We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We will come back!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of El Tapas & Company

El Tapas & Company
Ranked #24 of 1,217 Restaurants in Playa del Carmen
Price range: US$4 - US$15
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Cheap Eats
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
147 reviews
117 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“We will come back!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014 via mobile

After reading so many great reviews I wanted to try El Tapas. I had guests in town. I was told by another Restauranteur that he had heard some negative comments. I decided to go by the restaurant for myself. At first glance the restaurant seemed to lack ambiance and I decided against trying it with our guests. Tonight we decided to give it a try.... I wish that I had taken our guests there after-all! Delicious food!!! We had Gazpacho, Chorizo, Octopus with Potatoes, Tortilla, Spanish Potatoes and Seafood Paella. Our crew loved every bite!!! The service was friendly, helpful and quick. the bill was reasonable. We loved it and will make this a regular visit!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Garson H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

652 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    497
    96
    39
    15
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Love it!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2013 via mobile

We got here in the very first night at Playa del Carmen by chance. All the food were excellent. Servers are friendly and very kind. We tried other restaurants but this was the best place I ate at Playa del Carmen. While it is a great restaurant, it's a small restaurant. If you prefer not to wait, I would suggest to avoid a busy time and go there later at night.

Helpful?
Thank chikatun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Flavorful, home-like cooked, fresh food. Attentive, courteous service.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 December 2013 via mobile

We've been coming to playa every year, for the past 6 years and I just stumbled on this restaurant tonight. Thanks to trip advisor, we just had the best meal in a long time here. In our party, we had 2 seniors plus 4 kids inc a 2 yr old. The owner was very accommodating and helped us with ordering and seating us. We had the seafood paella which was by far the best I've had ever. Moist, loaded with seafood. Not oily or salty. Just perfect. My 8 yr old had the burgers, which were so flavorful. There are 3 sandwiches on 1 order. We had the Creme brûlée like dessert which was heavenly and decadent. A Perfectly rich, smooth and sweet ending to our meal. My kids also had the orange ice cream, which is orange ice cream stuffed into an orange that's frozen. So delicious! We ordered another one. All in all a great meal in a beautiful city location that beats the busy touristy 5th ave. I'd prefer to dine here over those restaurants any evening. All this for $120. We will definitely be returning.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Sheyam72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
Level Contributor
57 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Great dining experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2013

Thanks to other reviewers, we had our most enjoyable lunch while spending two weeks in Playa del Carmen. Lovely attentive Spanish born hostess and a paella mixta well worth waiting for. We split albondigas to start and sipped on the most delicious sangria. Quite a find. If the rest of the menu measures up, this is tapas and pinchos as good as anything you'd see in Spain.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Vickio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
290 reviews
183 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Excellent Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2013 via mobile

Yet another glowing review for El Tapas. Great spot for paella, and we do recommend the seafood paella.

Helpful?
Thank TheTangoFox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed El Tapas & Company also viewed

Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 

Been to El Tapas & Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing