We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Its Amazing!”
Review of La Penita de Jaltemba - CLOSED

La Penita de Jaltemba
Price range: US$8 - US$23
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: "La Peñita de Jaltemba" is a seafood restaurant/bar its name is inspired in a beach of the nayarit riviera, it offers fresh seafood. Prepared to fulfill the most demanding palates, our menu has a wide variety of options for our clients, even for those who don't eat seafood.Don't forget to try one of our exotic cocktails on our menu.We are located in one of the hottest places to hang in playa del carmen for locals and tourists.
Reviewed 15 July 2014 via mobile

The Real! Best place!! If you want eat SeaFood... This its the place! Excelent service, Clean, and very Good prices! Just i Love it "la peñita"

Thank Eduardo F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ale A, Director de Relaciones Públicas at La Penita de Jaltemba, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2014

thank you for your review!!! we hope to see you here soon!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviews (206)
There are newer reviews for La Penita de Jaltemba
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

23 - 27 of 206 reviews

Reviewed 12 July 2014 via mobile

great place for fish and seafood. loved the decoration, excellent service and nice environment. Order the "montaditos de atun" its delicious and full of flavor.

Thank frecols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ale A, Director de Relaciones Públicas at La Penita de Jaltemba, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2014

thank you for your review!!!!! hope to see you soon here!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Go with at least 4 people and order different entrees to share. We ordered Tecataco, Shrimp "Tacos", Piquin Salmon, Tostado de Callo, Special Scallops and Natural Scallops and the Vallarta Burrito. We loved every dish except the burrito. The burrito wasn't 'bad', the sauce was just a bit sweet for our tastes. We were all so full but still looking at the menu for 'just one more bite'!
The day we were there (at lunch time) the service was excellent. Very attentive. Only down side was the wine list. Or rather, lack of selection. Can't wait to go back again.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank bajathecat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ale A, Director de Relaciones Públicas at La Penita de Jaltemba, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2014

thank you so much for your review!!! we also consider that sharing our menu is a great idea so you can try a little bit of everything! we hope to see you soon!!!

follow us on instagram @lpjaltemba

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014

We showed up a little bit after the previous reviewer (hanzgruber) and wondered why the place was empty as well. Sunday night (4/13) was our first night in PDC and we had a long day of travel to get there. We were hungry, but also wanted our first meal to be a good one. We wandered up and down 5th ave a little while and nothing struck our fancy. On a whim, we walked off the main street away from the crowds, and boy, were we happy we did. The food was great, the waitstaff attentive and helpful (our waiter turned on his light on his phone and held it so I could read the menu), and we left very satisfied. We had marlin enchiladas with a chipoltle sauce--a smoky flavor. The tilapia tostada with pineapple chunks and coriander. Marlin tacos and flank steak tacos which were meat only. we also had a tuna tostada that none of us cared for. It was a good slab of tuna, almost like sashimi, which none of us really like prepared that way. We also ordered melon basil juice and grape juice. Our only dislike was when we arrived, we wanted to sit outside and they at first steered us to a bigger table that was right ext to a 50 inch TV with a soccer game. We asked to be seated away from that, closer to the street where it was darker, thus my trouble seeing the menu at night. I'm not a fan of TVs in restaurants, especially if no one is there and one is watching it. we did like the music. To sum it up, walk off the main street to this place and be prepared to have a great meal

1  Thank avguy819
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ale A, Director de Relaciones Públicas at La Penita de Jaltemba, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2014

thanks for your review!!! we are very glad that you found our restaurant and that you liked everything in the menu!!!! we hope to see you here when you come back!!!

follow us on instagram @lpjaltemba

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014

We showed up at around 8:00 on a Sunday night and there was no one dining there which was a little concerning. The menu looked interesting so on a flyer we decided to try it out and what a good decision it was. The food was excellent! Everything from the Caldo de Cameron to the ceviche tostada to the pescado gringa al pastor. The service was obviously excellent as we were the only ones there but we couldn't help wonder why this place wasn't packed. It's down closer to 1st avenue so not right on the main drag but it's definitely worth a small detour if you are in the mood for some seafood.

1  Thank hanzgruber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ale A, Director de Relaciones Públicas at La Penita de Jaltemba, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2014

we are so glad to hear that you liked everything and that the service was great!!! thanks for your review it will help us attract tourists to our venue, since we are not on the main st. a lot of tourist miss our delicious food.. actually we owe you a costumer jejeje

hope to see you on your next visit!!!

follow us on instagram @LPJaltemba

cheers!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Penita de Jaltemba also viewed

Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa Maroma, Playa del Carmen
 
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing