We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overall worth all of the headaches”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Royal Playa del Carmen
Ranked #11 of 209 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Overall worth all of the headaches”
Reviewed 20 April 2014

The resort itself was fantastic - I went with 5 family members (ages 25-70) and we all could find something we could enjoy. All of the food was great quality and the drinks were too good leading to a few painful mornings :)

There were multiple headaches though: We had 3 rooms which were all in different buildings. We hoped to travel and be as a group, but our rooms were scattered. Also, my aunt and I were given one room with a king-sized bed while every other room in our party had double beds. The concierge helped, and we were upgraded to a room with a private pool, but had to move rooms 3 times to be able to keep the room with the pool - which was totally worth it in the end.

Our room had a leaky air conditioner which leaked in the walls constantly dripping and keeping us up at night. When we called for maintenance, no one came to take a look at it.

The last major headache was traveling with Lomas airport shuttle service. You have to book the shuttle with one staff member (ours was named William) at the resort, and he usually has a line of 4 or 5 people waiting to book day trips or shuttle service. I waited for an hour just to confirm my family's shuttle time. Not what you want to be doing on your vacation. I would recommend paying a little extra and having a shuttle from the Royal pick you up from the airport and take you back.

The Royal has some major shining stars though: Vi, the waitress who brought drinks directly to us at the pool, Jayson, a great guy working at the Lobby bar, Tony who worked at the swim-up bar, and Aida our housekeeper.

I know I would definitely go back, but book everything through the resort and not a travel agency.

Room Tip: 615-630 are the rooms with personal pools by the balcony. They are close to the beach and close enou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nikkushumai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynn D, Gerente at The Royal Playa del Carmen, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Dear Guest,
We appreciate you have taken the time to share your impressions with us and we want you to know that we take our guests´ comments very seriously this helps us to work harder in specific areas which we might not being paying the attention that it deserves. Please rest assured that issues you raised have been address and that appropriate corrective actions have been taken.
We hope to have the privilege to host you once again in a near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

15,920 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    12,494
    2,217
    679
    306
    224
See reviews for
1,841
9,592
202
197
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4,220)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Mays Landing, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2014

this was our 2nd trip back to the royal ..we hardly ever like the same place twice but we felt we missed so much the first time..we were just as happy to be back the 2nd time and enjoyed the hotel and all the ammenities they have..from check in to check out seemed fun and exciting..the employees are the most gracious and a special thanks to Wilamena at the conceirge...a truley great person..we are all ready booking our 3rd trip back thru our agent becky simone at beach bums in mays landing...5 stars from me

Room Tip: there is some construction going on..so if going and a light sleeper or late riser ask to be away fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
21 Thank david c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynn D, Gerente at The Royal Playa del Carmen, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing your experience! We are excited you enjoyed your stay and that you especially like our service, we are very happy to read that our staff is doing a great job. Thank you again and we hope to welcome you back very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2014 via mobile

My wife and I are ex-cruisers after the drastic drop in quality on the cruise lines we were looking for a better value for our hard earned dollars. On a recommendation from some friends we booked a week at The Royal Playa del Carmen. Holy F-balls this was amazing, the service the food the atmosphere. We didn't know you could vacation like this on our budget. We will be back, and likely book a longer stay next time.

If your on the fence about all inclusive resorts, I can tell you this, over all we had better food more drinks and got away for about 20% less than our last category 10 cruise. Without waiting in line and feeling like cattle being hearded. And no forced gratuity, ah la Carnival cruise lines.

Do it then thank me after you have the time of your life.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
4 Thank AJ G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynn D, Gerente at The Royal Playa del Carmen, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Dear Guest,
We truly appreciate your review! Our top priority is to offer an exceptional service to each of our guest and it is very satisfying to read that this was your case.

Thank you again and we hope to see you again very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Canaan, Connecticut
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2014

We arrived late to The Royal due to our flight from New York being diverted to Miami but we made it to the Royal by 6:00 pm. We had checked in online and upon our arrival were directed to our Romance Concierge, Charon who couldn't have been more helpful. We booked a Master Suite, the room was right off the lobby and was absolutely beautiful. Charon helped us plan our activities during our stay: spa treatments, dining reservations and told us about the town. We had dinner at one of the restaurants, Maria Marie which was above average for an all-inclusive resort. The service was exceptional and afterwards we retired to our room. We didn't realize there was a show and tried to go to sleep but our room was 40 feet away from the stage of the show and we were up until well after midnight because of the noise.

The next morning we went back to see Charon, our Romance Concierge and explained about the noise and requested to be moved to a more quiet location. She worked tirelessly and was able to accommodate our request and moved us to an ocean front master suite on the third floor. It was a wonderful room with 2 balconies, 2 bathrooms, living room, dining room and wet bar.....it was absolutely wonderful!

On our second day we went to the spa Azul and enjoyed 80 massages and 50 minute facials, the treatments were excellent and the spa staff were all extremely professional.

The restaurants:

Maria Marie - Very Good
Spices - Breakfast and Dinner
- Very Good- Breakfast, Good-Dinner
Chef's Table - Good
Mediterraneo - Fair

Beach - Wonderful and we had a designated private cabana which was part of the Master Suite, beverage service was great!
Pool - Great - Clean and plenty of chairs and towels...pool staff was very helpful!

Fitness Center - Adequate...go before 8:00 am or after 9:30 am

The town of Playa del Carmen - Lots of fun!

Overall, an absolutely wonderful 4 day escape for my wife and I. I am the General Manager of an exclusive private club in Manhattan and I thought the service at the Royal was some of the finest I have ever experienced. The staff is extremely professional, gracious and always there for their guests, every request is accommodated with a smile. Charon, our Romance Concierge was absolutely wonderful and made our stay a very special one. We are already planning to go back in January with our 19 and 22 year old kids. An absolutely wonderful experience!

Room Tip: Ocean Front Master Suite - 531-534 - Beautiful views and Very Quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CCGM564
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynn D, Gerente at The Royal Playa del Carmen, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Dear Guest,
On behalf of THE ROYAL Playa del Carmen staff and myself we want to take this opportunity to thank you from the bottom of our hearts for such a positive review We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2014

We enjoyed our 5nite stay at the Royal. The restaurants were all great although noisy at the Spice buffet so we went to Mediterraneo for breakfast instead. I would not recommend going to sister hotel next door for anything. Very average food at the Pescatoria there . We had excellent rooms with great maid service.

Room Tip: Our suite faced the individual swim up pools and had an ocean view. Nice. Would not like pool side w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dclipert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynn D, Gerente at The Royal Playa del Carmen, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing your experience! We are excited you enjoyed your stay Thank you again and we hope to welcome you back very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Haven, Connecticut
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 18 April 2014

stayed at the Royal for 8 days and wow what a great place to stay. The staff was tremendous and treated us Royally. Spent a lot of time relaxing at the pool with the most terrific drink attendant named Prudee. She was the best ever!!!! I would certainly go back her again. The hotel was top notch.

Room Tip: We had the least expensive room and it was spacious and clean all the time. The maid service was ex...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank laura042014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynn D, Gerente at The Royal Playa del Carmen, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing your experience! We are excited you enjoyed your stay and that you especially like our service, we are very happy to read that our staff is doing a great job. Thank you again and we hope to welcome you back very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 18 April 2014 via mobile

My fiancee and I just returned from The Royal..We have been to several all inclusives all over the Caribbean including 3 stays in Playa...No comparison to The Royal..We were treated like Royalty from our first steps out of our Airport shuttle and continued to feel appreciated every step of our vacation.
There were so many staff I would like to recognize but Vi the server at the beach and Demetrio..spelling may be off..buffett server just to name a few really made our trip perfect..Thank you for our best vacation to date. We will definitely be back..

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ben B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynn D, Gerente at The Royal Playa del Carmen, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing your experience! We are excited you enjoyed your stay and that you especially like our service, we are very happy to read that our staff is doing a great job. Thank you again and we´ll see soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
4.8 mi away
Fairmont Mayakoba
Fairmont Mayakoba
#10 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
3,860 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mahekal Beach Resort
Mahekal Beach Resort
#27 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
2,700 reviews
1.5 mi away
Paradisus by Melia Playa del Carmen La Perla
Paradisus by Melia Playa del Car...
#23 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
8,560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
#2 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
3,142 reviews
2.0 mi away
Royal Hideaway Playacar
Royal Hideaway Playacar
#34 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
4,145 reviews
11.1 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
#1 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
5,836 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Playa del Carmen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Playa del Carmen

Property: The Royal Playa del Carmen
Address: Avenida Constituyentes 2 | Centro, Gonzalo Guerrero, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#8 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#8 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#10 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#25 Green Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Royal Playa del Carmen 4.5*
Number of rooms: 513
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Along the powdery white sands of the Caribbean, The Royal welcomes guests to a world of all-inclusive luxuries exclusively for adults. Situated on the Riviera Maya just steps from Playa del Carmen's famous Fifth Avenue, the AAA Four-Diamond resort boasts all-suite accommodations with private balconies and spectacular views, plus special options such as swim-up suites and beachfront walkouts. From beach butlers to romance concierges, the attentive staff provides genuine hospitality at every turn as guests enjoy the luxurious spa, exquisite cuisine, natural beauty, and many other delights of The Royal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Prestigia, Holiday Gems, TravelUp, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Royal Playa del Carmen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Playa Del Carmen Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Royal Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Royal Porto Real
Royal Playa De Carmen
The Royal Playa Del Carmen Mexico/Riviera Maya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing