We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous resort & great location!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Royal Playa del Carmen
Ranked #12 of 213 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
GreenLeadersSilver level
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fabulous resort & great location!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2014

We stayed at the Royal in February. We decided this year to stay in the heart of PDC and it was the best decision ever. The resort was amazing. Our Romance Concierge arranged everything for us & her recommendations were fabulous. We plan on returning next year. The outdoor restaurants were perfect for breakfast and lunch. Our suite was amazing. The beach cabanas were also a major highlight. The beach was beautiful as well. We will definitely return.

Room Tip: Splurge for an ocean view suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank citygirl66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynn D, Gerente at The Royal Playa del Carmen, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing your experience! We are excited you enjoyed your stay and that you especially like our concierge service, we are very happy to read that Romance Concierge is doing a great job as well our entire staff. We hope to welcome you back very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

15,341 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    12,017
    2,151
    661
    296
    216
See reviews for
1,738
9,242
188
190
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4,061)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2014 via mobile

The Royal has been by far the most memorable hotel I've stayed at. Exceptional service, gorgeous rooms, great food, amazing location, beautiful big pool and lovely beach. Only problem was we never wanted to leave and explore the rest of Playa del Carmen. I had the best massage of my life here and we spent a great day making friends playing volley ball. I would probably not bother with the rooms with a private pool, they were a bit exposed and the main pool is so beautiful with plenty of quiet areas. Do yourself a favour and book here!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Siobhan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynn D, Gerente at The Royal Playa del Carmen, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Dear Guest,

THE ROYAL Playa del Carmen thanks you for your time for writing such a positive review as well as we thank you for being able to host such distinguished guests as you are!
Nothing is more satisfying than to know that you received exceptional service!

We look forward to hosting you again very soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2014 via mobile

It's hard to believe a hotel could be that inconsistent from the front of the house to the back.the rooms are clean, comfortable and well appointed.The food selection,presentation and service is superb.then we get to the front of the house, yikes a disaster! Three hours to get the room we booked after arriving on time. We were asked to come back THREE times until finally we were able to check in.
Currency exchange was another nightmare. The hotel employee was downright rude! After asking for smaller denominations his answer was if I wasn't happy there was a bank two blocks away...REALLY?
Up charge and cross sell....well we expect it in Mexico but they just wouldn't accept NO...I would expect that behavior OUTSIDE the hotel,not inside.
And tell guests that apply that they will be staying close to the noisy construction site to the North...the banging starts before 7 AM. Discount those rooms.
Suggestion to management; instead of your canned response I have seen on this site ,secret shop your reception function...you might validate my concerns.
Too bad, my wife and I travel a lot and were very surprised to experience these breakdowns in staff execution and service.

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
6 Thank B S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynn D, Gerente at The Royal Playa del Carmen, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your recent visit to THE ROYAL Playa del Carmen and we truly appreciate your willingness to share your impressions, we do take all comments seriously.

We would like to mention that we are sincerely sorry to read of your opinion and we would like to apologize for the inconveniences and for the attitude situation you mentioned from some of our staff.

Rest assure that all proper corrective measures will be taken in order to prevent this type of inconveniences with other guests.

Once again, please accept our most sincere apologies. We will be delighted to host you once more and exceed your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2014

Im a coffee lover and the coffee house was one of my favorite places in the resort. Everything tasted great, i enjoyed the flaming coffee's, and Luisa was definately very enjoyable to be around along with the others. Oustanding staff

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ShanMM01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynn D, Gerente at The Royal Playa del Carmen, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Nothing is more satisfying than to know that you received exceptional service! We will make sure to tell Luisa and the staff the great job they´re doing and that you mentioned in your review with kind and encouraging words.
Looking forward to pampering you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, New York, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2014 via mobile

Overall have had a terrible experience at the Royal. Everything was a pain, from check-in, to finding the room. Terrible choice, ocean view room faces the parking lot, called up get a room change and was told hotel is completely sold out even though plenty of rooms available online.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
11 Thank Glencose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynn D, Gerente at The Royal Playa del Carmen, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your recent visit to our beautiful THE ROYAL Playa del Carmen and we really appreciate you have taken the time to share your impressions
We are truly sorry to read that you did not experience our remarkable service and hospitality, on behalf of all of the staff at THE ROYAL Playa I would like to express my sincere apology if our service did not fulfill your expectations; as we are deeply committed to assist our guests at all times and provide them with an exceptional service.

Once again thank you for your recent visit and we sincerely hope to have the privilege to welcome you back in a near future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
southwest ontario
Level Contributor
42 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2014

My husband and I recently got back from our second trip to the Royal, We upgraded to a swim up suite this time, and it was well worth the extra money. i had been a little worried about the noise of the construction, but it was fine. You couldn't hear it at all outside, and i only heard it in the room once i woke up. It never actually woke me out of my sleep.

The room was great. All the usual amenities. Aida did a wonderful job of cleaning the room and did lots of extra touches, like filling up the jacuzzi, adding bubble bath and petals. She made several amazing towel animals and was always wanting to make sure we had everything we needed.

The fridge in the room was stocked with whatever you prefer. When we asked for extra things, we got it. My husband drinks rusty nails, which are scotch and drambuie. There is scotch in the room, and the waitresses would help out by filling a water bottle with drambuie so he could make his own drinks in the room. Drambuie is only available at the lobby bars, so the servers who came over from the pool area couldn't get it at that bar.

We mainly ate at Asiana, which is our favourite restaurant at the resort. Bob did a great job of serving us on our last day there. He was efficient and very friendly.

We ate at Pelicanos for lunch most days and that was fine. good food, no complaints.

We went to Marie Maria's one night and were very disappointed. Tough steak. the waiter appeared grumpy and the food was definately not 5 star.

We also paid extra for lobster dinner on the beach. Cost us $108. DO NOT DO IT!!! The lobster was rubbery, the food was cold, the steak was like leather. Lots of people walked off early. They have about 10 - 12 couples at the beach in front of Pelicanos for this. The service was slow. You didn't get butter for dipping the lobster in........terrible!

We ate at Spice a couple of times and it was fine for a buffet.

All the bars were great, no concerns there.

Overall, a good stay. One note on the swim up suites though, if you have decent respectful neighbours it is wonderful. You don't mind some partying from younger guests occasionally. No big deal. But the last day two older couples moved in. They were drunk and loud and "in your space". The husband smoked constantly and the coughing and hacking were constant. Luckily it was our last day, later in the day, so we didn't have to put up with them for long, but it would have been horrible if they had been there all week.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank welove2travel123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynn D, Gerente at The Royal Playa del Carmen, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Dear ROYAL Guest,
Thank you very much for your kind comments. We are glad to hear that enjoyed your stay.
It was absolutely our pleasure welcoming you back to your home away from home and we will always be honored of hosting such distinguished and kind guests as you are.
We are looking to pamper you soon in your second home, The Royal Playa del Carmen!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Williams
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2014

This was our 5th year in a row to visit this great hotel and again it lived up to all of our expectations. Best Day was as efficient and punctual as ever in getting us to and from the resort. Charon, who made our check-in an absolute pleasure, was so kind, friendly and personable. She kept an eye on us during our entire stay and helped print boarding passes when we experienced difficulties - such a lovely person and a great representative for the resort!! We had upgraded to Ocean Front and loved our room - large, clean and bright. Service for our room was exceptional. Teresa was punctual and efficient when cleaning and always had a smile and Ola for us. The same can be said for Avi, who tended to our mimibar needs daily. Daily room service breakfast was superb and delivered by friendly, helpful staff. Food at the restaurants was very good. We love sitting outside at Asiana, eating great food and people watching. Servers helped make the meals fun. Kevin and Julio at Chefs Plate and the crew presenting a surprise birthday cake and singing happy birthday will not be forgotten! Thanks, Ahmed and Holsten at Asiana. We really appreciated Ulises' great sense of humour at Maria Marie. The resort is always abuzz with lots of staff going about their jobs in a friendly, professional manner. Some minor gripes: The service at Pelicanos was at times pretty hectic and one didn't really know who was serving who. We felt aboandoned a couple of times and did not find the experience that relaxing. Loved Tapas! Also, I watched as some guests put out pool towels ( one woman saved 8 lounges) the night before instead of the morning of. Come on folks. Maybe the hotel should go around at 5am and clear off all the chairs. A big surprise for a lot of guests was the warmer pool temperature on our last 3 days. We are beach goers but it was great to see the pool so well used and this made many people happy. We joined them for a couple of days! Well done Royal!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NovaS116
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynn D, Gerente at The Royal Playa del Carmen, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for staying with us. We take a lot of pride in our hotel and services and it really makes us feel good when we learn that we have been successful in accomplishing our mission of making your vacations unforgettable.
As you will know, at “The Royal Playa del Carmen” our mission is to exceed your expectations, providing the best in service and high quality standards and safety, going beyond to anticipate any customer’s need.
Once again thank you for staying with us and remember… “The Royal Playa del Carmen” is your second home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
4.8 mi away
Fairmont Mayakoba
Fairmont Mayakoba
#7 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,567 reviews
0.6 mi away
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Pe...
#19 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 7,986 reviews
4.2 mi away
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
#2 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,910 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.3 mi away
Valentin Imperial Maya
Valentin Imperial Maya
#1 of 1 in Playa del Secreto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 11,443 reviews
11.1 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
#1 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
5.0 of 5 bubbles 5,632 reviews
1.5 mi away
Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda
Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Es...
#33 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,603 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Playa del Carmen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Playa del Carmen

Property: The Royal Playa del Carmen
Address: Avenida Constituyentes 2 | Centro, Gonzalo Guerrero, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#8 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#10 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#10 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#25 Green Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Royal Playa del Carmen 4.5*
Number of rooms: 513
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Along the powdery white sands of the Caribbean, The Royal welcomes guests to a world of all-inclusive luxuries exclusively for adults. Situated on the Riviera Maya just steps from Playa del Carmen's famous Fifth Avenue, the AAA Four-Diamond resort boasts all-suite accommodations with private balconies and spectacular views, plus special options such as swim-up suites and beachfront walkouts. From beach butlers to romance concierges, the attentive staff provides genuine hospitality at every turn as guests enjoy the luxurious spa, exquisite cuisine, natural beauty, and many other delights of The Royal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Holiday Gems, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Royal Playa del Carmen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Playa Del Carmen Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Royal Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Royal Porto Real
Royal Playa De Carmen
The Royal Playa Del Carmen Mexico/Riviera Maya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing