We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Chicken in Playa del Carmen”

Ferron's Jerk Chicken
Ranked #105 of 1,267 Restaurants in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$3 - US$8
Cuisines: Jamaican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery
Description: Jerk Chicken is one of the most delicious Jamaican dishes, it is a grilled spicy chicken that comes with warm bread and the House special souce, sweet and spicy. You can add grilled corn on the cob, coleslaw, white butter rice and mac and cheese. For dessert we have creme caramel. This is a delicious and different choice!
Playa del Carmen, Mexico
Level Contributor
62 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Best Chicken in Playa del Carmen”
Reviewed 30 April 2014

Ferron's has spoiled me for all other chicken places. Now whenever a chicken restaurant is suggested my answer is "I'd rather eat at Ferron's".

Great service (even delivery out here at my beach house).
Good prices.
And the best chicken in town.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank MichaelHolmes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    129
    30
    0
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Value for money? Oh my god yes”
Reviewed 24 November 2013

This place may looks as rough as hell to the luxury traveller: it's off the beaten track on 105th/constitution and before you pass comment, try their food. A Mexican friend took myself and my daughter there and believe me it is authentic jerk chicken - if you don't want jerk chicken don't go there - that's what they do and they do it SUPERBLY ... moreover it's not a rip off. Unbelievably good value and you can have a take away if the food isn't making the mark at your hotel. Great time Carmen and Ferron, sorry we couldn't get back for more xxx

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Judith H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing chicken in Playa Del Carmen!”
Reviewed 23 November 2013

A friend of mine took me to Ferron's for takeout, as I was looking for something authentic. It was some of the best chicken I've ever had. Absolutely delicious, and incredible value - a whole meal with chicken, rice, bread, and corn was less than $10. Can't wait for my next trip to Playa!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AndrewClauson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
48 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Best chicken in Pdc ”
Reviewed 8 November 2013 via mobile

This is a great place
Way off the beaten path but they will deliver
Pretty authentic jerk chicken Jamaica style
Whole chicken pint of cole slaw 4 ears of corn rolls 2 liter soda 195 pesos

Helpful?
1 Thank jeevers1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aarhus, Denmark
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Once a week, at least!!!”
Reviewed 4 November 2013

They might only have one thing on the menu but in all honesty that is why the magic happens!!
It is one of our absolute favourite places in town and we go here once a week. sometimes two days in a row:)

They have one signature dish where every single thing they put in front of you is amazing, flavourful, unique and cared for.
The chicken is spot on every time, cooked to absolute perfection! You might sometimes have to wait a bit longer for the chicken than the time before, but that is because they don't put it in front of you if they aren't proud of it!

The place is simple, basic and so atmospheric with the smoke from the grill and the reggae music playing. They welcome you with a smile and at least one person there who speaks perfect English.

The location is not the most convenient if you live in Centro but in that case, they deliver.

So if you want authenticity, pure and incredible flavour try this place!!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bobbine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ferron's Jerk Chicken also viewed

Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 

Been to Ferron's Jerk Chicken? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing