We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Homophoebic and the beach and water honestly smell like sewerage”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Royal Playa del Carmen
Ranked #11 of 211 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Level 5 Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Homophoebic and the beach and water honestly smell like sewerage”
Reviewed 4 January 2014

My wife and I as well as another lesbian couple stayed at the RPC in June of 2013 so this review is delayed. The resort was pretty, the ocean view room was gorgeous and the jaccuzzi was to die for with plenty of hot water. The view of the ocean was marvelous. We were shocked when we went down to the beach the first time, as it stunk like raw unadulterated sewerage. The water is not clear at all, and the pier next to this expensive resort is an eyesore. The beach chairs are touching one another, in rows that you cannot walk in between. Beach service was wonderful however, and the beach waiters work very hard with pride and efficiency.
The waiter at Spice was a horrible homophobe. Repeatedly called my wife sir. When he did not get a rise out of her, he spilled coffee next to her foot, then another waiter came over and spilled milk ON her. When I complained to management they did nothing. After that I was too paranoid to eat in the restaurants in this resort.
This was an unfortunate experience. Shame. This is an honest review. We take our children to the Palladium every year, but just wanted to be a little closer to the night life on 5th avenue, which is an awful lot of fun.

Room Tip: No bad room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Katrinkas F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynn D, Manager at The Royal Playa del Carmen, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Dear Guest,

First of all, thank you for taking time out to share your experience and we want to express our concern for the situation you said you experienced during your stay but it is our duty to inform you that our number one priority is to provide an absolute safe environment to our guest; We are deeply sorry about your perception from our services and the issues you had in your recently stay but we would like to mention that every day we host hundreds of guests and this is the first time we have a report like yours.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back and provide you with a truly exceptional vacation experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

16,039 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    12,602
    2,224
    682
    306
    225
See reviews for
1,868
9,653
203
198
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4,242)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014 via mobile

Would never go to again. Our room flooded one night. Sales people were very annoying, constantly trying to sell timeshare. The food reminded me of a cheap cruise ship. There were never any chairs available by the pool because people would throw their towels over the lounge chairs to reserve them all early in the morning. The spin and pilates instructor was great, however the equipment was so out of date and old. The customer service was nothing to brag about, extremely difficult communicating with them since I don't speak spanish. To top the cake, I was nearly knocked over by a man who attacked his own brother in the lobby. They were kicking and punching each other in a drunken fight...I was never apologized to by the staff. A total waist of time and $ at this place!!!!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 53carver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynn D, Manager at The Royal Playa del Carmen, responded to this review, 4 January 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your recent visit and for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor. Please rest assured that we will share your valuable feedback with our staff for our improvement and in order to achieve our guest’s entire satisfaction. We sincerely apologize if you felt uncomfortable with our service. We hope to have the privilege to welcome you back in a near future and to provide you with a truly unique vacation experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 January 2014

The Royal Playa del Carmen is Outstanding. The Staff & service from Carlos, Jaime, Oscar, Katie, Moishe, Isobel, Sergio, Reuben ++ are all top notch .The Rooms are large & spacious, Every Restaurant is amazing and the Food Outstanding - almost like a 5 star dining experience. The Property location is also incredible. We have travelled for over 20 years to Mexico, Jamaica & Punta Cana, never returning to the same place twice. I don't want to go anywhere else from now on. The people make the place, they are all so friendly, helpful and caring. It is also the cleanest resort I have ever been to. There is no garbage anywhere. Only negative I had was one plug in my room did not work. Thank you Everyone at The Royal Playa del Carmen for Our Best Holiday Ever! See you again next year !

Room Tip: All rooms are great. 2nd or 3rd floor closest to the pool would be the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cindy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynn D, Manager at The Royal Playa del Carmen, responded to this review, 4 January 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your wonderful comments and for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor. We are very pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay at our beautiful resort and will like to express our deepest gratitude for your continuous preference and for recommending us. We are looking forward welcoming you back in a near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sinsinawa, Wisconsin
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

We felt very pampered on our get-away. The hotel and grounds were kept very clean, our room was on 1st floor and the pool was right outside our room. Rm 191. Angel kept us supplied with snacks and the room was cleaned and beds turned down nightly with comfortable beds and pillows with rose petals sprinkled on them. There was an odor of mold/mildew in the cooling system that you could smell when we arrived in the room, it got better with scented candles, but never went away completely.
The beach and being very close to 5th Ave. was wonderful. The food was mostly good, but fixed a little differently, I thought there would be alot of Mexican food but there wasn't. I really loved the coffee shop. Getting a regular Junior Suite away from the construction was difficult when reserving 48 hrs. ahead of check-in so we took an upgrade. Room service was included in our Ocean View Room and we would definitely go back again. I love the Carribean!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Finer5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dickinson, North Dakota
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

The hotel was wonderful and the staff excellent!! The entire experience was great! Location is perfect for beach activities, and shopping! We felt safe and secure the entire time around the resort. Everything was great!

Room Tip: Make sure you request a room away from the construction. There is another resort being built. Can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jeremy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westbury, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

My husband and I stayed from December 27th-Jan 1st for our Honeymoon. The resort itself is beautiful. The staff greeted us upon arrival with champagne and directed us to the check-in desk. After sitting for approximately 20 minutes checking, and being asked several questions about different things we would like for our room (ex- type of pillow, room make-up time frame, newspaper in the AM, and turn down service) we FINALLY we brought to our room (after being lectured about a time-share that we did not want). We never actually received the type of pillow we requested, and the room was supposed to be cleaned between 10-12 and that never happened until the late afternoon.

Room- nice, clean, spacious. However, our BIGGEST issue is that our room faced the garden area which is where the New Year's Eve party was held. Basically, the garden was turned into a club-like atmosphere. They started blasting techno music at 3pm in the afternoon. Our room was literally shaking from the noise, definitely not relaxing. We called the front desk to ask them to lower it, as we were trying to rest before the evening, and they did not seem to do much. Then, the party, which actually began at 10pm went until 2am with BLASTING music. Again, our room shook and there was no chance of sleep. We paid very good money to stay here for a relaxing, romantic honeymoon and this since was not what we were expecting. If we wanted to be in a club-like atmosphere we would have stayed in Cancun at a much cheaper resort.

Food- utterly disappointed. This is supposed to be a high-quality resort with amazing food, not the case. Maria Marie was just ok. Very small portions and we felt rushed. Spice, the buffet restaurant, was great for breakfast and dinner, we went here pretty much every day. Pelicanos- all fried foods for the most part, nothing too exciting and portions are very small. Asiana was by far the best restaurant we ate at. Good portions and very tasty.

NEW YEAR'S EVE dinner- absolutely horrible. You had to make reservations and only 2 restaurants were available- Spice and Maria Marie- both of which were serving the exact same menu. We both got the chicken stuffed with seafood. I could not even eat it. It was a small, cutlet with some sort of seafood inside that tasted awful. It was clear that everything was pre-made and heated up. We should have just ordered room service.

Overall, the food was just ok. We were expecting much, much better for money we paid.

Pool/Beach- We stayed at the pool the entire time. The beach is very small and very over-crowded. The pool was great and so was the service there. Waitresses were constantly asking us if we wanted drinks etc. The music here was great, very upbeat but not overwhelming.

Overall- The Royal is trying to be something that it clearly isn't. Although the hotel is beautiful and the staff is very friendly, it is entirely over-priced for what you actually get. We were expecting a relaxing honeymoon with some good food and we did not get that. We will return to Mexico but will definitely find another hotel to stay at.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Dana B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynn D, Manager at The Royal Playa del Carmen, responded to this review, 4 January 2014
Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor. It is with great concern that we learn about your impressions and would like to express our sincere apologies for any inconveniences you may have experienced during your visit to THE ROYAL Playa del Carmen. We have addressed your concerns with our team in order to take the necessary corrective actions and we sincerely hope to have a second chance to host you so you can fully experience our exceptional service and characteristic hospitality.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

My girlfriend and I went to The Royal for Christmas week. Overall the experience was terrific. As an all inclusive this resort offers everything. There are live shows every night in the lobby. great choice of restaurants included for all inclusive dinning. Whether on the beach, sitting by the pool, or lounging on the patio, you never have to wait for a drink. The only down side to this vacation was the construction next door which was right outside our room door. So we got a free wake up every morning at 6am.

Room Tip: for an even better experience I would recommend getting a room with your own swim up pool entrance...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Partnme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
4.8 mi away
Fairmont Mayakoba
Fairmont Mayakoba
#10 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
3,984 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mahekal Beach Resort
Mahekal Beach Resort
#27 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
2,729 reviews
1.5 mi away
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Pe...
#22 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
8,701 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
#2 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
3,191 reviews
2.0 mi away
Royal Hideaway Playacar
Royal Hideaway Playacar
#35 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
4,207 reviews
11.1 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
#1 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
5,880 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Playa del Carmen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Playa del Carmen

Property: The Royal Playa del Carmen
Address: Avenida Constituyentes 2 | Centro, Gonzalo Guerrero, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#8 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#8 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#10 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#25 Green Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Royal Playa del Carmen 4.5*
Number of rooms: 513
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Along the powdery white sands of the Caribbean, The Royal welcomes guests to a world of all-inclusive luxuries exclusively for adults. Situated on the Riviera Maya just steps from Playa del Carmen's famous Fifth Avenue, the AAA Four-Diamond resort boasts all-suite accommodations with private balconies and spectacular views, plus special options such as swim-up suites and beachfront walkouts. From beach butlers to romance concierges, the attentive staff provides genuine hospitality at every turn as guests enjoy the luxurious spa, exquisite cuisine, natural beauty, and many other delights of The Royal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Holiday Gems, Prestigia, Odigeo, Travelbag, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Royal Playa del Carmen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Playa Del Carmen Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Royal Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Royal Porto Real
Royal Playa De Carmen
The Royal Playa Del Carmen Mexico/Riviera Maya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing