We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great value for money,helpful staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Banana

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Banana
Ranked #108 of 213 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Milan, Italy
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great value for money,helpful staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2013

I've stayed in this cosy hotel twice already,it's conveniently located at one end of the 5th Avenida, 5 mins' walk from the beach. The hotel provides beach towels and offers 50% discount for the Mamita's Beach Club, which in my opinion is the best part of the beach here in Playa del Carmen. The rooms are thouroghly cleaned daily, there's 24h security, free wifi, and the hotel staff can organize all sorts of excursions,activities,and short trips, from their travel agency next door.
The staff are friendly,young,and really helpful. I had an inconvenience with my luggage that was delivered by the airline 3 days after my arrival, and the staff really made an effort to sort this out for me (special thanks to Matteo,Salome' and Roberto!). I strongly recommend this hotel to anyone visiting the Riviera Maya!
Valentina from Milan,Italy

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ValeMilan_Italy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

330 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    144
    131
    39
    10
    6
See reviews for
76
134
22
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2013

Centrally located at the north end of the Quinta Avenida. Close to all the entertainment but still away from the big noice. Excellent location with very friendly and helpful owners and staff.Very clean rooms, excellent beds, rooms very good isolated so no noice from other guest.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ursli_5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riverside, California
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2013

This was a great value. The rooms are small but clean. The shower was great. The internet wasn't working in the rooms but downstairs. Breakfast was not included though there was a choice that I thought we took. Food was a little expensive, but there are tons of places all over town to eat. The staff was friendly and helpful and honestly the location is absolutely fantastic.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MicheleTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Playa del Carmen, Quintana Roo, Mexico
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2013

My husband has always stayed at Hotel Banana when he comes to Playa del Carmen by himself, we stay at a friend's when we are together. The Hotel is small, clean and in a great location. My daughter and son-in-law were booked in there for a one night stay, which I payed for in cash, and for an unforseen reason, had to cancel their stay at the last minute.
Hotel Banana was kind enough to refund my money, which they did not have to do, with under twenty four hours notice. That's a class act.

Room Tip: Back corner on second floor, right side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2013

We spent a night here before finding something long-term in Playa del Carmen. Though the price is reasonable for a few nights, there are cheaper places available of similar quality. The location, however, is great, the service was friendly and the place was clean. A good option for someone wanting to be close to beach, and the action of 5th avenue, whilst being in a relatively quiet part of town.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sjchambo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2013

I loved staying here! The price is soo cheap, especially for the location, right on 5th Ave, the main street. Everything is accesible. A 3 minute walk to the beach. The rooms are super clean and have a balcony. There is a safe in the room. The beds are strong. The experience was wonderful.

The staff is outstanding, especially the main receptionist Simone. I only had to make a request once and I knew by the end of the day it would be met. From planning tours and excursions, to changes to the room. She excelled at her job. The others knew less English, but were eager to be available and super sweet.

Easily one of the very best hotels I have ever stayed at. A true gem.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gdsn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
88 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2012

I stayed there for more than 2 weeks. I like hotel and staff a lot. The staff is very friendly, hotel and rooms are clean. It's not very luxury but has everything you need and as you spend more time outside than in the hotel room it's definitely enough for you stay. Beds and pillows are very comfy. I like that you leave the key with the reception everytime you leave the hotel, this way you don't have to worry about loosing or what if it get stolen. It's much more comfortable this way. Also if you want a really quite room you should take rooms on the 3rd floor and also in the back (not street side). Rooms on the street side are obviously a little more noisy. You have WIFI and water (hot and cold to drink) for free. You will get towels for the beach and you will get coupons for Mamitas beach, so you get a discount of 50% on beds and umbrellas. What I like the most about this hotel is it's location. You are directly on the famous 5th avenue, you have shops, cafes and restaurants just in front or around the corner. It's safe and you only walk 5 minutes to the beach and you can really NOT complain about the prices. I would stay there again and again and will recommend it to all my friends.

Room Tip: rooms on the back side (not street side) and higher floor are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sana_pdc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Playa del Karma
Hotel Playa del Karma
#130 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 559 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sunrise 42 Suites Hotel
Sunrise 42 Suites Hotel
#63 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
0.8 mi away
Barrio Latino Hotel
Barrio Latino Hotel
#66 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 655 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Angelo's Hotel
Angelo's Hotel
#101 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
0.1 mi away
Luna Blue Hotel
Luna Blue Hotel
#87 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 939 reviews
0.7 mi away
Popol Vuh
Popol Vuh
#127 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Banana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Banana

Property: Hotel Banana
Address: 5a. Av. Nte. Esq. Calle 32, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico (Formerly Fiesta Banana)
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#85 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Banana 2.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Banana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banana Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Hotel Banana Mexico/Riviera Maya - Playa Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing