We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The best vacation we have ever been on!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Royal Playa del Carmen

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Royal Playa del Carmen
Ranked #12 of 212 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
GreenLeadersSilver level
McCook, Nebraska
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“The best vacation we have ever been on!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014

The Royal

My husband and I are flying home from the most amazing trip to The Royal Hotel and Suites in Playa del Carmen! I have to share with you our experience so anyone reading this can benefit like we did by reading others suggestions.
First of all our vacation was booked from Enchanted Honeymoons by Andy. He is the best advice giver when it comes to travel! Thank you Andy! We traveled from Monday to Sunday. When we arrived we went straight to the Romance Office where Willamena checked us in and told us about the resort. This took about 20 minutes because we kept asking her questions. After that we were starving so we went to grab an early dinner at Spice restaurant. I don't know if we were that hungry but everything we tasted from the buffet was over the top! The service there was so attentive! We got up to our room (321) and there we found we had the perfect location. We were facing the inside courtyard so the view was magnificent and the walks to the pool, ocean and restaurants was very short. Would highly recommend this! The room was well stocked with beer, liquor and wine. I guess if I was to complain about anything within the room it would be that the refrigerator did not keep anything more than cool. But, I guess it just forced us to go out or order in room service if we needed to eat or drink in our room. When you read your itinerary you will find it says requests will try to be honored. Well, that meant instead of our request for a king size bed we got two double beds that the management pushed together and topped with a solid piece. The bed was HUGE and because of the view and proximity of the room we chose to make the best of it even though we felt the other one was far away while sleeping (not a deal breaker)!
The first full day on the resort consisted of the main pool. We were lucky that we got two chairs that morning closest to the pool and these are the ones that are submerged in the water. We learned from that day on to wake up and put a towel and a personal belonging over the chair of our choice so we could be in that same spot all day. We were always served by the pool with a smile. Lily was usually our waitress and if you tip a little at the beginning of the day any of the waitress/waiters will always come by often and return with your beverage. One of the things we have learned from other travels is to pack our own Buba Keg that you can purchase from Walmart this way your drink will stay very cold. All our friends like ours so much that they bought theirs at the little stand along side the pool, but the mugs there are not as big. We also like to travel with them in our suitcase to hold anything that might break during travel. We also participated in pool activities and I need say a big "thank you" to Mosha the activities director for all fun that we had at the pool and at the tastings that begin at 6:30 under his guidance.
The ocean was fabulous, but you had to walk just a few steps away from the pier to avoid the smell. I am sure it is just the moss and such that makes the odor, but it doesn't linger when you walk one way or the other. Also, the sand there is perfect and feels like flour between your toes!
The restaurants were great! We had read about the different options, so we made a plan each day where and what kind of food we would eat. Our favorite place for breakfast was Spice, lunch was fish tacos at Tapas, and then we ate Asian, Mediterranean, French/Mexican and Italian. All of these good and some need reservations so you might want to do that the day before you plan on eating there. Oh, don't forget the Coffee House! They will make you anything you want for your daily jolt of caffeine.
We had rain one day and found ourselves enjoying the entertainment in the Lobby. A gentleman showed us how to make an authentic cup of Mexican Coffee with tequilla. Amazing! It tasted like a campfire marshmallow!
The nightly entertainment was always good. Decades is the theme of one night and you won't want to miss it.
Now as far as leaving the resort feel free to do so. We went to 5th Avenue several times and always felt safe. It is clean and of course there will be vendors who will try and get you into their store, but just say no and walk on.
The spa was so beautiful and well managed. I had a massage and facial that Gilda gave me. She was very sweet and professional. My husband walked down the beach while I was there and found a beach massage for a third of the price and came back very relaxed. We also went back to 5th Avenue to Be's and had a couples massage (very cheap) and loved it! So, if you want to stay on property for your spa treatments you won't be disappointed, but if you want to have several spa treatments during your stay for less cost then cons.comsadider outside of the resort. Once again we felt very safe during all our experiences.\'
One other thing before I finish this long explanatio of our trip I would like to give advice about tipping. I know some do and some don't. My suggestion is to carry small amounts of money with you such as $1's and $5's. The service there is over the top and for everything that the staff does to make our trip memorable a little gratitude will be greatly appreciated.
Last said, we can't wait to go back!!! We will be booking another trip as soon as we have a break in our schedule. Great vacation!!

Room Tip: We were in room 321 (south side facing north)with a nice view, close to all the restaurants and away...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Jfrazier45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynn D, Gerente at The Royal Playa del Carmen, responded to this review, 12 July 2014
Dear Guest,
This is a fantastic review! We are thrilled you had such a wonderful stay with us. We really appreciate your point of view in each thing you mentioned. We are excited that you really enjoyed our service, food, resort areas, Spa treatments, the beach and our hard working staff. We certainly hope to welcome you back again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

15,141 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11,854
    2,124
    654
    294
    215
See reviews for
1,708
9,121
183
189
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4,000)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lexington, Kentucky
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014

This was our second time visiting The Royal in Playa del Carmen. The first time was 3 years ago for our honeymoon. Because of the amazing hospitality, the staff, the food and everything in between, we decided to go back for our anniversary. Upon arrival, your vacation begins. They carry your bags for you, do not let you lift a finger and get you started with a refreshing drink. This second time there, I have to say is better than the first, just because we knew what to expect, where we wanted to eat, etc... The staff is really the main thing that brings us back to The Royal! Everyone is SO friendly and helpful, and have kept us entertained with pool activities and nightly entertainment.
Moshe was incredible. We spent a lot of time getting to know him, and sharing memories and experiencing that we will cherish forever. He is so entertaining and truly a great part of the Royal family. He kept us laughing our entire vacation, and can dance!! Karina is so sweet. She was always so helpful and gave me a great workout in water aerobics! Franco, Pepe, Danny and Josie we were only able to interact with a little, but when we did, they were always so full of cheer and excitement and did everything possible to keep us entertained and happy!
We want to let our maid, Damari Mendez, how much we appreciated her accommodating our every need and for the beautiful animals made out of towels every night. We always looked forward coming back to the room to see a beautiful creation waiting for us.

The Royal is by far, the best destination we have been to for any vacation... and we like to travel a lot! It is perfect for a romantic getaway or a family vacation. The food is amazing, and of course, the unlimited drinks always adds to the fun. We enjoyed each show every night that the dancers put on for us. The only bad thing I would say about it, is when we have to leave. We are already picking out dates for our next vacation there!

Thank you to all of the Royal staff, for always making our trip an amazing experience!

Room Tip: We had the same room for both times visiting. It is a junior sweet oceanview, and it was perfect!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Christina G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynn D, Gerente at The Royal Playa del Carmen, responded to this review, 12 July 2014
Dear Guest,
First of all, thank you thank you for taking time out to share your experience! We definitely feel very pleased to read this review, thank you so much for all your kind words to our staff, this is the best way to know that they are doing an excellent job.
It will an honor to have the opportunity to host you and pamper you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014

this hotel is beautful,luxury.the food and the service was fantastic, however it is a big party hotel which is not what i expected. There are a lot of druken americans, saw them being pulled out of the pool by security, being helped back to their rooms by friends in middle of the afternoon,falling down drunk on the dance floor, just not what i expected. there are 2 pools the main one which was packed and they play teckno and rap music, the other pool issupposed to be the quiet pool the bar tender there would also play teckno, it was very disappointing, this was not a cheap trip and i think thats why i didnt expect the party element. It was such a shame as you really couldnt fault the hotel.;

Room Tip: the rooms right by the medeterino resturaunt, and coffee shop, it would be a lot quiter in this area...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 336debbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynn D, Gerente at The Royal Playa del Carmen, responded to this review, 12 July 2014
Dear Guest,
First of all, thank you for choosing us to spend your vacations in our beautiful hotel! Your comments are important for us and we are grateful that you take some minutes from your valued time and make this review from us, this is very helpful for us! Thank you so much for your feedback about the inconveniences you mentioned, this has been shared to the correct staffs and actions will be taken in order to improve for our future guests. Thank you again and we hope that you come back and enjoy once again of all our services!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014

I have never stayed at an all inclusive resort before, but this one was a real joy. Every employee I encountered was friendly and went out of their way to help (or at least it felt like that). I would highly recommended this hotel to anyone looking for a high quality all inclusive experience; and would stay there again without hesitation. I don't remember everyone's name who made my stay a wonderful one, but think Ana Carolina who was the concierge in my building; Lucas, Bob, and Juan Carlos at the Pelicanos restaurant, and Pepe who runs the gym and some of the activities, are excellent examples of the many people who will make your stay a pleasant one.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank B194346
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynn D, Gerente at The Royal Playa del Carmen, responded to this review, 12 July 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing your review! Is really important for us to know you really enjoyed your stay with us and you were treated like royalty as you deserve. Thank you from your feedback about our staff, one of the most important part in our resort. We hope to welcome you back very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014

This was our second time to visit and once again it exceeded our expectations! Beautiful hotel, food is great, and customer service is outstanding! Couples massage at the spa was wonderful too - we loved Edith and Yesica! We are already planning our next trip.

Room Tip: We love the Jr. Suite with the swim up pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynn D, Gerente at The Royal Playa del Carmen, responded to this review, 12 July 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your kind words about our staff, we are very proud of them!! Our top priority is to offer an exceptional service to each of our guest and it is very satisfying to read that this was your case. It will be an honor to have the opportunity to host you once again in the near future in your home, away from home!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carson City, NV
Level Contributor
52 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014

This by far was the best hotel we have stayed at in quite some time! You step right outside the hotel doors, turn left and you are right on 5th Avenue ! Ocean front, beautiful rooms and atmosphere heavenly! Can't complain about the food, for all inclusive it was good. Will stay here again without a doubt!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carrie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynn D, Gerente at The Royal Playa del Carmen, responded to this review, 12 July 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to review our Resort. Thank you for your kind words about the resort facilities, we are very happy that you enjoyed all these.
It will be an honor to have the opportunity to host you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Carolina
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014

My husband and I just returned from 9 days spent with our new friends at The Royal Playa Del Carmen. We have traveled numerous times to Mexico and the Cancun area as well as other destinations throughout the Caribbean. We both make our livings working with the public. I work for a company whose expectation is that the customer always comes first, no exceptions. I believe that the Royal employees could give lessons.
Our experience began with the expedited, personal check in with Ana Carolina who gently explained the Ins and Outs of the hotel and where to find everything. (The check in was facilitated by Mary whom my husband spoke to when selecting our room via phone prior to our arrival.) Our room was ready and waiting for our 1 p.m. arrival allowing us to enjoy the bulk of our day. Be prepared for some difficult decision making upon arrival. (such as when do you want your bed turned down, room cleaned and what fragrance would you like waiting for you when it is time for bed.) May I just say Pampered! ((:
The restaurants are scattered throughout the property but with easy access from along a corridor or cruising through the beautifully kept grounds. The presentation of each meal was as professional as any I have seen. (and that’s a thing for me). The food was tasty and well prepared with lots of variety to satisfy any palate. There are numerous bars- wet and dry. The selection of liquor and beer was extensive. Check out was seamless as well.

Sound good? Well none of this would be possible without the multitude of special people at this resort. Each person greets you with a smile and a hand over their heart, a gesture that feels genuine every time they do it. There were some that stood out above and beyond the pale and I would be remiss without mentioning them.
Each day at the swim up bar we started our day with Quio, Toto and Avalos. A teasing smile and greeting followed by remembering what we wanted and making sure it was plentiful. These guys work unbelievably hard and never falter. I bartended and waited tables in another lifetime and know what it takes. They have it! Whenever we didn’t want to get wet there was always Prude with her infectious giggle and Elizabeth with her continuous smile bringing drinks to us. One of our special trips always included going by and saying hello to Jeysson and his sidekick Felix (a.k.a. Woody) at the bar in Pelicanos. Jeysson would see us coming and yell out Jim! Lisa! Yes he always remembered our names.
We didn’t just drink- lol we ate! The food was great but it was made all the better because of the nonpareil service that we received from the following people. (Just so you know we made return visits to several of these restaurants)
BIG shout out to Bob and Lucas at Pelicanos/Tapas Pinxtos.
Thank you for the sweet humor and service from Checo at the Asiano
LOVED Maria/Maries (thanks Jurado and our host for getting us in that second night) and probably my favorite for breakfast had to be Spice.
And believe it or not we didn’t just eat and drink.
Unlike a lot of the all-inclusive’s in Mexico there wasn’t 70’s disco blaring 24/7 (although I do kind of like it sometimes)
The Royal takes things a notch above. All of this would not be possible without their incredible ‘Sports team’ These guys are tireless! They start their day in the a.m. and never rest until we are past ready to go to bed at night. They are our tour guides for biking and history, source of laughter in the a.m. and participate in the nightly entertainment that begins at 9:45 p.m. Did I mention they are tireless? We were there for nine days- they work 6 out of 7 > 12 hours daily. I couldn’t wait until the introductions began when I could see Franco shaking it, Sexy Jossy swinging it, Danny Boy owning it, Karina bouncing and smiling through it, Victor emceeing through it, Pepe (night and day by the way) acrobat that he is, Alejandro gyrating through it and finally Moeshe [mo-shay]. How much fun are these wonderful young people. They engage, they listen, they play they work HARD!
I know I have probably ran WAY too long but I cannot say enough about this place and the people who make it. We will miss you my friends. But plan on seeing you soon. YES- we will return. Well done and thanks, it was our pleasure
Grannylix3 (a.k.a. jim and lisa)

Room Tip: book your room on line 48 hours prior to check in date- upload map and study-room 239 was great! v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank grannyli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynn D, Gerente at The Royal Playa del Carmen, responded to this review, 12 July 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for your fantastic review! We are very happy to hear that it was a great experience for you, and that you found our staff to be very helpful and attentive, this will motivate us to keep doing our best job!
Thank you for choosing us to spend your vacations. Also we would like to mention that we really appreciate your great point of view!
We are looking forward to host you again very soon it will be an honor for us to pamper you as you deserved!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
4.8 mi away
Fairmont Mayakoba
Fairmont Mayakoba
#7 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,468 reviews
4.2 mi away
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
#2 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,821 reviews
1.4 mi away
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Pe...
#19 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 7,844 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda
Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Es...
#32 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,466 reviews
12.4 mi away
Valentin Imperial Maya
Valentin Imperial Maya
#1 of 1 in Playa del Secreto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 11,280 reviews
11.1 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
#1 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
5.0 of 5 bubbles 5,562 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Playa del Carmen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Playa del Carmen

Property: The Royal Playa del Carmen
Address: Constituyentes Avenue #2 | Centro, Gonzalo Guerrero, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#8 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#10 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#10 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#23 Green Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Royal Playa del Carmen 4.5*
Number of rooms: 513
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Along the powdery white sands of the Caribbean, The Royal welcomes guests to a world of all-inclusive luxuries exclusively for adults. Situated on the Riviera Maya just steps from Playa del Carmen's famous Fifth Avenue, the AAA Four-Diamond resort boasts all-suite accommodations with private balconies and spectacular views, plus special options such as swim-up suites and beachfront walkouts. From beach butlers to romance concierges, the attentive staff provides genuine hospitality at every turn as guests enjoy the luxurious spa, exquisite cuisine, natural beauty, and many other delights of The Royal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Prestigia, Travelbag, Odigeo, Holiday Gems, Hotels.com and TravelUp so you can book your The Royal Playa del Carmen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Playa Del Carmen Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Royal Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Royal Porto Real
Royal Playa De Carmen
The Royal Playa Del Carmen Mexico/Riviera Maya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing