We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful! And best deep tissue massage ever from Enrique!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
The Royal Playa del Carmen
Ranked #11 of 211 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
1 review
“Wonderful! And best deep tissue massage ever from Enrique!”
Reviewed 22 June 2014

This really exceeded my expectations - the rooms, the food, the service. And the spa experience was wonderful. Enrique gave me the best deep tissue massage I have ever had. Ask for him! The Beach Butlers are a nice added touch!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelwithSmiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynn D, Gerente at The Royal Playa del Carmen, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing your experience! We are excited you enjoyed your stay and that you especially like our service, we are very happy to read that our staff is doing a great job. Thank you again and we hope to welcome you back very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

16,056 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    12,617
    2,225
    683
    306
    225
See reviews for
1,870
9,664
203
198
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4,246)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln, Rhode Island
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

I recently returned from 6 days at the Royal and it was the most fabulous resort I have ever been to! All of the restaurants were fantastic as well as the service. Pedro at chefs plate was extremely accommodating and gave us excellent service. Yolanda at spice made us wonderful omlets every morning. We spent most of our time at the pool every day participating in the activities. We did water aerobics, Zumba, and played beach volleyball. The entire entertainment staff was tremendous. Thank you Katie, Pepe, Moshe, Karina, Danny, Alejandro, victor and Franco for the fun! The pool waitresses prude, Eva and Vi kept the drinks coming and chi at trade winds bar made the best tequila sunrises. Candy did a wonderful job cleaning our room every day, I loved the animal figures she made out of the towels! I cannot wait to return next year for another fabulous vacation at the royal in Playa Del Carmen.

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Lindsey B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisville, Kentucky, United States
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 June 2014

When we planned this trip we had already visited this resort two years prior.We chose to revisit based on value,atmosphere,and service.First I will start with value...the "all inclusive" badge does not always mean "good value". In the Cancun region you can end up in a place where you get all the food and alcohol that you DON'T WANT, and NONE of the things that you like, or want more of. The Royal is NOT one of those places, their food is very good and there is a wide variety of it. And as for alcohol they serve top shelf brands! Atmosphere,there are active pools and quiet pools,wonderful beach, great shows every night in the lobby,with lots of people showing up to meet up with new friends.As for service, I cannot tell you how far out of their way these people go to provide you with a great stay! I have not personally received better service at any place for any price. I want to take this time to mention some stand out people that gave us great service above and beyond our high expectations.Eric, the front desk manager and Erica the chief concierge who helped us when we were in need. The wonderful lobby bar staff, Rexes, Ramos, Usiel ,Mac and Ale, who made us feel so welcome every time! Alberto Gliazar in the Italian restaurant.Abraham,Demetrio,Antonio, and Jose Garcia in Spice restaurant. Alberto Cano from the Bell Hop crew. These are all people you definitely want to include in your stay. To sum it up....if you are planning a trip to the Riviera Maya, this is a must stay!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bryan N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynn D, Gerente at The Royal Playa del Carmen, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your kind comments. We are glad to read that you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future in our beautiful resort.
I am also copying our management team so that they can also share your positive feedback with the rest our staff.
Have a great week!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

I've been around the world and the royal tops all expectations! We will continue to come back for years to come. Every aspect was simply amazing. The suite, the staff all were top notch. Walking distance to the best shopping, we loved everything! SIMPLY AMAZING!

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Mason E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynn D, Gerente at The Royal Playa del Carmen, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Dear Guest,
We´re so glad to read your nice review of THE ROYAL Playa del Carmen.
Thanks a lot for your business and do not hesitate to visit us in near future, it will be a pleasure to host you once again.
Have a wonderful week!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harker Heights
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Our stay at The Royal was exceptional! We were provided with service and pampering from check in to check out. This hotel is in a great location in Playa and walking distance from all of the shops and restaurants, not that you need it because The Royal has everything to offer. The food that is included with your stay is fine dining quality. We had a special visit to Playa and will definitely be returning to The Royal annually. Don't forget to visit Denise and Miranda at the Spa for a wonderful, personalized massage and facial!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emilysykes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynn D, Gerente at The Royal Playa del Carmen, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Dear Guest,
Your comments are very important for us and we are grateful that you take some minutes from your valued time and make this fabulous review from us.
Thank you again for your value review and for visiting us and we hope to have the privilege to host you once again in a near future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

We had six days at The Royal and was the best holiday we have had!! We have travelled a fair bit (husband works for an airline) so travel is cheap but this place ticked all the boxes for everything. We only got home yesterday but already planning our return with friends who we would love to share this great place with!!! The staff especially the games and entertainment hosts were absolutely fantastic!!! and the massage lady was also wonderful as was all the bar staff actually. Thanks Moshie, Louise, Pepe, Ramos, Reyes, Lopez and all the other wonderful staff!!!! If you don't have a great holiday at this hotel then you cannot be pleased!!!! we were recommended by a friend who has been going there from Australia for the past 6 years and it still exceeded our expectations!!!

Room Tip: we had a room by the small pool away from the main pool and it was great!!! It didn't matter ac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lynette M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynn D, Gerente at The Royal Playa del Carmen, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Dear Guest,
Your comments are very important for us and we are grateful that you take some minutes from your valued time and make this fabulous review from us.
Thank you again for your value review and for visiting us and we hope to have the privilege to host you once again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mexico
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014

If you like people watching, shopping, clubbing, and relax by the beach, this place is for you. My overall experience has been amazing. The restaurants are delicious, the entertainment is incredible, and the beach..what can I say it's perfect. Imagine Lincoln Road and Ocean drive in Miami beach but here in Mexico, that's 5th avenue in Playa del Carmen and it's walking distance from the hotel so it's very convenient. The people are pushy trying to get you to go to their clubs or buy stuff but that's in every city. The rooms are very nice and big, it even comes with a jacuzzi! Every room has a balcony with it's own hammock and on the 600,700 side of the complex you may even get your own private pool. There is some construction going on next to the hotel so in the 700 side it will get a little noisy, but if you're towards the big pool, it's like the construction doesn't even exist. I went to the spa and it's lovely. My masseuse was Miranda and she gives one hell of a massage. Also the best thing about this hotel is that no one under 16 is allowed in the hotel so no screaming children is a plus in my book. I totally recommend this hotel to anyone that wants to have fun in Mexico. Way better than Cancun.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kmr1001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynn D, Gerente at The Royal Playa del Carmen, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Dear Guest,
This is a fantastic review! We are thrilled you had such a wonderful stay with us. We really appreciate your point of view in each thing you mentioned. We are excited that you really enjoyed our service, food, resort areas, etc. We certainly hope to welcome you back again very soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
4.8 mi away
Fairmont Mayakoba
Fairmont Mayakoba
#10 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
4,007 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mahekal Beach Resort
Mahekal Beach Resort
#27 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
2,735 reviews
1.5 mi away
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Pe...
#22 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
8,722 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
#2 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
3,195 reviews
2.0 mi away
Royal Hideaway Playacar
Royal Hideaway Playacar
#34 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
4,212 reviews
11.1 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
#1 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
5,887 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Playa del Carmen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Playa del Carmen

Property: The Royal Playa del Carmen
Address: Avenida Constituyentes 2 | Centro, Gonzalo Guerrero, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#8 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#8 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#10 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#25 Green Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Royal Playa del Carmen 4.5*
Number of rooms: 513
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Along the powdery white sands of the Caribbean, The Royal welcomes guests to a world of all-inclusive luxuries exclusively for adults. Situated on the Riviera Maya just steps from Playa del Carmen's famous Fifth Avenue, the AAA Four-Diamond resort boasts all-suite accommodations with private balconies and spectacular views, plus special options such as swim-up suites and beachfront walkouts. From beach butlers to romance concierges, the attentive staff provides genuine hospitality at every turn as guests enjoy the luxurious spa, exquisite cuisine, natural beauty, and many other delights of The Royal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Holiday Gems, Prestigia, Expedia, Booking.com, TravelUp, Travelbag, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Royal Playa del Carmen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Playa Del Carmen Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Royal Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Royal Porto Real
Royal Playa De Carmen
The Royal Playa Del Carmen Mexico/Riviera Maya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing