We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Timeshare Nightmare! Don't go!”
Review of The Bliss Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Playa del Carmen
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Bliss Resort
Ranked #136 of 214 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ohio
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Timeshare Nightmare! Don't go!”
Reviewed 27 December 2013

Upon arrival to the beautiful lobby, we were attacked by the sharks from the timeshare. They were ruthless in getting us to sign up, and even though we knew better, we were worn down. The perks kept increasing, and our jet lagged bodies just wanted to get to our room. The next morning we appeared at the required location, and enjoyed an amazing breakfast. Then to the selling room, where the torture began. As we said no 3-5 times, we were elevated to the next chap in the management Que.. No to him, sent us even higher up the shark food chain. We have now invested nearly 3 hours, when we were promised 1 hour max. Along the way, one of the "Sales Professionals" said, when we said we were leaving that he would be penalized if we didn't stay through his presentation. We finally stood and started walking out, when we were shuffled into yet an other room, and told to sit again. When we refused, we were told by a retirement aged, very nice gentleman, that he may lose his job if we didn't comply. We sat. Then, we were approached yet again with another sales speech. We stood and attempted to leave, but were halted yet again to sign some paperwork to get our promised perks. From there we sent to another place/room to get them; another line. We were promised 4 things, received 1.5 of them, oddly enough both of which were on site. The other two were travel promotions, sounding to good to be true; $99 week of travel and $300 travel voucher. Neither of which could be used for any average vacation w/out spending hundreds more.
The hotel itself is beautiful, and the grounds impeccable. The timeshare experience totally ruined what should have been an exquisite experience.

Room Tip: Our room overlooked the gardens. Most room are a long walk to the pools/beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
18 Thank Beth C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Socialmediamanager1, Manager at The Bliss Resort, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
Dear Beth C :

We truly appreciate the time you have taken to share with us your impression about your stay at The Bliss. We are delighted to find out that you liked our resort and breathtaking grounds.

It is disappointing to learn that your experience was not satisfactory. As one of the most successful companies in the Mexican tourism field, we clearly communicate the terms and conditions associated with accepting an invitation to our sales presentation. We appreciate their visit whether they decide to acquire our products or not.

Nonetheless, this highly exceptional occurrence will be shared with the appropriate area since we strive to make each and every one of our guests feel cared for, appreciated and respected.

If we are fortunate to welcome you back in the near future, we are confident your stay will be memorable.

Yours sincerely,
The Bliss Riviera Maya Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    17
    5
    3
    2
See reviews for
22
23
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2013

We went a-la-carte, not all inclusive.
Very nice, but skip the sales pitch.
Rooms do not face water, but grounds are beautiful, well kept.
Service is responsive.
Location is central to Mayan ruins, Cancun, Playa del Carmen, etc.

Room Tip: no water views due to prior hurricanes, but nice grounds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Stan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Socialmediamanager1, Manager at The Bliss Resort, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
Dear Stan M :

Thank you very much for submitting your review of your stay at The Bliss. We are happy to learn that you enjoyed our beautiful grounds.

We are always looking to surpass our clients’ expectations of genuine hospitality by providing outstanding locationsand service excellence, and your comments confirm we achieved that for your stay.

It will be an honor to have you as guests again!

Happily,
The Bliss RivieraMaya Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Creal Springs, Illinois
Level Contributor
112 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

The room and staff were very nice. We stayed in a one bedroom with a kitchen which came fully equipped with everything we needed. Cleaning staff came by twice a day with fresh linens. The pool was gorgeous but very far from the room (8-10 minute walk). There are two swim up bars, a volley ball net, basketball nets, and lounge chairs in the pool. There are cabana beds by the pool for about $30 a day, but if you buy the equivalent in food or drinks you get the cabana bed for free! The beach was by the pool and was not swimmable because it was too rocky. All the restaurants except one were near the pool/beach area so you had a long walk or had to take a golf cart to get to them. The resort is huge and in a beautiful jungle-like setting. All the food we had there was excellent.

Room Tip: All the rooms are about the same. They come with a "jungle" view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Honey1721
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Socialmediamanager1, Manager at The Bliss Resort, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
Dear Honey1721 :

Thank you for providing your comments about your vacation at The Bliss. We always like to hear about our guests’ experiences since it is the only way to truly know we are doing a great job to making your stay enjoyable.

We are glad you enjoyed our facilities, your accommodations and we are grateful for your kind words about our staff's service, as they work very hard to achieve excellence.

We take great pride in creating incredible vacation experiences for our guests, and truly look forward to welcoming you again soon!

Happily,
The Bliss RivieraMaya Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brunswick Heads, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2013

We stayed at the Bliss Resort for 1 week at the end of our 1 month journey through Mexico and it was the perfect finish to a great trip. The rooms are beautifully appointed, the staff cannot do enough for you and the facilities and gardens are first class. The resort is part of the Mayan Group and the whole complex is so huge you need a shuttle bus to take you around (or you can walk if you have the energy). There is also a shuttle bus that takes guests into town (Playa del Carmen) every couple of hours, which is cheaper than getting a regular taxi. There are a few restaurants in the resort, but we generally ate out in town, as they are a bit expensive. However, the resort does have a few theme nights that are fun for a change. The resort has a crocodile enclosure and pink flamingoes, as well as heaps of iguanas roaming around. Also has a golf course if you are that way inclined. We were there on exchange through RCI and we got a fantastic deal, however our 90 minute sales presentation blew out to 5 hours (and 5 salesmen)!!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank LIS266
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa del Carmen
3.1 mi away
The Royal Haciendas All Suites Resort & Spa
The Royal Haciendas All Suites R...
#44 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,422 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Palm at Playa
The Palm at Playa
#27 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,355 reviews
1.0 mi away
The St. Martin Boutique Hotel
The St. Martin Boutique Hotel
#15 of 173 in Playa del Carmen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.8 mi away
Generations Riviera Maya by Karisma
3.8 mi away
Azul Beach Resort The Fives Playa Del Carmen
Azul Beach Resort The Fives Play...
#56 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,885 reviews
0.8 mi away
Playacar Palace
Playacar Palace
#19 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bliss Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bliss Resort

Property: The Bliss Resort
Address: Km 48 Carretera Federal, Playa del Carmen, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#54 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#65 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Number of rooms: 102
Also Known As:
The Bliss Resort Mexico/Riviera Maya - Playa Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing