We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Honeymoon!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Royal Playa del Carmen
Ranked #12 of 211 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 10 April 2014

I spent 7 days here after spending 7 days at another resort in the same area for my honeymoon (1st week got married with family and friends and 2nd week we moved to another hotel for our honeymoon). Where to start - everything was incredible and I think even stood out more because we had just come from another resort versus having to compare to something we travelled a year earlier etc.
Smooth check in, to our beautiful room (decorated beautifully, huge with our own spa and big balcony with hammock) the most comfortable beds we had ever slept in while travelling, turn down service, free i-pods loaded with music, the food and drinks were superb, the beach was incredible and the location was awesome. We could be laying out on the beach and decide to tour into town to see if we could find any market deals to bring home and forgot some of our belongings on the beach - only to return hours later in the dark to find security standing near by watching it - unbelievable!! We thanked him profusely, he would not accept a tip. Dinner on the beach and massage under the stars was very romantic, the concierge made every effort to ensure our honeymoon met all of our expectations - and then some! The pool was very nice - I'm just more of a beach person. The day beds on the beach were great - as were the little flags to let staff know you were parched and in need of a new cold one - LOL! I can't say enough good things about this resort - it wasn't a big resort, nor a small one - but just right. I don't like to go to the same place twice as there are so many places to see and visit - if I was ever to make an exception - the Royal Playa del Carmen would be it! Excursions we went on included a snorkel trip right off our beach by boat (we waded out to the boat and he took us to an amazing corral reef very close by - cheapest snorkel trip I've been on and saw a lot of stuff!) went to the cenotes swimming and also the dinner in one in town, its dried up and turned into a restaurant - really fun, great photos!

Room Tip: We did not pay extra for a different than standard room and thought it was awesome - I can only imag...
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Queen_of_the_Castle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynn D, Gerente at The Royal Playa del Carmen, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2014

Dear Guest,
Our top priority is to make a dreamed vacation for each of our guest and we are very grateful that this was your case. We feel really pleased that you enjoyed your honeymoon.
Thank you again and it will be our honor to have you back with us soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (16,213)
There are newer reviews for The Royal Playa del Carmen
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

6,806 - 6,812 of 16,213 reviews

Reviewed 10 April 2014

My first time ever to the Royal with my sister who has been there 4 or 5 times, it was awesome! We had pedicures with Gilda and Elizabeth, massage from Melisa. Nancy from the El Mediterraneo remembered my sister. All the service we received was like royalty I'm coming back for sure with my husband, Elizabeth at Alberca poolside bar service was great.

Stayed: March 2014
Thank ElizabethSid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynn D, Gerente at The Royal Playa del Carmen, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2014

Dear Guest,
We truly appreciate your review! Our top priority is to offer an exceptional service to each of our guest and it is very satisfying to read that this was your case.

Thank you again and we hope to see you again very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2014

What a fabulous resort!!! Enrique is the best!!! Went above and beyond for us. Jose was so nice and helpful too. The food was amazing. We had a room by the construction and it wasn't distracting at all. I didn't notice most of the time. I will be going back for sure!!!! Thanks for the wonderful stay:)

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank molissa333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynn D, Gerente at The Royal Playa del Carmen, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2014

Dear Guest,
We really appreciate this review. Thank you for give us the opportunity to host you and we hope that you come back and enjoy once again of all our services!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2014

3 trip back to the Royal. We will continue to keep going back, service and quality are top notch. Greeted with professionalism and taken care of for the entire week of our stay. Big props to Luisa in the corner coffee shop, always friendly and on top of our order before we had to ask. Great gang of people in Spice Restaurant as well!! Special thanks to: Fredy, Diaz, Doris, Xavi, Camara, & Arturo. Keep up the amazing work everyone, see you in December!!

Room Tip: If you are going to up grade, do it when you arrive. You will get a better rate!!
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bralpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynn D, Gerente at The Royal Playa del Carmen, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2014

Dear Guest,
We really appreciate this review. Thank you for give us the opportunity to host you and we hope that you come back and enjoy once again of all our services!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2014

I normally do not write reviews for hotels, etc. because there is normally nothing to write about... however, in this case, I felt compelled to share our story.

My wife and I wanted to do something to celebrate our 30th wedding anniversary so asked our travel agent to recommend a place where she would go if she would go anywhere. She immediately said, THE ROYAL. She could not have been more right. The Royal is an incredible place - beautiful, accommodating, and leaving us with special memories.

STAFF: The Staff (from the maintenance to the management is outstanding. At each turn someone was there to answer questions, provide assistance, or simply to take care of any requests. I had the unique privilege/pleasure of meeting and working with the manager, Marilu, who was outstanding representing the hotel and providing genuine service for us. She bent over backwards to make sure our accommodations and stay was what we needed. What struck me most about her was the way she managed the staff and how they responded to her with total respect. While all of the staff (wait-staff, housekeeping, groundskeeping, etc.) was great, we were especially impressed with Lopez (the Beach Butler) who was full of joy and energy and provided services, information, and assistance whenever needed. We also greatly enjoyed Karina (one of the recreation folks) who is a sparkplug of life and joy!

FOOD & SERVICE: The food -- Incredible. We have been to other All-Inclusives that provide a wide-variety of OK food, and have one restaurant that may be the premier place to eat. At the Royal, each restaurant was unbelievably good... The Chefs and staff were excellent and the taste outstanding. The service for drinks or other items was always there, and we were never lacking for someone to get us something else to drink, etc. Great job!

ACCOMMODATIONS: Just look at the pictures -- says it all... And the pictures don't lie! That IS the way it looks.

QUESTION: Our only question was whether or not to tip the exemplary service we received from all of the staff. The All-Inclusive philosophy, as we have experienced and was shared with us for this trip, was that the tips were included. In previous trips, we were even told that staff could not receive tips or they would be fired. At The Royal frequent tipping took place. If I had cash I would do the same, but often I was not prepared to do so and felt guilty. It would be helpful for a clear tipping policy (whether to tip or not) is articulated... and if a tipping policy is in place, to create a system to allow tipping to happen without having to carry cash around.

ISSUE: The only issue that we walked away with was the constant requests for us to buy something. The Real Resorts Representatives folks who welcome you at the resort are eager to help you with any questions, and then as eager to pull you into a 90 minute sale presentation. On the beach, where we had thought/hoped that it was a private beach, we were persistently and frequently asked to parasail, waterjet, etc. I certainly understand and don't mind having them on the beach, but it would be much less annoying for them not to come to my cabana and ask...

We had an outstanding trip... incredibly beautiful accommodations and the grounds of the resort were absolutely amazing! Thanks again to Marilu and her awesome staff!

Room Tip: There is a new building being built by another company right next to The Royal. We had no problem w...
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank uccrev1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynn D, Gerente at The Royal Playa del Carmen, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2014

Dear Guest,
Our top priority is to make a dreamed vacation for each of our guest and we are very grateful that this was your case. We feel really pleased that you enjoyed your anniversary.
Thank you again and it will be our honor to have you back with us soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2014

The hotel was beautiful and the service staff (except the front desk) were unbelieveable. This was suppose to be a fun week for the girls, but at the start with the interaction with the front desk, certainly didn't make us feel welcome.

Now for the good news:

Ivonne who was a "pool consierge" of sorts, was always there with a smile to greet us girls every day while we were by the pool. She made sure we had all our dinner reservations made and always greeted us with a smile. If we had any questions about the resort, she was the one to ask.

Celie, Prude, and Vi were our servers (rotating daily) by the pool as well. Anything you needed, they got it for you; from a fresh beverage to the many bottles of cold water. Ernie, another server, not only served our drinks, but did magic tricks for our entertainment as well! He was great! He should be working Vegas and not by a pool!

At the many restaurants they have on site, Asiana's was one of our favorite places to dine. The waiter, Camerillo (I am sure I misspelled his name) was so wonderful and always accommodating. They made us feel like royalty every time we dined there.

The housekeeping staff, you saw everywhere. And everytime you saw them, they would stop what they were doing and greet you with a smile and a hello. The maids that cleaned up our room always made sure to leave their famous "animal out of towels display".

Now the bad news:
The front desk unfortuately were not helpful or at all accommodating. We had made our hotel reservations over 5 months in advance and specifically asked for 2 rooms, with 2 beds in each, and somewhat close to each other. When we checked in, firstly our rooms were on either side of the entire resort and our room only had 1 bed! The front desk attendant barely cared and basically said that we could switch our room to another in a day or two. As for our friends, they were stuck where they were. The desk staff definitely needs some training in proper customer service. It was like they got your money, you're here, so too bad so sad. That's how we felt....

Also, for the rooms, when you were washing your hands or using the shower, the water had a bad smell to it - almost like a sewer. Certainly not something you are use to.

The beach is awesome and the weather was great (Spring Break 2014).

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nancy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynn D, Gerente at The Royal Playa del Carmen, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2014

Dear Guest,
We would like to express our gratitude for staying at our hotel and provide us the privilege to serve you.
We appreciate you have taken the time to share your impressions with us and we want you to know that we take our guests´ comments very seriously this helps us to work harder in specific areas which we might not being paying the attention that it deserves. Please rest assured that issues you raised have been address and that appropriate corrective actions have been taken.
Thank you again for your value review and for visiting us and we hope to have the privilege to host you once again in a near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2014

Just retuned from this resort a few days ago, stayed here from March 19th to April 3rd.
We are repeat guests, once again our vacation was phenomenal ,from start to finish.
The selfless care this people give their guest is truly over the top, starting with the beautiful rooms , fabulous restaurants to pool side and beach service..
I would like to take some time to personally thank some of the staff that I was constantly in contact with
Starting with beach restaurant ",Pelicano's "Chef Rudy, Captain Jose
!! you run the best ship , we will miss you ,please look after all the boys,our amazing waiters, uLucas , Giovanni, Fernando ,Manuel , Eleno ,Geronimo, Alan ,Hamed and all the rest, we love you...... To the staff at Maria Marie. Captain Diego ,Sommelier Carlos you rock!!! waiters Miguel , Antonio ,Augustino, Chan ,and all the rest, you are fantastic.

Restaurant El Mediterraneo .Captain Rachel ,evening Captain Mario you are the best ,waiters Paco ,and the rest you are all wonderful.

Asiana Restaurant Captain Rebeca, And all the staff

To all the staff running the pool service ... Filippe bar Captain, Rebeca ,butlers Mario Lopez, Jaime, Ivonne, Made us feel like royalty, to the girls looking after us poolside ,Laura, Prude , Ruth , Ari ,Ernie ,Eva, Vi ,Celia ,Andrea, and Yoli , you all made us feel like family ,we love you all...

Thank you to our house keeper Marisol I wish I could have taken you with me, I will miss you,
to Supervisor Betty ,and Fernando. " what a team"
Thank you To Regina.... A big thank you to Chief Concierge Erika... Thank you to William for always taking care of us ..

And now for the last but not the least I want to extend a big" CHEER" to the management
Signora Lynn ....Signor Edwin Barragan....Signor Luis,Ake....You should all be very proud ,this is all because of your excellent leadership ...CONGRATULATIONS AND HASTA PRONTO!!!!!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mexican_at_heart64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynn D, Gerente at The Royal Playa del Carmen, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2014

Dear Royal Guest,
We truly appreciate your review, it is really nice, and makes feel very proud of our entire staff!! Our top priority is to offer an exceptional service to each of our guest and it is very satisfying to read that this was your case.
Remember The Royal Playa is your home away from home!
We will see you very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
4.8 mi away
Fairmont Mayakoba
Fairmont Mayakoba
#13 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
4,092 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mahekal Beach Resort
Mahekal Beach Resort
#28 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
2,778 reviews
1.5 mi away
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Pe...
#21 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
8,880 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Royal Hideaway Playacar
Royal Hideaway Playacar
#36 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
4,284 reviews
4.2 mi away
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
#3 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
3,221 reviews
12.3 mi away
Valentin Imperial Maya
Valentin Imperial Maya
#1 of 1 in Playa del Secreto
11,987 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Playa del Carmen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Playa del Carmen

Address: Avenida Constituyentes 2 | Centro, Gonzalo Guerrero, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#8 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#9 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#11 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#25 Green Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range: £225 - £567 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Royal Playa del Carmen 4.5*
Number of rooms: 513
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Along the powdery white sands of the Caribbean, The Royal welcomes guests to a world of all-inclusive luxuries exclusively for adults. Situated on the Riviera Maya just steps from Playa del Carmen's famous Fifth Avenue, the AAA Four-Diamond resort boasts all-suite accommodations with private balconies and spectacular views, plus special options such as swim-up suites and beachfront walkouts. From beach butlers to romance concierges, the attentive staff provides genuine hospitality at every turn as guests enjoy the luxurious spa, exquisite cuisine, natural beauty, and many other delights of The Royal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Holiday Gems, Expedia, LoveHolidays, TravelUp, Odigeo, Prestigia, Travelbag, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Royal Playa del Carmen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Playa Del Carmen Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Royal Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Royal Porto Real
Royal Playa De Carmen
The Royal Playa Del Carmen Mexico/Riviera Maya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing