn't really get any essence of how they really live.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank JoBruno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,946 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,753
    976
    174
    23
    20
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Fun Family Day - Bike & Climb A Pyramid!”
Reviewed 20 August 2014

Our family loved this day! Stayed 2 nights in Tulum and had a car - easy drive to the ruins, arrive early (9ish) to avoid crowds. Bikes are cheap and in all sizes - rusty but work just fine and the grounds are flat so it is super easy to bike everywhere. Very shady too, not very hot like the other ruins. Head straight to the big pyramid first and climb up - not as hard as it looks and very rewarding - how often do you get to do this! Brought our own water but they have a stand by the big pyramid. You can get a guide but we read up before we left and just enjoyed the atmosphere and listened in on other tours occasionally (were even told we could join in, no problem!) Great family day!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Cheri M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
48 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“A wonderful early morning experience.”
Reviewed 20 August 2014

We took a week and drove to Mahawal then to Coba. We stayed at the Archaeological Resort which is within walking distance from the ruins. It is an old, once grand Motel that still has comfort and good food. We walked to the Ruins and were there at 8am when the gates opened. We then walked straight to the bike hire and rode directly to the Coba Ruin so that we would be the first to arrive as alot of others come later with a tour. I loved that we were the only two climbing to the top of the Pyramid and were able to enjoy the Peace and serenity and amazing views from the top for about an hour. We were peddling to another ruin when the hoards of people from bus tours began to ascend on the Pyramid. I was happy we did it first and then enjoyed the other many ruins at our leisure. There is alot to see. We studied alot of the History before we went and had previously visited a fantastic Museum in Chetumal for hours to learn the history. We did not have a guide as we like to look at our pace but I think a guide is beneficial. Great place to visit and to know that there is so much more to uncover there.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank MermaidOZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Porto, Portugal
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Fantastic place with history, but needs more care”
Reviewed 20 August 2014

It is a fantastic place filled with history.

It needs to be better taken care of, by the govermet.

People are ruining the pyramid with constant climbig from tourists every day.

A piece of history might be at risk

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank FilipePio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
60 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“explore COBA”
Reviewed 20 August 2014

This tour takes you on a guided tour through COBA on bikes. You can pay 4 dollars a person to be rode around if you would rather not ride yourself. I wouldn't recammend walking it though. Its about a 10 minute bike ride moving at a pretty good pace so you can immagine how long the walk might be. I found the story of the ball court very interesting. I was concerned about climbing on the ruins at the end. Well, not so much the climbing but the return trip down. It was worth it. This is the only Mayan ruin you can still climb on to explore. If you can physically challenge yourself you will be glad you made it to the top.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank hutchens74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Coba Mayan Traditions also viewed

Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Coba, Quintana Roo
 
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 

Been to Coba Mayan Traditions? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing