We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fiesta Banana - great”
Review of Hotel Banana

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Banana
Ranked #120 of 214 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Reviewed 16 February 2008

We just got back from a 2 week stay in Playa Del Carmen at the Fiesta Banana Hotel. It is a family run hotel, the brothers taking turns in the office. Ask Roberto and he will give you some restaurant tips off of the tourist strip that are excellent. There were four of us in two separate rooms. One on the 2ND floor and ours on the 3RD floor. Both rooms were kept spotless each day. There was also a "special towel" arrangement each day also. All of the staff were very helpful and friendly, especially Oscar the afternoon desk clerk. He was great. The restaurant of the hotel does a great breakfast so no need to wander for your morning coffee fix. They also have "happy hour" all day long, 2X1 drinks, every day all day. My wife and sister had to have their Mojito fix every day there. The best thing about the Fiesta Banana is its location. It is only 2 blocks from the Mamitas and Kool beach clubs and is on the more quiet end of 5Th Ave. Babe's is on the next block and the PG Sports bar is only a few blocks away.

  • Stayed: February 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank PaulMNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (332)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

105 - 111 of 332 reviews

Reviewed 3 February 2008

My mother, sister and I, older adults, are budget travelers. We choose our hotels based upon price (and of course reviews). We were not disappointed with our choice of Fiesta Banana. The hotel is clean and well kept. The balcony was tiny and not useable because of the tropical plants from the street taking over the balcony, but we were there to sight see and not sit around the room! The staff was friendly and helpful, arranged a Chichen Itza tour for us at our request, which cost slightly less than if we'd prebooked through any website.
I booked the room through a website other than the hotel's, because they requested credit card information be submitted via e-mail and I wasn't comfortable doing that - didn't seem secure. It took a couple of e-mails from me with the off-site reservation information before Fiesta confirmed the reservation, but that was not a big problem.
The room key operates the lights and a/c and the key must be turned into the desk each time you leave the room. That's not a problem in Nov. and it saves them on the electric bill, I guess!
we didn't use the very small pool, in fact, never saw anyone use it. If you haven't been in Mexico, don't be surprised at the signs requesting that ALL paper and paper products be disposed of in the waste basket and not flushed.
We walked from the bus station to the hotel, about a 15-20 min walk. That gave us a chance to get our first glimpse of 5th ave.
We paid extra for the continental breakfast served between 9a and 11a. Coffee/cappuccion, o.j. and toast w/ jam. Restaurant is also open for lunch and evening I believe, but we weren't around.
we had no problem with sleep being disturbed by noise even though there is a small restaurant/bar right across the street. we also enjoyed evenings in the second floor common room which had two sides open to the street. bottled water was available there for the guests.
There are also MANY other resturants all along 5th ave.

  • Stayed: November 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank jlmiller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2007

My boyfriend and I stayed there from sep 18-25, 2007... The hotel was very easy to find (we were driving from the airport), and since the first moment the crew were very polite, and also funny. Even we arrived pretty early still they give us our room. It had plenty of room for two people, because c'mon... we use the room for sleeping(LOL), not to hanging out, who needs more space? :P

Anyway, the room was cleaned every day, and we got the famous swans, butterflies, etc, made with the towels, it was a very nice detail. We give a deposit for beach towels and it was refund at the end of the stay.

Its located at the north end of the 5th, wich i found it great because is not noisy, even tho there's a small lounge in the front corner, it wasnt noisy, believe me, i slept perfecly every single night and i have a light sleep.

The continental breakfast included its perfectly fine, coffee (my boyfriend asked expresso and i asked a capuccino, everysingle day), with toast, butter and strawberry jelly, was fine, and i realize that actually i dont need more for breakfast.

The Mamita's Beach discount coupons, were right at the counter, and it give's a 50% discount, but c'mon ppl, the rent of the chairs is for $30 pesos each, that's 3usd or 2eur... DO U REALLY COMPLAIN about not finding the coupons???? Anyway, we got them everyday, everytime we left the key.

The room had air conditioned wich it had to be turned off at nights, cause its so damn cold, with the ceiling fan its ok... at day the AC is a MUST.

We didnt use the little pool, indeed is pretty small, more like a jacuzzi, but i guess its a good option if is raining, we got a day of rain, but we drive ourselfs to a mall, to the movies, so no pool needed

Anyway, we for sure are staying there again if we come back to Playa. Great service, great price, great location, lovely people.

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Megharah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2007

My husband and I stayed here for three nights in early September. There were several things that could have been better about the stay, but the hotel was so charming and fun we really enjoyed our stay, and the price was great, too!

The only things we didn't like about the hotel were the piece of chewed up gum we found in the shower (yuck!) and the paper thin walls. We could hear the maids cleaning every day, and at night we heard the LOUD club next door. Luckily, I had ear plugs! Other than the gum the room was always very clean.

The location of the hotel was great - right at the north end of Quinta, and only two blocks from the beach. We also loved the general look of the building. The pool, though quite small, was really nice because it was mostly shaded so it was cooler than the ocean and I could still enjoy swimming when I was sunburned. We were disappointed because we never saw the Mamitas beach club discount coupons that were advertised.

I would recommend this hotel to my friends, and I disagree with the review who said this place felt like a hostel. We thought it felt like a local Mexican inn.

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank flygurl814
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2007

We went in February of 2007 for a week. Overall, I enjoyed it. Upon entering the room, I was very impressed. It was not a large room, but it had plenty of room for two people. The bed was nicely made and the room was clean. The towels were folded on the bed to be shaped like two swans and there were flower petals surrounding it! Very pretty. It definitely gave the room a special feel. There were basic amenities- clean shower and restroom, simple closet and chest of drawers. For a $20 deposit we were given a safety box and for another deposit, beach towels, and upon leaving, our deposits were refunded to us when we returned the key and towel. I understood the reason for deposit in case we lost our key or towels.

Breakfast was also included in our price, but it was just a basic continental breakfast. The staff was very helpful and friendly during our stay and answered our questions. We booked a few tours at good prices and we had a fantastic time. The location was at the end of 5th Ave, and I liked the location because it was a little quieter, but a short walk to the many restaurants and shops. We easily walked everwhere. It was only a few minutes walk to the beach -no time at all!- and through the hotel we had discounted access to nice beach clubs with umbrellas and lounge chairs. If you follow 5th Ave, it is only about a 20 minute walk to the ferry that goes to Cozumel, as well.

Overall, I was very pleased with our stay, I admired the beauty and tropical feel of the hotel, and enjoyed what we were given for such a low price. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed: February 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank deanabee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2007

We were excited to read all the great reviews of Fiesta Banana on Trip Advisor, so we were really looking forward to checking in. It is rated as a great place for young people to stay so we figured we'd fit right in, as our group was in our mid to late 20's. our experiences weren't bad - it is a clean hotel and we had no real problems while staying there. but i was disapponted when the hotel felt more like a hostel. they ask you to return your keys each time you leave the hotel. i'm sure this aleviates many problems over lost keys on a night out in playa, however, i didn't like not being able to keep our room keys with us at all times. they require a monetary deposit to use the safe deposit box in your room which was irritating because we were already paying for the room. the safe deposit box is an amenity that should be included with the room. the shower drain was very slow to drain and left us with a shower full of gross sudsy water, that was still there the next morning. and we didn't experience the warm friendliness from the people who work there that has been talked about in many reviews. i've found hotels in the area that are cheaper with more to offer.
playa is definitely a huge party central so if you want a place near the main strip to crash in after a really long night out drinking, fiesta banana is convenient and simple and the price is good for the location. however, it might not be the best place for you if you want something a little more cozy, relaxing and intimate while in playa.
Also, if you use expedia to book the room, they mention that the lock box and hair dryers (actually only one at the reception desk for the whole hotel) are amenities for all the rooms. i wish they had mentioned that this wasn't the case. AND BE AWARE that expedia does not actually charge you for the room, they only put a hold on it to make sure your card is valid. you actually will have to pay when you get there. that caused us a huge headache trying to figure out if we were paying twice for our stay.

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank heartintulum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2007

Stayed: May 2007
1  Thank tvlbabe423
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.3 mi away
Sunrise 42 Suites Hotel
Sunrise 42 Suites Hotel
#75 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
328 reviews
0.1 mi away
BRIC Hotel & Spa
BRIC Hotel & Spa
#60 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
518 reviews
1.1 mi away
Angelo's Hotel
Angelo's Hotel
#115 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Koox Caribbean Paradise Hotel
Koox Caribbean Paradise Hotel
#129 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
392 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Plaza Playa
Hotel Plaza Playa
#69 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
499 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Playa del Karma
Hotel Playa del Karma
#133 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
562 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Banana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Banana

Address: 5a. Av. Nte. Esq. Calle 32, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico (Formerly Fiesta Banana)
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#84 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range: £32 - £160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Banana 2.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Banana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banana Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Hotel Banana Mexico/Riviera Maya - Playa Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing