We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Royal is a luxurious place with excellent service, but it is also noisy and the beach is disappointing.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Royal Playa del Carmen
Ranked #11 of 209 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Fayetteville, Arkansas, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“The Royal is a luxurious place with excellent service, but it is also noisy and the beach is disappointing.”
Reviewed 14 June 2013

We've had a great time here. My husband and I came with two other couples June 7 -14. No one in our party got sick. The weather was great- hot, but breezy with no rain.

Pros:
-service: the service is impeccable. Elizabeth and Jaysson at the quiet pool took great care of us.
Azu took us on a bike tour of the area around the hotel and she made It very enjoyable for us by giving us a little history lesson on Mayan culture, pointing out places of Interest, etc.
Enrique in the spa gave me the best facial ever!
Housekeeping was fantastic. Our room was cleaned every day, fridge stocked with water, beer, sodas, snacks. And at night we had turndown service with rose petals and chocolates. They also lit candles in the room.

- rooms:nice, spacious rooms( we stayed in 297)comfy bed and pillows, Jacuzzi tub, hammock on the porch.

- restaurant choices: Asiana was the best, but there was also a really good Italian place at the sister resort across the street. It is not part of the all Inclusive plan, but you can charge it to your room.
We also tried Maria Marie's, Pelicanos, El Mediterraneano (which were All ok)and Spice. Spice has the best breakfast. The coffee house by the quiet pool is fantastic also.

-pools- water is perfect temp., pools are Kept clean, Lots of chairs. We preferred the quiet pool. The main pool area Is very large. They have activities there all day.

-nightly entertainment. Great!! Acrobatics, dancers, djs, Mayan shows

Cons:
-Poor beach: the beach was a big disappointment. It was not pretty at all and It smelled terrible. Its a public beach. There are plenty of covered beach chairs there though. If you head further south down the beach about 10 minutes or so, the beach gets much better with white sand and prettier water.

-Noise:the activities pool is very loud because there is music and entertainment going on there all day (think Spring Break ). Its a big party. It was also right outside our room. But no worries- we just spent our time at the quiet pool. Met lots of great guests there who were also seeking relief from the noise.

-Odor: the smell of sulfur was constant around the beach and activity pool area.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Caroline S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynn D, Manager at The Royal Playa del Carmen, responded to this review, 18 June 2013
Dear Guest,
Your comments are important for us and we are grateful that you take some minutes from your valued time and make this review from us, this is very helpful for us! Thank you so much for your feedback about the inconveniences you mentioned, this has been shared to the correct staffs and actions will be taken in order to improve for our future guests. . Thank you again and we hope that you come back and enjoy once again of all our services!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

15,918 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    12,493
    2,216
    679
    306
    224
See reviews for
1,841
9,591
202
197
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4,219)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 June 2013

My husband and I stayed 5 nights, but wished we could stay more. The service was phenominal, hotel staff was the best that we have ever encountered. The Rooms were spectacular and clean. Housekeeping was wonderful and left little treats and towel oragami every night. The Stand out for our trip was Pepe and Julio de la Torre from the Pelicanos Restaurtant...THE BEST wait staff and food. We ate there every day. Worth every penny!!

Room Tip: Rooms selections goes fast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yvette H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynn D, Manager at The Royal Playa del Carmen, responded to this review, 18 June 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for your fantastic review! We are very happy to hear that it was a great experience for you, and that you found our staff to be very helpful and attentive, this will motivate us to keep doing our best job!

Thank you for choosing us to spend your vacations. We are looking forward to host you again very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omaha, Nebraska
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2013

We traveled to the Royal 5/29 to 6/5. Previously was have visited five various Sandals in Jamaica. Arrival was very easy and customs/immigrations was a breeze. We had booked private transportation through USA Transfer and they were very professional and it took us about 40 minutes to get to the resort. We had booked an ocean view suite and I did the online check in prior to arriving at the resort. I picked a walkout to the main pool. We loved the location!
Room: we stayed in room 152 and we loved the location. Nelly was our housekeeper and every single day she cleaned our room during our preferred time (9-12) as well as did turn down service. Every day we had some sort of decoration in our room and it was beautiful. I was in love with the layout of the room. Florentino filled our fridge and I left a note everyday of what we wanted with a few bucks and all was taken care of.
Room Service: this was the one confusing part. The room service was great, but sometimes they used the magic box and sometimes they didn’t. We always left a tip so we weren’t sure why. Not a big deal in the grand scheme of things.
Spa: I had a 50 minute scrub and wrap with Mily. She was wonderful and so professional. I look forward every trip to a scrub and wrap! The set up with a shower in the room was also very convenient.
Pool: unfortunately in rained almost every day we were there, but we still made the best of it. When we did have pool time, the waitresses were great at getting drinks. We never had a problem finding chairs either. Big shout out to Laura, Celia, Andrea and Prude.
Bars: Every day we would take a break around 4-6. Once ready we would head up to the main lobby bar for a few drinks before dinner. I really liked the open space. We never had issues finding our drinks of choice. I am mainly a Grey Goose or Finladia drinker and they always had one or the other available. It was nice to sit both at the main bar as well as in the open air lobby. On days it was raining the staff set up two bars to accommodate everyone. At the main bar we met our favorite employee, Mac. He was absolutely wonderful, answered all of our questions and always had a drink ready. We also really liked Raul and Montiel as well, top notch service.
Food: we really liked most of the restaurants. I think every palate is different so one person’s favorite may not be another’s. We really like Asiana and El Mediterreano. At El Mediterreano we asked to sit in Kevin’s section as he was wonderful.
Beach: it was so nice to take long walks along the public beach and never feel unsafe.
Entertainment Staff: they went above and beyond to make sure guests were having fun, especially during the rain. We talked one afternoon with Azu and she was fantastic. We also played games with Danny boy, Jesus, and Carlos. They are a wonderful complement to the resort.
Overall: While it was raining so much on vacation, the staff when above and beyond to try to make everyone happy. They carried umbrellas, met guests with towels, etc.
We will definitely be back to the Royal.

Room Tip: We liked a pool walk out to be able to go in and out of our room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lisac113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynn D, Manager at The Royal Playa del Carmen, responded to this review, 18 June 2013
Dear Guest,
We truly appreciate your review, it is really nice, and makes feel very proud of our entire staff!! Our top priority is to offer an exceptional service to each of our guest and it is very satisfying to read that this was your case.
Remember The Royal Playa is your home away from home!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City, Kansas
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2013

We've stayed at plenty of resorts in the Maya Riviera but The Royal is the best we've ever had the pleasure of staying at. The rooms were clean and comfortable. The service in all areas was amazing. The food was the best we've ever had.
The entertainment was great too. We will definitely go back.
I would give this resort the highest rating.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Morenolucy84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynn D, Manager at The Royal Playa del Carmen, responded to this review, 18 June 2013
Dear Guest,
This is a fantastic review! We are thrilled you had such a wonderful stay with us. We are excited that you really enjoyed our resort and service. We certainly hope to welcome you back again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2013

Just returned from our second trip to the Royal Playa del Carmen, and somehow this time was even better than the last. I was a little concerned with all the reviews a month and a half ago about some virus, but we did not experience any sort of problems like that, nor did we hear of anyone else (Besides one other traveler who we think got sun poisoning due to lack of sun block in Mexico in July...) having stomach problems.

The service was second to none. Every bartender, concierge, maid, busboy, and server had smiles on their faces, and were always ready to to be at your service. Matt, Antonio, tony, Emilio, and Usiel did a fantastic job in the swim-up bar, and Jeyson, even though we did not stay at his end of the hotel, was a pleasure to see. Roberto in room service gave the absolute best service. Geronimo, Jimenez, and Francisco made our experiences at Spice wonderful. And finally Barbara and Oliver made us feel at home from the member's club.

It is great to see a hotel invests in itself even in just a year's time. New bar setups and locations, wedding section, and decorations keep this resort levels above its neighbors.

Everything is kept so well here. The rooms were spotless, and the maid service came 2-3 times a day to either clean or turn down the bed. My only gripe on this trip is that not once did they come in to light our candles or draw a bath. Not a big deal, but when they made it a point to do it every day last year and not once this year, you tend to notice. Despite that, there are workers everywhere keeping the landscaping perfect, and the walls and floors clean.

The food was spectacular, although I wouldn't miss the decorative salads, they look a little funky and not filling. But everywhere you go at this resort, the food is delicious and fresh. We stayed away from the 24-hour lounge, though. Pelicano's by far is the best spot for lunch with a beautiful view and excellent menu.

All I have to say is, it is worth the extra few hundred dollars (literally, for a week) to come to this resort over its competitors. The service, food, view, and crowd of people are just what you need for a wonderful vacation.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JayEffA80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynn D, Manager at The Royal Playa del Carmen, responded to this review, 18 June 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you taking time out to share your experience! We definitely feel very pleased to read this review, thank you so much for all your kind words to our staff, this is the best way to know that they are doing an excellent job.
It will an honor to have the opportunity to host you and pamper you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dyersburg, Tennessee
Level 5 Contributor
38 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2013

We stayed June 1st to the 8th 2013 at the Royal. We were about to cancel due to reports of illness, but didn't. I do believe the sickness is a thing of the past we never heard one person mention it. I booked the trip six months ago so we were very excited. I thought when we checked in they would try to sell us some kind of timeshare, but they didn't. They gave us a VIP check in and they lady explained everything about the resort. We the were taken to our room by the bell hop which had great service and showed us the amenities of the room. We got the lowest cost room which was huge. The room was on the first floor near the pool by the Coffee house and El Mediterranean. The coffee place and the snacks were good and the lady working during the day was very nice. Maria Marie was good with great service - must get the creme brule dessert. Spice- had a good food for buffet style. Mediterranean was good and really liked the soups. After a few days we realized it was open for lunch and tried it out and it was great also.

The room service was just ok but the food was better if you just went to a restaurant. Our delivery person didn't act like he wanted to put the delivery in the magic box, ad advertised they would do, and then when he entered the room he seemed upset at the tip we gave him. Strange. ASIANA-served lunch and dinner both are the same menu but we enjoyed. Chefs Plate-Never ate, but heard several people say it was best food they had ever ate.

The turn town service usually included chocolate, flowers, and some type of character or animal made out of towels - so cute! Pelicano's restaurant also has a bar which stays open until 11 p.m. The bartender there was very entertaining and made different types of shots for everyone. However, we observed him not using the three sink wash method when cleaning glasses. Also, the Royal gift shop was way cheaper for souveniers than some of the shops downtown.

Pros- Great service almost overwhelming at times which is good, seemed they tried to make you feel like a king. No reservations needed at restaurants, great types of people staying at the resort, house keeping was great, restocking the mini fridge everyday. Great location to all the shops if you are the shopping type. You can got to town and get massage for one hour for $18.00, the ability to go next door to the sister resort.The Royal was spotless ,we never saw one dirty thing period! Food was very gourmet. Security was on top of making sure that people who were not staying at the resort were not hanging out in the provided chairs.

Cons-If your a whiskey drinking this place isn't for you! I was very disappointed about not having jack Daniels at many bars, as well as other "top shelf" liquors such as Don Julio or Crown Royal. At the end of the night no Jack was available, the bartender advised they only get one bottle of Jack per day - not sure if this applied to all "top shelf" liquors. I planned to head to town and buy my own bottle since I am not a scotch drinker. The 24 hour bar had Ky Gentleman which is very cheap American whiskey. Room service not using the magic box and even when you ask them to they still didn't want to ,so no need to have the box.Very crowed beach with lots of people passing through that don't even stay at the resort. Slow drink service for beach people. Comforter in room is very heavy and is smothering during the night, however, you can turn your AC down very low. All of the manned bars close at midnight or before then you're stuck w/ the 24 hour bar.

Room Tip: The Royal Junior Suite is excellent and very spacious. No reason to spend extra money on a larger r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chris c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynn D, Manager at The Royal Playa del Carmen, responded to this review, 13 June 2013
Dear Guest,
We would like to express our gratitude for staying at our hotel and provide us the privilege to serve you.
We appreciate you have taken the time to share your impressions with us and we want you to know that we take our guests´ comments very seriously this helps us to work harder in specific areas which we might not being paying the attention that it deserves. Please rest assured that issues you raised have been address and that appropriate corrective actions have been taken.
Thank you again for your value review and for visiting us and we hope to have the privilege to host you once again in a near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2013

Upgraded from the Gran Porto real in playa del Carmen and it was the best decision we made the accommodations were spectacular the staff is so pleasant and genuinely nice. The service and attention to detail were phenomenal totally 5 diamond 5 star service and experience I don't know how we could stay anywhere else

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 02130
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynn D, Manager at The Royal Playa del Carmen, responded to this review, 13 June 2013
Dear Guest,
We truly appreciate your review! Our top priority is to offer an exceptional service to each of our guest and it is very satisfying to read that this was your case.
Thank you again and we hope to see you again very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
4.8 mi away
Fairmont Mayakoba
Fairmont Mayakoba
#10 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
3,857 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mahekal Beach Resort
Mahekal Beach Resort
#27 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
2,699 reviews
1.5 mi away
Paradisus by Melia Playa del Carmen La Perla
Paradisus by Melia Playa del Car...
#23 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
8,551 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
#2 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
3,138 reviews
2.0 mi away
Royal Hideaway Playacar
Royal Hideaway Playacar
#33 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
4,136 reviews
11.1 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
#1 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
5,833 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Playa del Carmen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Playa del Carmen

Property: The Royal Playa del Carmen
Address: Avenida Constituyentes 2 | Centro, Gonzalo Guerrero, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#8 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#8 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#10 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#25 Green Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Royal Playa del Carmen 4.5*
Number of rooms: 513
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Along the powdery white sands of the Caribbean, The Royal welcomes guests to a world of all-inclusive luxuries exclusively for adults. Situated on the Riviera Maya just steps from Playa del Carmen's famous Fifth Avenue, the AAA Four-Diamond resort boasts all-suite accommodations with private balconies and spectacular views, plus special options such as swim-up suites and beachfront walkouts. From beach butlers to romance concierges, the attentive staff provides genuine hospitality at every turn as guests enjoy the luxurious spa, exquisite cuisine, natural beauty, and many other delights of The Royal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Prestigia, Odigeo, Expedia, Holiday Gems, TravelUp, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Royal Playa del Carmen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Playa Del Carmen Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Royal Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Royal Porto Real
Royal Playa De Carmen
The Royal Playa Del Carmen Mexico/Riviera Maya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing