We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Please be aware this is not a 4 Diamond Resort in my opinion!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
The Royal Playa del Carmen
Ranked #12 of 209 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Osterville, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Please be aware this is not a 4 Diamond Resort in my opinion!”
Reviewed 17 March 2014

Unfortunately the cons outweighs the pros at this resort. Between the construction that wakes you up at 6am, no umbrellas at pool or beach, rude lobby personnel (Victor and Erika) We were a party of 11 and the restaurants that you had to make reservations at could not guarantee that we would be able to sit together. The website states that golf carts are 65.00 however when you get there they say the prices just went up and it is now 95.00. At the time that I am writing this review the website price still says 65.00. When one of our party arrived she had to take her luggage to her room herself! The construction is so close to one of the buildings that you would reach out and touch it!
However the food was superior. My favorite Pelicanos. The pool personnel were fabulous (Vi and Ernie).
Over all I would not recommend this resort

Room Tip: Make sure not construction is possible where ever you stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Joyce G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynn D, Gerente at The Royal Playa del Carmen, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
Dear Guest,
Your comments are very important for us. We are deeply sorry about your perception from our services you had in your recently stay. We apologize if in some way we did not exceed your expectations and we sincerely hope you consider to give us another opportunity host you at THE ROYAL Playa del Carmen.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

15,716 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    12,328
    2,193
    670
    303
    222
See reviews for
1,796
9,476
199
197
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4,161)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chadds Ford, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 17 March 2014

As slways, since 2007, hotel service coulfn't be better some of tose who made this happen:
Antonio-IL pescatore Restaurant
Humberto & Mario (Mgr)-Mediterraneo Restaurant
Sellma Nicoli-Spice Restaurant
Lesbia & Rafaela (Supervisor)-Housekeeping

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Granddfather
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynn D, Gerente at The Royal Playa del Carmen, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
Dear Guest,
I am pleased to learn that a some people of our staff was able to exceed your expectations. I will certainly forward your appreciation words to all the people mentioned and their supervisors.
Once again thank you for staying with us and remember… “The Royal Playa del Carmen” is your second home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2014

This is not out 1st time here it was our 4th and it was not as relaxing as a recall. The banging noise through the door in the morning got a bit old every morning from the construction. We had a swim up suite which we were so thankful for because there were a lot of obnoxious drunk loud people around the pool a lot and it got to be a bit much. It was very peaceful in our little private pool until the last day when the 4 girls moved into our room next door and had their music playing so loud we could not even stand to be in our room and they were cannon balling in to the pool. Kind of killed the romance. This is not the crowd that used to be at the Royal and it got really old by the end of the week. The staff however were excellent as always
I will say our trip got off on the wrong foot when I on day one found a feminine applicator on the floor in our bathroom and it was dirty, very dirty, and the floor around it was dirty from it. That was disgusting and housekeeping should see something like that, I should not have to clean that up when I get into my room that was supposidly cleaned

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynn D, Gerente at The Royal Playa del Carmen, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
Dear Guest,
Your comments are very important for us and we are grateful that you take some minutes from your valued time and make this review from us. We are deeply sorry about your perception from our housekeeping staff and the issues you had in your recently stay, actions have been taken
We cordially invite you to visit us in the near future and give us the opportunity to change your perception from our resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laughlin, Nevada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2014

One of the best resorts I have ever stayed at. It is not my first time her but it just keeps getting better each time I return. The grounds are immaculate, service is above and beyond, and suites are spacious and extremely elegant and clean. The room service staff is by far the best in the industry. The resort is 'Adults Only' thankfully, so there is no shrieking or screaming at any time. Less messes for the staff to deal with as well. Pricey but it helps keep the burger and Budweiser crowd out. Bathrooms are oversized, plenty of storage space, and a great balcony if you have an ocean view suite for relaxing and observing. Will be returning in July so keep up the great work guys and gals !!!!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: Don't be 'frugal' and go for entry level. Get an ocean view or better....
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ual777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynn D, Gerente at The Royal Playa del Carmen, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing your experience! We are excited you enjoyed your stay and that you especially like our service, we are very happy to read that our staff is doing a great job. Thank you again and we´ll see you in July!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Crosse, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014

This is the first time we have been to The Royal but won't be our last. Our concierge at check-in; Ishmael started everything and was a pleasure to work with. Our room was fantastic, always clean and the towel creations were unbelievable. The jacuzzi didn't always work right but this was a minor flaw. We spent a lot of time around the pool, the entertainment staff including Oskar, Moeshe, Juan, Victor, Pepe and Karina were fun and gave us a lot of activities to be involved with during the day including water aerobics, guacamole making, towel folding; they all were fun daytime activities and the music was great as well, the White Party Tuesday night also was fun with great music and dancing. Vi our pool server took very good care of us every day at the pool and always had a smile. We liked the food especially Pelicanos (breakfast, lunch and dinner), Tapas for lunch, Spice for breakfast; Asiana was our favorite with Camilo taking very good care of us along with Joel, Rebecca and chef Pastor. We started every day at the coffee house, Luisa made the most excellent flaming coffee for us in the evening.
Everyone on the staff was friendly and always had a smile. We definitely will be coming back!

Room Tip: There was construction on one side of the complex, somewhat noisy but we didn't hear it where we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnandSheri1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynn D, Gerente at The Royal Playa del Carmen, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Dear Guest,
This is a fantastic review! We are thrilled you had such a wonderful stay with us. We really appreciate your point of view in each thing you mentioned. We are excited that you really enjoyed our service, food, resort areas, the beach and our hard working staff. We certainly hope to welcome you back again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014

We recently spent a week at The Royal. Overall, the resort is beautiful and we had a great stay. However, there a few items that disappointed us - primarily the little "extras" this resort says it offers through its "Royal Services". That is the reason for a "4" rating instead of a "5".

First, they advertise an online check-in service two days in advance of arrival. We weren't able to do this online so I called the hotel. I was told the hotel was going to be full during our stay, so then the online check-in system doesn't work.

Next, we made prior arrangements to use the hotel's transport service ($230 roundtrip), which was to meet us directly outside of the airport upon arrival. The driver was late, so for 30 minutes we wandered around not knowing if they would show up or if we should arrange for different transport. When the driver showed up, he was very helpful and it was nice having direct service to the resort.

We made reservations several months in advance and were guaranteed a non-smoking room. We requested to be as far away from the construction (north side of hotel) as possible. I also called the hotel several times before our arrival to ensure our request to be away from the construction would be honored. Upon arrival, we were put in a smoking room right next to the construction. We were told there was nothing in their records that showed we had requested something different. I showed them an email I had received from the resort confirming the non-smoking room but was told the hotel was full and this is the only room available. They said they would try to move us in a few days when a non-smoking room became available. Luckily our room, although it was a smoking room, did not have a smokey odor.

At check-in, they asked us several questions as to our preferences which was to enable them to provide the "royal service" (i.e. what type of pillows you would like, what time of day you want your room cleaned, what time you want your turn-down service, etc.). Well, we never received the pillows requested, and the cleaning and turndown service was never done during the time periods requested. In reality, the pillows we ended up with were just fine and it didn't matter to us what time they cleaned our room and did the turn down service (and I should mention the rooms were always spotless! ). I just thought it was odd for them to take the time to go through all of these questions to personalize the service, but then not follow through.

Another frustration was the difficulty of getting chairs by the pool. The resort does not have a policy for reserving poolside chairs so early every morning, guests put belongings on the chairs they want to "reserve". Often these guests don't show up to use those chairs until mid afternoon - so for half the day the chairs go unused while other guests can't find a place to sit. After the first day, we realized we would need to do this if we wanted a chair, so for the rest of the week we'd get a wake up call at 5:30AM so we could reserve a chair. Crazy! Other resorts we have stayed at have had policies such as if a chair goes unused for 2 hours or more, the pool staff has the right to give that chair to another guest. It would be nice if the hotel would implement a policy like that.

Now, the rest of the review: The resort is beautiful and well maintained. All of the staff is fantastic and go out of their way to ensure you are enjoying your vacation. Vi and Prudy (pool and beach wait staff) were great. They'd consistently make sure you had whatever you wanted and always do it with a smile. We ate at each of the restaurants within the resort as well as two at the Gran Porto Real (sister property across the street). The food at each restaurant was delicious and the food presentation was outstanding. Our favorites were Maria Marie and Asiana, but even the buffets were great. The hotel also has 24 room service at no extra charge. On the morning of our check out, we had to leave before the restaurants opened so we ordered room service. We had a wonderful breakfast of omelets, sausage, fresh fruit and coffee. They also have a 24-hour VIP lobby open for all guests where you can make your own drinks (liquor, wine, beer, juices, coffee, etc.) or get a snack (chips and cheese, chicken fingers, desserts, etc.).

The hotel has entertainment each night which was also a nice feature. The beach was great and the water was beautiful - it was actually a lot warmer than the pool water. Some have mentioned the "hard sell" tactics for the Real memberships. We had no problem there. We were asked if we were interested, but when we declined the staff graciously backed off and we weren't asked again.

All in all, except for the items at the front end of our visit (late pick-up at airport, not getting the room we had reserved, and being asked our preferences for personalized services without the follow through), the rest of our stay was fantastic. If the hotel can improve upon the check-in experience and its follow through with its "Royal Service" promise, I would definitely rate it a "5".

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jcnaught
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynn D, Gerente at The Royal Playa del Carmen, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Dear Guest,
We would like to express our gratitude for staying at our hotel and provide us the privilege to serve you.
We appreciate you have taken the time to share your impressions with us and we want you to know that we take our guests´ comments very seriously this helps us to work harder in specific areas which we might not being paying the attention that it deserves. Please rest assured that issues you raised have been address and that appropriate corrective actions have been taken.
Thank you again for your value review and for visiting us and we hope to have the privilege to host you once again in a near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Windsor, Connecticut
Level Contributor
42 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014

What a place! Highlights include the food, the cleanliness, the location, and of course the staff. The only lowlight was the room size. It was tiny, had to remove a chair and ottoman just to be able to get around. Alberto (porter), thank you for your attempts to make us comfortable.

Club membership- Yes, the gals up in front do try to sell you a time share of sorts. It's actually a club membership, where you prepay future stays. The gals were very pleasant (Sarah and Wendy). We enjoyed talking to them about the resort and services available. We were not interested in the club membership and told them so. These ladies are just doing their job. Cut them a break. If you are not interested, just say so politely but firmly.

Best restaurant- Asiana, followed by Pelicanos, El Mediterano, Marie Marie (good food, poor service), Il Pescatore (great service, so so food). Really enjoyed Pelicanos and Tapas for lunch. Spice and Pelicanos best for breakfast.

Spa- Full 50 minutes, and then some. Truly a full body service, including legs, back, feet, hands, arms, head, neck, chest and face. Gilda/Ross, thank you.

Drinks- Kind of weak during pool service, but excellent at bars in the evening.

Pools- Really nice. Entertainment staff could have been more energetic. But, they weren't bad. For some peace, try the quite pool on the northwest side of the resort. It's peaceful and has a great bar right there... Thanks Mario.

Beach- Somewhat crowded right in front of the resort. Walk north for more space.

Location- Cannot be better. Steps away from the action on fifth ave. Very safe.

Entertainment- Fair to outstanding. Don't miss the Decades (Decadas) show. It was the best one.

Staff- Outstanding! These people get it. Their success depends on the resort's success, which depends on the customer's experience. Special thanks to Selma, the sweet hostess at Pelicanos. Iovonne, the pool butler who tried to rectify our small room issue. Eva, our excellent waitress at the pool. Fillipe, the true gentleman waiter at El Mediterano. Lorenzo, for his excellent service at Asiana.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms 900 and up during the construction period.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EB0R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynn D, Gerente at The Royal Playa del Carmen, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Dear Guest,
We´re so glad to read your nice review of THE ROYAL Playa del Carmen. Please be sure that our Staff will be always exceeding our mutual clients’ expectations.
Thanks a lot for your business and do not hesitate to contact us in the future, it will be a pleasure to assist you.
Have a wonderful week!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
4.8 mi away
Fairmont Mayakoba
Fairmont Mayakoba
#9 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
3,738 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mahekal Beach Resort
Mahekal Beach Resort
#27 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
2,652 reviews
1.5 mi away
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Pe...
#23 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
8,294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
#3 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
3,035 reviews
11.1 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
#1 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
5,762 reviews
2.0 mi away
Royal Hideaway Playacar
Royal Hideaway Playacar
#33 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
4,044 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Playa del Carmen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Playa del Carmen

Property: The Royal Playa del Carmen
Address: Avenida Constituyentes 2 | Centro, Gonzalo Guerrero, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#8 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#9 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#11 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#25 Green Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Royal Playa del Carmen 4.5*
Number of rooms: 513
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Along the powdery white sands of the Caribbean, The Royal welcomes guests to a world of all-inclusive luxuries exclusively for adults. Situated on the Riviera Maya just steps from Playa del Carmen's famous Fifth Avenue, the AAA Four-Diamond resort boasts all-suite accommodations with private balconies and spectacular views, plus special options such as swim-up suites and beachfront walkouts. From beach butlers to romance concierges, the attentive staff provides genuine hospitality at every turn as guests enjoy the luxurious spa, exquisite cuisine, natural beauty, and many other delights of The Royal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Holiday Gems, Prestigia, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Booking.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your The Royal Playa del Carmen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Playa Del Carmen Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Royal Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Royal Porto Real
Royal Playa De Carmen
The Royal Playa Del Carmen Mexico/Riviera Maya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing