We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Royal Playa del Carmen
Nearby Hotels
US$265
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$229
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
BlueBay Grand Esmeralda(Playa del Carmen)
US$320
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$310
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$285
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$227
Melia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$605
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$589
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$320
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$301
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Valentin Imperial Riviera Maya(Playa del Secreto)(Great Value!)
US$413
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$344
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Fairmont Mayakoba(Playa del Carmen)
US$564
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$415
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
US$211
HotelsClick
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Rosewood Mayakoba(Playa del Carmen)
US$806
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$702
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Grand Velas Riviera Maya(Playa del Carmen)
US$1,434
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$940
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (17,584)
Filter reviews
17,584 results
Traveller rating
13,888
2,397
729
322
248
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
13,888
2,397
729
322
248
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmaria mariechef's platecoffee houseromance conciergespice restaurantjose garciadanny boyfrozen grapeshour loungeocean viewturn down servicetequila barour honeymoonlobby barpresidential suitebeach butleril pescatore
Filter
Updating list...
8,378 - 8,383 of 17,584 reviews
Reviewed 27 December 2013

Over all we were satisfied with the food and service some of the premium selections of liquors were gone. Luisa at coffee shop was exceptional be sure to check out flaming coffees. Chef plate we love Lalo and Pedro Kevin Mukul Rafael Vicente great job. Quio at lobby bar remembered us and what we like to drink. Cleanliness top notch. We are concerned with Hyatt taking over will the service and quality go down?. Have scallops at Pelicanos. Asiana's sushi excellent.

Room Tip: Choose your room 48 hours prior to your check in.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Deirdravan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynn D, Manager at The Royal Playa del Carmen, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your recent visit and for taking the time to post your nice review on Trip Advisor.
We look forward to welcome you once more very soon!! And be sure we will continue with our same services and great staff!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2013

The resort is gorgeous..the food is amazing....the service is unbelievable....the staff is so welcoming.
Moshe will teach you everything you need to know. He is the best. Please help him Michael kors watch and his phone. He lost while showing us how to scuba dive.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tgegaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2013

We stayed in Playa del Carmen from 12/15/2013 through 12/22/2013. The hotel is very clean, the food was some of the best we have experienced in Mexico. The staff was all friendly and very helpful. Are room was cleaned excellence everyday and frig stocked. The cleaning lady, Bertha Dominguez, was very creative with making things out of the towels and she did a excellent job cleaning our room! Some of our other favorites were Xoui, Ernesto, Reyes, Felipe, Paco & Demento they were barman & waiters at the Mediterean Bar & Restaurant, they were very pleasant and took very good care of us. Also, a special thank you to Ivonne for helping to book at the Italian Restaurant and the Lobster Dinner on the beach it was all excellent!!! Thank you to all of you for helping us to make this a memorable trip and we will defiantly be back next year. Also, it was nice to be able to just walk down town to 5th Avenue and do a little shopping, felt very safe. Thank you again!!!!!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 46Lori
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2013

This is our first stay at The Royal. It has been the best holiday ever..
The restaurants' food and service are second to none.
The staff from the top chef Victor down to the cleaning staff are hard working, professional and friendly. Couldn't ask for better. Please do not change any of this.
It is the staff who make the resort so excellent.
If there is a complaint it is the fact that we were not served real orange juice.

Room Tip: Choose the shade side for you room. We liked the bottom floor at the pool.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Liesje L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2013

My family and I enjoyed our stay at the Royal probably more than any other resort. We have been on countless vacations, and stayed at many resorts, but in my opinion the Royal was the best resort we have ever stayed at; the service at the royal was amazing, the food was great, there were plenty of activities and shows going on in a given moment. However, the thing that set the Royal apart from any other resort was the staff; they were genuinely warm and welcoming, and my sisters and I made a ton of friends. I would like to say a special thank you to Juan, Alejandro, Oskar, Viktor, silly Moshe, and the sweet bartender Jayson. I hope I will be able to come back to see you again, and have already told my friends about the wonderful stay I had. Again, thank you to all the people who made our trip so special!

Room Tip: Beach front suite is definitely worth the extra money
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Madi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews